體驗日本的歷史與文化!中部地區的傳統街景

中部地區大致位於本州中央,至今仍有許多區域保留著過去的街景。而這次要為各位介紹的,就是位於街道兩旁的宿場町、以傳統產業繁華一時的商家,以及風情萬種的城下町等保留了美麗景觀的街道。

中部

玩樂

保有許多傳統街景的中部地區

中部地區位於日本中央,由新潟、富山、石川、福井、山梨、長野、岐阜、靜岡、愛知、三重十縣所組成,面積相當遼闊。這一帶自古以來就是聯繫關西與關東、東北地方的交通要衝,因此在許多區域,都可以見到能夠感受到昔日榮景的街道。

這次要為各位介紹的,就是中部地區值得一遊的宿場町、門前町、茶屋街等傳統街道。您可以在這悠閒地望著日本的傳統景色,忘掉日常的喧囂,好好放鬆一下身心。

供往來旅人休憩之處!奈良井宿(長野縣)

奈良井宿位於長野縣西南部,是建造於17世紀初的「五街道」之一─中山道上的宿場町。此處標高940m,地勢較高,四周群山圍繞。
中山道最險阻之地─鳥居峠,就在奈良井宿附近,因此據說在有意挑戰山道以及平安通過的旅人的聚集下,而造就了這裡的繁榮。

奈良井宿是日本最長的宿場町,沿著奈良井川的街道長達1km左右。這一帶的街景保留了濃厚的江戶時代色彩,例如狹窄道路兩旁有著長長屋簷的屋舍,二樓比一樓更向外突出的出樑工法町家,以及木格拉門等,每個角落都風情萬種,讓遊客彷彿穿越時空回到過去!

奈良川上的「木曾大橋」也是不容錯過的景點!這座拱橋距離JR奈良井車站步行約5分鐘,以沒有橋墩的木橋來說,其規模在日本可說屈指可數,使用樹齡300年以上的檜木建造,是一座完全採用檜木打造的豪華木橋。

與京都之間的貿易重鎮─熊川宿(福井縣)

「熊川宿」位於福井縣南部的若狹町,座落於聯繫若狹與京都的若狹街道旁,是與京都之間從事貿易的重鎮。除此之外,這裡自古以來也受惠於與亞洲大陸之間的貿易而繁榮一時,若狹的海鮮與亞洲大陸的文化,都透過這條街道傳進了畿內地區。

至於現存的街景,據說是建造於江戶時代,屋簷與街道平行的「平入」建築,以及可以從街道看見三角屋頂的「妻入」建築等混雜而建,變化多端的屋舍為其特色。

熊川宿可分為「上之町」、「中之町」、「下之町」三大地區,其中以「中之町」為主要城鎮,江戶時代的「奉行所」就設置於此,大型的「問屋」、旅店、商家林立,是十分熱鬧的地區。這一帶保存許多至今仍能一窺往日風貌的建築,例如熊川現存最古老的建築,且已被列為日本重要文化資產的「倉見屋 荻野家住宅」,以及熊川最知名的町家之一「舊逸見勘兵衛家住宅」等,保證可以讓您不虛此行。

體驗大自然的恩澤!世界遺產─五箇山的合掌構造村落(富山縣)

五箇山位於富山縣西南角,擁有豐富的自然景觀。在流經縣內的莊川沿岸,有40個聚落分布,四處可見悠閒美麗的風景。
其中相倉與菅沼兩個聚落,保留了以屋頂傾斜角度較大的「合掌構造」茅葺屋舍,以及許多傳統建築,並於1995年與岐阜縣的白川鄉一同列入聯合國教科文組織的世界遺產。這兩處聚落內有運用合掌構造屋舍,來展示民俗資料的資料館及體驗設施,您可以透過這些地方來了解五箇山的傳統生活。

五箇山會定期舉辦夜間點燈活動,如夢似幻的風景有別於白天樸實的景色。尤其是冬天整個聚落被白雪覆蓋時,神祕的燈光更是美到令人心眩神迷。

四處可見保留紅殼格子的町家!東茶屋街(石川縣)

「東茶屋街」是加賀百萬石的城下町金澤之中,最知名的觀光景點之一。這裡是創建於1820年左右的茶屋街,四處可見細長「木蟲籠」優雅格窗以及石疊的街道,至今仍保留著往日的景色,已被列為日本的重要傳統建築群保存地區。東茶屋街目前有五家茶屋仍在營運,到了傍晚,經常可以在路上與前往茶屋的藝妓擦身而過。其中創立於1820年的「志摩」,是一間仍保留著當時建築的茶屋,已被列為日本的重要文化資產。遊客可以在此參觀古時的茶屋建築,還可以在附設的茶室欣賞庭園,一邊享用抹茶喔。

在東茶屋街,您可以找到販售傳統工藝品的精品店、以舊時茶屋改裝而成的咖啡廳和餐廳等店家,讓您在散步之餘,也可以同時享受美食與購物的樂趣。

盡情享受東海道兩旁的江戶風情!有松(愛知縣)

有松位於名古屋市南部,是在尾張藩的鼓勵下,而於1608年所設立的城鎮。當地的特產「有松絞染」,是一種採用獨特絞染技術所製作而成的傳統工藝品,許多往來東海道的旅人都會買來當作伴手禮,讓江戶時代的有松得以維持繁榮。

有松的街道約800m,沿著緩緩彎曲的東海道兩旁分布,至今仍可見到正面氣派的絞染商主屋、大門與圍牆,讓人感受到當時繁華的氣息。目前保留於有松的建築,是在1784年的大火後所建造,因此屋頂與外牆都採用防火建材。

從建立至今,都一直延續著單一產業的城鎮十分罕見,有機會的話一定要來逛逛喔。

總結

以上就是這次的介紹。中部地區許多地方仍保留著傳統的街道,只要造訪此處,就能彷彿回到日本的江戶時代。傳統街道的種類很多,例如街道兩旁的宿場町,曾誕生雅緻文化的城下町,或是商家林立的街景等,其歷史與形式可說十分多元。建議您可以四處探訪,從中尋找自己最喜歡的街景喔!

中部特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

作者簡介

okada
okada

搜尋餐廳

Experience Japanese History and Culture at the Traditional Townscapes of the Chubu Region

The Chubu region is plunked right in the middle of Japan’s main island of Honshu and is home to many still-standing traditional townscapes reflecting the scenery from long ago. In this article, we’ll introduce charming townscapes around the region's highways, including post towns, merchant houses that hosted traditional businesses, and castle towns overflowing with charm. Read on to learn more about these traditional Japanese scenery and where to find them!

Chubu

Things to Do

Buy Japanese Crafts Online click to get 10% off your first order - BECOS

The Chubu Region: Home to Many Traditional Townscapes

The vast Chubu region, located in the center of Japan, encompasses 10 prefectures: Niigata, Toyama, Ishikawa, Fukui, Yamanashi, Nagano, Gifu, Shizuoka, Aichi, and Mie. It historically prospered as a transportation hub that connected the Kansai, Kanto, and Tohoku regions in the west, east, and north respectively. Even now, you can still find many townscapes with scenery that expresses the prosperity of the area in ancient times.

When visiting the Chubu area, you must certainly stop by the post, temple, shrine, and geisha towns, with charming traditional atmospheres that allow you to leisurely observe Japanese landscapes from long ago and forget about the hustle and bustle of daily life.

Narai-juku (Nagano): Where Weary Travelers Came to Rest

At 940 meters above sea level in southwestern Nagano Prefecture stands Narai-juku, a post town surrounded by mountains. It is located along the Nakasendo, one of the Edo Five Routes that was built at the beginning of the 17th century, near the Torii Pass, which was known as one of the most difficult places to reach along the Nakasendo. This is why it was believed to have been lively with travelers who aimed to challenge and succeeded in crossing this perilous point.

Narai-juku stretches for 1 kilometer along the Narai River, making it the longest post town in Japan. This charming area is the perfect place to experience traditional Edo-period (1603 - 1867) landscapes, with houses that have eaves that jut out into the narrow path, townhouses with second-story beams that stretch out over the first floor, and latticed wooden sliding doors. You’re sure to feel as though you’ve traveled back in time!

Do not forget to visit the Kiso Ohashi Bridge which spans the Narai River! This pier-less, wooden, arched bridge is only a 5-minute walk from JR Narai Station, and is one of the largest of its kind in Japan, luxuriously built from beautiful, 300-year-old cypress wood.

Kumagawa-juku (Fukui Prefecture): A Former Kyoto Trading Post

Kumagawa-juku in the town of Wakasa in southern Fukui Prefecture is a post town located along the Wakasa Kaido, a road that connected Wakasa and Kyoto. It developed as a trading hub with Kyoto, but also partook in trade with continental Asia, with Wakasa seafood and culture from Asia being carried along this road to Kyoto and the surrounding areas.

The still-standing townscape is believed to have taken form during the Edo period, but is characterized by the various house styles that can be seen along the road, including “hirairi” (a style where the entrance to the building is on the side parallel to the roof’s edge) and the triangle-shaped “tsumairi” (a style where the entrance is on the gabled side).

Kumagawa-juku is broken up into three sections: Kamino-cho, Nakano-cho, and Shimono-cho. The central Nakano-cho was especially lively during the Edo period, as it hosted a magistrate’s office, large wholesalers, lodges, and merchant shops. There is much to see in Kumagawa-juku that offer glimpses into the past, such as the Residence of the Ogino Family (the oldest building in the area and an Important Cultural Property) and the Former Residence of Henmi Kambee (one of Kumagawa-juku’s most famous traditional townhouses).

Gokayama Gassho-zukuri Villages (Toyama): A World Heritage Site Nestled Amongst Lush Nature

Gokayama is an area in southwestern Toyama Prefecture that is blessed with an abundance of nature. There are 40 villages located along the Sho River which runs through the prefecture, creating a tranquil scene.

Ainokura and Suganuma are two invaluable villages with collections of “gassho-zukuri” steep thatched-roof houses and other traditional buildings, leading them to be registered as UNESCO World Heritage Sites in 1995 along with Shirakawa-go in Gifu Prefecture. Both villages host museums displaying folk materials and hands-on activities in the gassho-zukuri houses, allowing you to learn about the traditional way of life in Gokayama.

Gokayama is periodically illuminated at nighttime, offering a different, mystical sight in comparison to the daytime. The winter illuminations are particularly breathtaking, with the whole of the village being blanketed in the wintertime snow.

Higashi Chaya District (Ishikawa): Rows of Rouge-Latticed Traditional Townhouses

The Higashi Chaya District is one of the most popular sightseeing spots in the castle town of Kanazawa. Originally built in 1820, the town features cobblestone streets lined with buildings decorated with beautiful “kimusuko” latticed woodwork, leading to it being nationally designated as an Important Preservation District for Groups of Traditional Buildings. There are five geisha houses still in operation in the area today, and you may get the chance to pass by “maiko” (apprentice geisha) on their way back to their lodgings in the evening.

Shima is a geisha house built in 1820. Not only does it still appear the same today, but it is now a nationally recognized Important Cultural Property. At Shima, you can observe traditional geisha house architecture, and the adjoining tea room allows you to enjoy a drink of matcha tea while looking out over a garden.

The Higashi Chaya District is also the perfect place to enjoy some local cuisine and shopping while exploring, with specialty shops selling traditional crafts, cafes located in restored geisha houses, and restaurants lining the streets.

Arimatsu (Aichi): Edo Period Charm Along the Tokaido Highway

In the southern part of Nagoya stands Arimatsu, a town established in 1608 with the help of the Owari Domain. The town prospered throughout the Edo period due to the trade of Arimatsu shibori, a traditional local tie-dye craft known for its unique dyeing and tying techniques. It caught the eyes of many travelers, who would buy them as souvenirs, leading to a boom in popularity.

Arimatsu stretches for around 800 meters along the gently curving Tokaido route, and you can still see traces of the prosperous time in the spacious fronts of the main buildings of the shibori merchants, the gates, and the walls. The architectural styles currently seen in the Arimatsu townscape came to be after a large fire in 1784, as roofs and walls were changed to use more fireproof materials.

Be sure to stop by to see the scenery of an unusual town that has kept a singular industry alive from its establishment to the present day!

Admire the Traditional Townscapes in the Chubu Region

The Chubu region is home to many traditional townscapes that will make you feel as though you have traveled back in time to the Edo period! Although generalized as “traditional townscapes,” the essence of these areas can vary, from post towns frequented by travelers to castle towns boasting refined culture and lively merchant towns. Be sure to visit whichever town strikes your fancy and find the ones that alight your whimsy!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Chubu Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

okada
okada

Restaurant Search