【實用資訊】如何正確享用壽司又不失禮?壽司小知識與東京推薦店家不藏私大公開

壽司是日本最具知名度的料理之一,本篇文章將會是您在東京享用壽司時的最佳導覽文!不但介紹可透過多國語言網站輕鬆進行線上訂位的東京壽司店,還為您整理了由壽司師傅直接傳授的壽司餐桌禮儀及小知識。歡迎前往這些店家,體驗難忘的用餐廳經驗吧!

東京

行程體驗

※本文為與「SAVOR JAPAN」共同撰寫的文章。

知道這個你也能成為壽司通!立刻就能派上用場的壽司用語

在進入壽司複雜的禮節世界之前,首先要介紹與壽司有關的專業用語。只要通曉這些用語,在壽司店用餐時,聽到這些詞彙便能了解其涵義,說不定還能享受跟師傅聊天的樂趣喔!

Neta(主料)

Neta意指壽司上放著的海鮮等食材。壽司醋飯上面放著的鮭魚是?沒錯,那個就是Neta!

Shari(醋飯)

壽司醋飯稱為「Shari」。一般是以醋、砂糖與鹽巴調味。Shari是決定壽司美味的重要關鍵,所以絕對不能小看它!

Murasaki(醬油)

「Murasaki」在日文中有紫色之意,但在壽司界則是指醬油。據說在江戶時代(1603年-1868年),因醬油顏色帶紫,所以被稱為Murasaki(紫色)。此外,醬油在以前是很貴重的物品,所以才取名為在日本代表高貴顏色的紫色。

Sabi、Namida(芥末)

此為芥末的別稱。想吃不加芥末的壽司時,點餐時請註明「Sabinuki」。「Namida」代表「眼涙」的意思,一次吃大量的芥末或聞到其嗆鼻的味道時就會流出淚來,因此將其取為Namida。

Nigiri(握壽司)、Gunkan(軍艦壽司)

一提到壽司,應該有很多人都會立刻想到握壽司吧?此種壽司是將海鮮與玉子燒等食材放在以醋、砂糖與鹽巴調味的醋飯上頭。軍艦也是壽司的種類之一,以海苔捲起醋飯後外觀形似「船隻」,食材再放在醋飯上。因其形狀像是「戰艦」一樣,所以便有了這個名稱。

Tsuke(醃漬)

「Tsuke」來自於「Tsukemono」(日式醃漬物)與「Shoyuzuke」(醬油醃漬物),是一種為了長期保存食物而衍生的傳統調理方式。

Gyoku(玉子燒握壽司)

玉子第一個漢字的另一種讀音就是「Gyoku」。玉子燒可說是壽司的經典食材之一,據說從玉子燒的好壞便能評斷一間壽司店的水準,因此玉子燒也可說是最能展現壽司師傅功力的菜色。

Gari(生薑)

去壽司店屋幾乎都會看到以醋醃漬、切成細長條狀的生薑,此種生薑便叫做Gari。在品嚐油脂豐富的魚肉等餐點後,吃點甜度適中、帶有嗆鼻辣味的生薑可去掉口中的餘味,帶有清口的效果,重置味蕾後便能細細品味下一道壽司的風味。

Omakase(師傅推薦)

前往壽司店用餐時,應該很多人都不知道該點什麼菜色才好。點餐時只要說聲「Omakase」,壽司師傅便會端出以個人推薦的食材所捏製的壽司。通常主料為當天進貨的新鮮海鮮與當季食材等,一次會送上一貫當日最適合享用的壽司。

Agari(熱茶)

此為餐後端上的熱茶。「Agari」帶有「最後」的意思。根據不同壽司店會端出不同種類的茶,其中以綠茶及番茶最常見。在享用許多美味的壽司之後,喝下Agari能讓人暖胃又放鬆喔!

適合初學者的壽司正確吃法

您知道在壽司的發源地——日本,壽司該怎麼吃嗎? tsunagu Japan編輯部這次特地請教了壽司師傅,請他指導我們能更美味地享用壽司的訣竅!

如果不擅長用筷子的話…用手也沒關係!

沒有信心用筷子夾取壽司的人也可隨性地用手拿。如果用筷子或手都很難拿起握壽司時,為了不使主料與醋飯分離,一開始可將壽司橫放,這樣就能輕鬆地拿起來了喔!尤其是剛捏好的壽司其醋飯還有點微溫,較容易散掉,您也不妨嘗試看看此種吃法吧!

不吃辣的人可註明「Sabinuki」

雖然根據食材會有所不同,但基本上大多數的壽司在醋飯和主料之間都會加入芥末。若不喜歡芥末嗆辣的味道,不妨在點餐時註明不加芥末(通稱「Sabinuki」)吧!

是醋飯還是主料沾醬油?

醬油可增添壽司的風味。享用壽司時,您是用那一邊沾醬油呢?上面兩張照片中,覺得哪一張是正確的呢?

正確答案是…第二張照片!許多人只用醋飯沾醬油,但其實主料沾取醬油才是較為正確的吃法。醋飯沾到醬油之後容易散掉,所以也比較難入口,吃完壽司之後,醬油碟中也會變得滿是飯粒。

將壽司主料朝下送入口中

這個規則應該也很讓人驚訝吧!不過品嚐壽司時,主料朝下送入口中會更加美味喔!因為舌頭接觸到主料的瞬間便能感受到其新鮮的滋味。

從味道清淡的主料到味道濃郁的主料依序享用

點選由壽司師傅自行調配的「Omakase」套餐時,壽司會一道道依序上桌,但自行點餐或盤子上有多種口味的壽司時,品嚐的順序非常重要。建議先品嚐白肉魚等主料味道清淡的壽司,之後再享用主料油脂豐富或味道濃郁的壽司。若依照此順序用餐,風味濃郁的食材就不會影響味道清淡的食材,每種主料都能嚐到其原有的美味。

詢問當日推薦的食材

壽司師傅最了解當季時令食材,只要請師傅推薦就不會出錯喔!不過時令食材與固定供應的食材不同,常常會以時價供應,因此價錢不會寫在菜單上,點餐時請多加留意。請儘管向店員詢問價錢吧!

了解壽司的正確禮儀,快樂地享用更加美味的壽司吧!

就像是世界各國的傳統料理皆有其規矩一樣,品嚐壽司時也有需遵守的特殊禮節。我們詢問了之後會介紹到的三間壽司店的師傅享用壽司時的禮儀。尤其是前往正統壽司店,坐在吧台慢慢地用餐時,更需要通曉其相關禮儀。此外,遵守禮儀也代表對壽司師傅的尊重,為了避免不知不覺中在壽司店做出沒有禮貌的行為,不妨閱讀以下內容並加以學習吧!

醬油只沾取少許

壽司只需沾取少許醬油。雖然有人會在醬油碟中倒入大量醬油,將壽司泡在裡面,但其實醬油的沾取量比我們想像中的還要少也沒關係(請參考上方照片)。尤其是許多正統的壽司店,在捏製時主料就會塗上醬油或事先調味過,如果沾取過量的醬油對師傅也相當不禮貌。就像在歐美國家,顧客在廚師面前加鹽巴是不禮貌的行為一樣。為了能品嚐師傅以最佳狀態端上桌的壽司,建議沾取少量醬油為佳。

壽司要一口吃掉

壽司不需分好幾口享用,可以的話,建議一口吃下一貫壽司。根據主料種類與醋飯多寡,壽司大小也會稍微不同,如果過大的話,不妨請師傅捏小一點吧!

端上桌立刻食用

點選壽司會一貫接一貫上桌的套餐時,需特別注意這個規矩。壽司一上桌時,為了享受其新鮮的風味,立刻品嚐是相當重要的。捏製壽司時,師傅也會考量什麼時候呈現在顧客面前時是最棒的滋味,所以建議不要放太久才享用喔!

身上不要有香水、古龍水或煙味等太強烈的氣味

慢慢地品嚐一道一道料理是壽司店的精髓,切記身上不要有香水、古龍水或其他太強烈的香氣,否則會影響到壽司的風味。請多多替他人著想,不要造成其他顧客的不便喔!

事先預約更安心!精選3間可大啖正統壽司的東京推薦壽司店

學習了眾多壽司相關的知識,一切準備就緒之後,應該很想要前往餐廳實際品嚐美味的壽司吧!為了有以上需求的您,接下來將介紹3間值得推薦的東京壽司餐廳! 

壽司不僅深受日本人喜愛,也廣受國外遊客歡迎,因此造訪熱門餐廳前一定要先預約。本文中所介紹的三間壽司店都可於人氣美食資訊網站「SAVOR JAPAN」預約。此網站不僅有英文、繁體中文、簡體中文與韓文版本,預約方式也相當簡單。前往鍾意的餐廳用餐時,不妨實踐看看文中介紹過的相關知識吧!

鮨竹半 若槻(恵比壽)

恵比壽瀰漫著高雅時尚的氛圍,許多成熟的大人都會聚集在此,「鮨竹半 若槻」便位於此地區。此餐廳供應的是1800年代初期出現的「江戶前壽司」。「江戶前壽司」的主料會以鹽巴與醋醃漬、清蒸或燉煮等方式展現師傅的高超手藝,享受主料與醋飯交織而成的美味是其一大特色。

店內散發出高級時尚的氣息,也能感受到木質調的溫馨氛圍,用餐環境相當特別。全部共有14個座位,座位與師傅的距離雖然感覺起來很近,但吧台桌子深度夠,與鄰座的距離也比一般的壽司店寬敞,因此坐起來相當舒適。除了與家人朋友聚餐外,接待貴賓或約會等特殊時刻也很適合在此享受一段令人印象深刻的用餐時光。

江戶前壽司的傳統醋飯會使用紅醋(以酒粕釀製的醋),可讓醋飯帶有強烈的香氣與甜味。現在許多壽司店已改用白醋,使用紅醋的地方並不多見,但鮨竹半 若槻遵循傳統,供應的是以紅醋製作的醋飯,因此可在此體驗江戶前壽司的原始道地風味。

此餐廳只提供「師傅推薦套餐(Omakase)」,必需事先預約。除了每天會從豐洲市場購買新鮮漁獲外,還有來自老闆故鄉——島根縣的海鮮,因此可品嚐新鮮的當季海產。如有不吃的食材,只要事先告知便能更改為自己喜愛的食材,敬請放心。

每種主料都好吃得無話可說,其中特別推薦的是此處的獨創菜色「鮪魚泥蘿蔔乾握壽司」(照片右下)。油脂豐富的鮪魚肚肉泥混合蘿蔔乾與鹽味昆布(海藻),最後則會在顧客面前加上大量的現磨新鮮芥末。入口即化的綿密鮪魚肚肉、清脆的蘿蔔乾,加上昆布與芥末像雲一般的口感是其最大的特色,有層次的風味令人難以忘懷。

店內也有英文菜單,部分服務人員也能以簡單的英文說明。不妨在鮨竹半 若槻舒適的氛圍之中,邊欣賞師傅的手藝邊享受壽司美學吧!

築地 舉母鮨(築地)

築地每天都有來自日本全國各地的新鮮食材,也是一流的廚師、美食家與世界各國遊客聚集、日本數一數二的知名市場。「舉母鮨」2018年春天於築地場外市場開始營業,此處以實惠的價格供應正統的江戶前壽司。

店內僅有9個吧台座位,與師傅的距離很近,有著平易近人的氛圍。放置於吧台上的木箱中陳列著各種剛從市場進貨的新鮮時令海鮮,可從中挑選想吃的食材也是樂趣之一。

店內有英文與中文說明的菜單,不會日文的顧客也能吃得安心。此處可單點也可選擇師傅推薦套餐,不過最為推薦的則是能以實惠的價格享用當天最佳食材的握壽司套餐。上面的照片為鮪魚握壽司套餐。鮪魚是長久以來深受眾多壽司愛好者歡迎的食材,在此間餐廳可品嚐與比較經典的赤身、中腹肉、大腹肉以及炙烤大腹肉等各種部位與不同調理方式的鮪魚肉。

其他還有外型如海中珍珠般美麗的幼鰶與口感鬆軟的星鰻等眾多充滿魅力的食材。

師傅特別推薦的壽司套餐分別為午餐時段的「黑鮪魚特選鮭魚握壽司套餐」(未稅3500日幣)與晚餐時段的「特上握壽司套餐」(未稅4200日幣)。不知道該吃什麼的您,只要選擇以上套餐包準您滿意。

此外,根據當天進貨情形,還可品嚐到不同種類的海膽。雖然海膽非固定供應的食材,但運氣好的話,就能搭配精選日本酒享受各種海膽的風味與口感。

除了新鮮外,想以實惠的價格品嚐師傅精心捏製的優質壽司時,相信前往舉母鮨一定會讓人大為滿足!此處早上8點開始營業,不妨早上順路前往品嚐壽司,以奢華的早餐開啟美好的一天吧!

於SAVOR JAPAN預約的顧客每桌贈送一杯飲料

小樽政壽司 銀座(銀座)

「小樽政壽司」是80多年前於日本最北端的城市——北海道港町小樽開店的知名壽司店。北海道在日本也以擁有新鮮又美味的豐富海鮮而聞名,非常幸運地,在位於東京數一數二的鬧區銀座的「小樽政壽司 銀座」可品嚐到以北海道美味海鮮為食材的壽司!

此店每天都會進貨來自北海道的新鮮海鮮。小樽政壽司因起源於北海道,所以與前面介紹過的兩間壽司店不同,此處供應的不是江戶前壽司而是蝦夷前(北海道風)壽司。為了盡可能地感受來自北海道海域的海鮮的鮮美滋味,基本上食材以生食為主。

寬敞的店內有餐桌座位、吧檯座位與6間包廂等各種類型的座位。吧台座位是可近距離欣賞壽司師傅手藝的特別區域,而氣氛沈穩的日式包廂則適合與家人朋友、同事等放鬆地用餐。此餐廳有著時尚的裝潢與優質的服務,在此會讓人忘記自己身處東京首屈一指的鬧區,可度過一段放鬆沈靜的美好時光。

供應眾多價位的套餐菜色也是此餐廳的一大特色。午餐為3,240日幣到7,000日幣、晚餐則有8,000日幣至12,000日幣的套餐,可依照個人預算選擇適合的餐點。最受歡迎的午間套餐為「小樽」(含稅5,500日幣),其中包含大腹鮪魚、牡丹蝦與高級食材海膽等共12貫壽司,再加上湯品、前菜以及甜點。晚餐時段前往用餐者,不妨點選熱賣的「師傅推薦套餐(Omakase)」(含稅10,000日幣),可品嚐到由師傅精選的當日食材捏製而成的奢華美味。

除了套餐外也可單點,店內也有英文菜單,不妨點選看看美味的當季時令食材吧!推薦猶豫不決的您試試看師傅力推的海膽、鮭魚子與牡丹蝦。放入口中瞬間奔放而出的大海風味可說是只有在日本才能體驗的的奢華享受喔!

於SAVOR JAPAN預約且點選套餐的顧客皆贈送一杯飲料

日本料理中深具代表性的壽司深受日本國內外人士喜愛。要了解壽司的專業用語、學習用餐時的禮儀與能更美味地品嚐壽司的方法,以及預約壽司餐廳其實都不是容易的事。本文涵蓋了以上提及的幾點,希望對各位有所幫助,在日本盡情地享用最佳狀態下的優質壽司!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


搜尋餐廳

[Ultimate Sushi Guide] Learn the Manners and Tips and Visit Tokyo's Best Sushi Restaurants!

Sushi is one of the most well-known Japanese foods, and a guide to sushi restaurants in Tokyo might be just up your alley! In this article, we will introduce popular sushi restaurants in Tokyo that provide easy online reservations in multiple languages. We've also picked the brains of professional sushi chefs and compiled together their top tips and manners to keep in mind while dining at a sushi restaurant. Take a look and make a trip out to these restaurants and you'll be guaranteed an unforgettable sushi experience!

Tokyo

Experiences

*This article is written in collaboration with Savor Japan.

Turn Into a Sushi Connoisseur With These Useful Sushi Terms!

Before we jump into the intricate world of sushi etiquette, let's first start off by introducing a few sushi-related jargon that you may or may not have heard of before. If you take the time to learn these terms, you might even catch these words being used at a sushi restaurant, and you might even be able to strike up a conversation with the sushi chef, too!

Neta

The commonly used term for sushi toppings, such as seafood ingredients. The salmon that sits on top of your nigiri? Yep, that's neta! 

Shari

Sushi rice is called "shari". It's commonly flavored with vinegar, sugar, and salt. Shari plays a very crucial role in the flavors of sushi and shouldn't be overlooked!

Murasaki

"Murasaki" is the Japanese word for the color purple, but in the sushi world, it's the term used for soy sauce. It's said that during the Edo period (1603-1868), soy sauce was referred to as murasaki because of its purple color. It was also believed that, as soy sauce was regarded as a luxury ingredient in olden days, it was dubbed "murasaki" due to the view of purple as a symbol of wealth in Japan.

Sabi, Namida

Other ways to say wasabi. "Namida" means "tears", and it was named this because it can cause one's eyes to start watering after eating a bit too much of it at one time or getting a huge whiff of its sharp, distinct smell.

Nigiri, Gunkan

Nigiri is what most people think of when it comes to sushi - sushi rice seasoned with sugar, vinegar, and salt, then topped with items like seafood or egg. Gunkan is a type of sushi in which a strip of seaweed is wrapped around the rice to form a "boat" shape then topped with a neta. The name "gunkan" (or "battleship") comes from its boat-like appearance.

Zuke

"Zuke" is derived from the words "tsukemono" (Japanese pickles) or "shoyuzuke" (soy sauce marinade), a preparation method that was born in olden times with the aim of preserving food for long periods of time.

Gyoku

Gyoku is another way to read the first character of the kanji characters for tamago (egg). Sushi topped with tamagoyaki (Japanese egg omelet) is one of the standard choices for sushi. It's even said that you can determine the skills of a sushi restaurant's chefs by the quality of their tamagoyaki.

Gari

If you ever go to a sushi restaurant, you'll almost certainly see these thin slices of pickled ginger, which are called "gari". They have a slight sweetness with a little kick of spice, which has the effect of washing away any residual flavors from fatty fish so that you can taste your next bite of sushi with a clean slate.

Omakase

You've probably experienced difficulties deciding what to order at a sushi restaurant. With the omakase, you'll not only be rid of the burden of poring over the menu, but you'll also be served all the sushi chef's top neta recommendations! The sushi is served one at a time to ensure they are enjoyed at their peak state of deliciousness, and it often features seasonal ingredients and seafood stocked fresh daily.

Agari

The hot green tea served at sushi restaurants at the end of the meal. The word "agari" includes the meaning of "the last item". The type of tea served differs by sushi restaurant, but Japanese green tea and bancha (coarse green tea) are the most common. You'll feel nice and relaxed after wrapping up your delicious meal of sushi with a cup of hot green tea.

This article seeks to briefly go over all the different aspects of the sushi experience. For a comprehensive list of sushi toppings that you should check out, see our article here!

First-Timer Tips for Elevating Your Sushi Experience

How much do you know about correctly eating sushi? Well, an editor here at tsunagu Japan went out and asked professional sushi chefs about tips and tricks to know when eating sushi so that we can help you in fully enjoying your upcoming sushi meal!

Struggling with Chopsticks? Hands Are A-OK!

If you're not too confident in your chopstick skills, feel free to use your hands instead. If you're having trouble picking up nigiri with either your hands or your chopsticks, one tip is to knock it on its side first so that you're securely gripping both the topping and the rice. Freshly prepared sushi in particular is very delicate and comes apart easily as the rice is still warm, so be sure to give this trick a go.

Ask for No Wasabi for Less Heat

Although this varies depending on the neta, sushi is usually served with wasabi applied in between the neta and the shari. If you know you're not good at handling the spicy wasabi flavor, you can try ordering your sushi without wasabi, or "sabinuki".

Dipping in Soy Sauce: Rice or Fish?

Soy sauce adds a nice touch of flavor to round out each mouthful of sushi. When you eat sushi, which part do you dip into the soy sauce? Take a look at the two images above - which one do you think is the correct way to dip your sushi? (Correct answer: the second one!)

Many people often go straight in by dipping only the rice, but ideally you want the soy sauce to touch the topping. If you dunk the shari into it, it's likely to lose its shape and make it harder to eat. The saucer will be completely filled with scattered grains of rice by the end as well!

Eat Your Sushi Upside Down

This might be a bit of a surprise, but when eating sushi, it's recommended that you keep it sushi face-down as you place it into your mouth. The reason for this is so that you can immediately taste the full and fresh flavors of the fish as it hits your tongue.

Eat in Order From Light to Heavy

This won't be an issue for those who order omakase, which is served a piece at a time, but if you order sushi right off the menu or get a lavish platter of sushi, the order in which you choose to eat it is very important. The correct order is to go from light, simple flavored fish, then work your way towards fatty fishes and bolder flavors. By warming up with a refreshing, lean start, then wrapping up with some powerful heavy hitters, you'll be able to fully savor each and every bite without having the stronger flavors overpower the others.

Ask for the Daily Recommendations

Don't be afraid to ask the sushi chefs for their recommendations! They know the best of what's in season, so you really can't go wrong. Just keep in mind that toppings that aren't on the regular menu are often served at market value and you won't see the prices written anywhere, so feel free to ask about prices before ordering.

Learn About Proper Sushi Etiquette to Enjoy Sushi to the Fullest

As with many traditional cuisines in the world, sushi also has a set of distinct etiquette rules. We asked the sushi chefs at the three sushi restaurants we'll introduce below about sushi manners. These are rules that you'll want to keep in mind especially when seated at counter seats of authentic, high-class sushi restaurants. They are a form of respect to the chefs, so it's a good idea to read and learn more so that you don't accidentally commit some form of sushi faux pas.

Just a Dab of Soy Sauce

You only need a little bit of soy sauce, and you should try to avoid dipping it for too long. You'll find that some customers pour more soy sauce than needed into their saucer, then drop their sushi into it. You need less than you think (refer to the picture above). At traditional sushi restaurants in particular, sushi is often brushed with soy sauce and seasoned beforehand, so it can be considered rude to the chef to add too much, similar to how Western chefs find it insulting when customers add extra salt before first trying their dish. Dip only just enough so that you can taste the sushi how the chef intended.

One Piece, One Bite

Sushi is not typically meant to be eaten in several bites. If possible, you should eat each piece in one bite. Sizes may vary depending on the topping or the amount of rice, but if it's too large, you can also request them to make it smaller for you.

Eat Sushi Immediately After Its Served

This rule applies specifically to omakase courses, where the chefs serve you a piece of sushi one by one. As soon as they place it in front of you, you should eat it right away to appreciate the fresh quality and taste. The chef takes great effort to consider the best flavor at the most optimal moment when serving it to you, so try not to let it sit too long.

Be Mindful of Strong Smells Like Perfume, Cologne, and Cigarette Smoke

The experience of slowly delving into the flavors of each and every bite of sushi is what high-end sushi restaurants are all about. This is why it's absolutely crucial that customers refrain from wearing any strong fragrances such as perfume or cologne, as it will affect the flavors of the sushi. Take care not to bother other customers with any overwhelming scents.

Make a Reservation in Advance! 3 Recommended Sushi Restaurants in Tokyo for Delicious, Authentic Sushi

Now that you've gathered a decent amount of knowledge about everything sushi, you're probably worked up quite an appetite for it! We'll introduce three amazing, high-quality sushi restaurants in Tokyo so that you can enjoy the full sushi experience!

Sushi is not only incredibly popular with Japanese locals, but also with many visitors from abroad, so reservations are an absolute must at popular spots. You can easily make a reservation at all of the sushi restaurants we'll be introducing in this article through a popular food guide website called Savor Japan. The website is available in English, Simplified and Traditional Chinese, and Korean, which makes it super easy to place reservations. Take a trip out to these restaurants and show off some of the information that you've picked up in this article!

Sushi-Takehan Wakatsuki (Ebisu)

Sushi-Takehan Wakatsuki is tucked away in the stylish, sophisticated neighborhood of Ebisu. They specialize in Edomae sushi (Edo-style sushi), which was first born in the early 1800s and is characterized by the harmonious combination of sushi rice and neta skillfully prepared with various techniques such as salt and vinegar seasoning, steaming, and boiling.

The restaurant has a stylish and classy design with a relaxing, special atmosphere lit by the warmth of the wooden interior. There are 14 seats in total, and while the seats are very close in proximity to the chef, in comparison to your average sushi restaurant, the space is very wide and comfortable, with long counter tables and ample room from seat to seat. It's a great place for any situation, from family dinners and meet ups with friends, to special occasions like business meetings and dates. It's guaranteed to provide you with memories of an unforgettable meal.

The traditional sushi rice used in Edomae sushi is red sushi rice, which is made with akazu (red vinegar, brewed with sake lees) instead of white rice vinegar, and has a unique sweetness and stronger fragrance. While most sushi bars have switched over to white vinegar and it's not common anymore to use akazu, Sushi-Takehan Wakatsuki has kept to tradition, serving up exquisite pieces of nigiri made with akazu rice, so you'll be able to taste authentic Edomae sushi.

The only available option on their menu is omakase, and reservations must be placed in advance. You'll be guaranteed only the top seafood of the season, as the restaurant owner picks up fresh seafood from Toyosu Fish Market daily, and also directly receives the best ocean treasures from his hometown in Shimane Prefecture. If there's anything you aren't able to eat, you can mention it to the chef beforehand, and they will gladly adjust according to your preferences.

You can tell just by a simple glance that everything they serve will taste amazing, but the top recommendation here is their original item, the Torotaku Nigiri (lower right image). It features minced fatty tuna and pickled radish with salted kombu (seaweed) and a generous serving of fresh wasabi on top, which they grate right in front of you. The combination of creamy tuna and the crunch of sweet, tangy radish accented with kombu and wasabi with a cloud-like texture will absolutely be an unforgettable experience.

English menus are available, and some of the staff can provide simple explanations in English as well. Be sure to check out Sushi-Takehan Wakatsuki to experience up-front seats to the art of sushi in a stylish and comfortable atmosphere.

Tsukiji Koromo Sushi (Tsukiji)

Tsukiji is a market that receives daily shipment of fresh ingredients from all across Japan, and it's also one of the most popular sightseeing spots in Japan, bringing together top chefs, foodies, and tourists from around the world. Tsukiji Koromo Sushi newly opened its doors in the spring of 2018 in the outer market of this famed neighborhood, and serves up authentic Edomae sushi at very affordable prices.

The restaurant has an intimate atmosphere with only nine counter seats, so customers will be able to feel connected and close to the sushi chef. The day's fresh stock of seasonal seafood sourced from the market line the insides of the wooden sushi topping boxes placed on the counter, so you can get a good look at what's available right before your very own eyes.

Their menu includes English and Chinese explanations, so you don't have to worry about ordering if you can't read Japanese. While you can order both a la carte and omakase courses, the top recommendations here are the nigiri sets, which provide top-notch ingredients of the day at very reasonable prices. The Maguro Nigiri Set shown in the picture above features tuna, a long-beloved favorite of many sushi fanatics, and here you can try all the big tuna hits - akami, chutoro, otoro - plus a seared otoro version called aburi otoro.

There are other attractive neta on offer here, such as the kohada (gizzard shad), which has a stunning presentation that makes it look like a silver pearl of the ocean, and the delightfully fluffy anago (conger eel).

In regards to sushi sets, the sushi chef here recommends the Hon Maguro Tokusen Salmon Nigiri (3,500 yen excl. tax) for lunch and the Tokujo Nigiri (4,200 yen excl. tax) for dinner, so if you're having a hard time choosing what to order, you definitely can't go wrong with these choices.

Depending on the day's stock, you might even be able to try different types of sea urchin! It's not a commonly available option, but if you're lucky, you might be able to try and compare the tastes and textures of various sea urchin along with some premium sake.

If you're looking for fresh, high-quality, skillfully prepared sushi at a reasonable price, Tsukiji Koromo Sushi is the place for you! They open as early as 8 am, so how about dropping by early in the morning for a quick, luxurious meal to start off your day?

Make a reservation with Savor Japan and get a coupon for 1 free drink per party.

Otaru Masazushi Ginza (Ginza)

Otaru Masazushi is a well-known sushi restaurant that was established over 80 years ago in the port city of Otaru in the northern prefecture of Hokkaido. Hokkaido is famous even within Japan for its exceptional bounty of fresh and delicious seafood, and you can try sushi prepared with fresh ingredients from Hokkaido in the busy Tokyo neighborhood of Ginza at Otaru Masazushi Ginza!

The restaurant takes great care in sourcing fresh seafood daily from Hokkaido. Unlike the other two sushi restaurants introduced, since Otaru Masazushi's roots lay in Hokkaido, they also follow a different style of sushi from Edomae sushi called Ezomae (Hokkaido-style) sushi, which is made with seafood freshly caught in Hokkaido's waters and served unseasoned and raw to showcase the freshness of the ingredients.

The restaurant is very spacious, with several seating options available, including table seats, counter seats, and even six private rooms. The counter seats are a treat, as you'll be able to see the sushi chefs hard at work right in front of you, but the cozy private rooms designed with refined Japanese aesthetics are recommended to those who want to comfortable dine in private with family, friends, and so on. You'll completely forget that you're in the heart of Tokyo when you sit down for a meal here surrounded by the gorgeous interiors and the excellent service.

Another great feature here is the wide variety of courses on offer. You can choose the course that best suits your budget, with lunch platters that range from 3,240 – 7,000 yen and dinner courses that range from 8,000 - 12,000 yen. The most popular lunch course is the Otaru (5,500 yen incl. tax), which comes with 12 pieces of sushi, including otoro (fatty tuna), botan ebi (botan shrimp), and uni (sea urchin), along with appetizers, soup, and dessert. If you decide to come for dinner, you'll want to go with their popular Omakase course (10,000 yen incl. tax), which consists of a generous serving of the chef's top picks of the day.

If you don't want to go all in with a course, you can also order a la carte. English menus are available as well, so you can pick out delicious seasonal neta that you're interested in tasting. The sushi chef here especially recommends ordering uni, ikura (salmon roe), and botan ebi, as Hokkaido is especially famous for these. Come here to enjoy the stunning bounties of the ocean and that luxurious melt-in-the-mouth sensation that you won't be able to experience outside of Japan.

Make a reservation with Savor Japan and get a free drink when ordering a course.

Sushi is one of the most iconic foods in Japanese cuisine, and it's widely adored both within and outside of Japan. It's not an easy feat to pick up sushi vocabulary, learn about sushi etiquette and how to properly eat it, or even make a reservation at an established, authentic sushi restaurant in Japan, but we hope this article has helped in covering all of these points, and we hope that you are able to have some really amazing sushi while you're here in Japan!

 

 

*All prices listed above are estimates.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


Restaurant Search