去九州熊本县体验“探险旅行”

受新冠疫情影响,人们无法像从前一样自由前往海外旅行,除了生活方式外,对海外旅行的看法也有所改变。为了避免的“三密(密闭、密集、密切接触)”,日本人开始倾向前往比较偏远的国内旅行,和家人相处或者面对自我的时间增加,也因此兴起一股风潮,即追求不一样的体验,借此充实人生。在此潮流的影响下,“探险旅行”已经成为一种备受瞩目的新常态旅行方式。

熊本县

体验

“探险旅行”简介

所谓的“探险旅行”,有别于行程紧凑的观光景点或古迹旅行,指的是花1~2个星期细细探访该地,通过体验自然或饮食文化等方式,用五官来感受该地文化的旅行型态。除了户外活动外,“探险旅行”还可以让旅客体验该地丰富的自然资源与历史文化,并与该地居民交流,借此展开一趟学习之旅。

旅客集中于特定地区所导致的过度旅行(overtourism),一直是日本亟待解决的课题。其实日本的魅力,就在于各地都有其特别的自然景观与文化,而“探险旅行”正好可以让旅客了解一下这些以往未受瞩目的地方。

九州位于日本西南部,是日本独具自然景观与文化的地区之一。而这次要为各位介绍的,就是位于九州中部的熊本县“阿苏”、“天草”以及“球磨川”的魅力所在。

阿苏

阿苏位于距离熊本市约50km的九州山地内,阿苏山的破火山口盆地就在此处,与当地居民的生活及文化密不可分,而这正是阿苏最大的特征。

说到阿苏的吸引人之处,当然就属熊本的象征“阿苏山”了。阿苏山由破火山口及破火山口内的中央火山口丘群所构成,阿苏五岳就位于中央火山口丘群的中心。破火山口南北长达25km,东西18km,面积380平方公里,是世界上最大的破火山口之一。壮观的自然美景就是这里最大的卖点。

阿苏五岳

阿苏山是一座活火山,除了火山喷发的历史,也可以在此见识一下仍在活动的火山口,是名列联合国教科文组织世界地质公园的火山胜地。而在阿苏五岳之一的中岳山上,可以前往至今仍会喷烟的“中岳火山口”参观。

阿苏山草千里之滨与阿苏山火山口

保留了千里之滨火山遗迹的草原地带“草千里之滨”,位于乌帽子岳北侧,你可以在此见到火山喷发形成的巨大水池,以及在水池周边放牧的马群,景色充满了乡村的情趣。阿苏山有许多善用火山地带特色的名胜,对游客而言十分具有吸引力。

例如受惠于火山的温泉,就是阿苏的魅力之一。除了可以一眼望尽阿苏破火山口与阿苏五岳的人气露天温泉外,在位于阿苏境内被称为秘汤的“黑川温泉”,还能找到传统的露天温泉呢!

冬季的黑川温泉

阿苏的火山活动虽然造就美丽的自然景观与温泉,却也对当地的农业带来伤害,因此当地居民自古就将火山视为神明来信仰。阿苏一带坐落着许多神社,庇佑着人们的生活。其中被认为是日本最古老的神社之一的“阿苏神社”及“国造神社”,每年都会举办许多与农业密不可分的仪式及祭祀活动,同时也是日本的国家重要无形民俗文化遗产。这些日本的传统景色在大都市已经逐渐消逝,你可以来这里好好参观一下。

 

如果想好好游览一下自然风景以及历史文化都充满魅力的阿苏,建议可以参加下列行程。

 

阿苏中岳火山口、砂千里之滨健行

在导游的带领下,在阿苏中岳火山口周边散步。除了可以近距离观察仍在活动的火山口外,也可以在附近看到自2014年以来持续喷发所造成的影响。

 

阿苏破火山口星光骑马健行

在位于阿苏破火山口正中央的高尔夫球场,边赏星边骑马散步。运气好的话也许能看到流星。快来体验一下有别于日常的景色吧!

天草

所谓天草,指的是由120座大大小小的岛屿所构成,360度都被海环绕的“天草诸岛”,其景观深受自然与文化所影响。

天草松岛

白天的时候,无论从哪座岛都能望见蔚蓝清澈的大海,不过这里最知名的,就是太阳西沉时,在夕阳映照下的美丽岛影了。风景胜地“天草松岛”是日本三大松岛之一,许多游客会在岛上的“松岛温泉”泡温泉,同时欣赏夕阳美景。此处以人称天草五桥的五座桥,与九州本岛的熊本市相连,建议你可以开车前往,好好享受一下从1号桥到5号桥之间的美景。

在天草观赏海豚

天草四面环海,海洋资源十分丰富。这里的海域以流动快速的潮水与高低起伏的海底著称,拥有“早崎濑户”的美称。此处渔产丰富,许多海豚会受鱼群吸引而来,因此“观赏海豚”的行程也十分盛行。

天草崎津村落

天草除了以自然景观闻名外,同时也是日本知名的基督教历史景点,在日本禁教的时代,宗教自由受压迫且为重税所苦的基督教徒,曾在此发起“岛原、天草之乱”。在禁教时代仍与佛教、神道共存的基督教“天草崎津村落”,最近由于被列入世界文化遗产而备受瞩目。教堂与神社一同伫立于渔村的景象,令人感到印象深刻。

如果对天草的文化有兴趣,那绝对不要错过传统工艺品“天草陶瓷”。天草是日本最大的瓷石产地,因此陶瓷器也十分值得一看。建议到各地的窑场走走。

如果想好好游览一下自然,文化都充满魅力的天草,建议可以参加下列行程。

 

在天草海上泛舟

参加海上泛舟,从海上眺望松岛与天草五桥的模样。在游览松岛途中,可以登岛捡捡贝壳,或者躺在海滩上,尽情享受美好的时光。

 

造访野生海豚的观赏海豚之旅

搭乘游艇,前往造访栖息于天草的野生宽吻海豚。游艇是由当地渔民担任船长,因此遇到海豚的几率很高,运气好的话甚至可以一口气看到200多头海豚。还能从海上感受到天草的自然风光。

球磨川

“球磨川”是日本的一级河川,贯穿熊本县南部人吉盆地后,流进西南方的八代海,不但是球磨川水系的主流,同时也是熊本县规模最大的河川。

球磨川泛舟

球磨川与最上川、富士川并列为日本三大急流,著名的“球磨川漂流”已有百年以上的历史,近30年来由于适合从事皮艇、划艇等河上之旅与橡皮艇泛舟而备受瞩目,虽然水流十分湍急,不过一年四季总是人山人海。

岸边的街景也是这里的特色之一,球磨川流经的人吉市过去曾是城下町,因此留下不少温泉街,以及仍能感受到当时风情的建筑物。

至于位于下游的八代市,则会于每年10月在河岸举行“八代全国烟火竞技大会”,召集日本各地的烟火师来此一较高下。往年竞技大会的观光客人数高达数十万人,可以说是八代秋天的重要活动。

而在球磨川的终点,也就是注入八代海的河口附近,则是一片超过1,000公顷的泥滩湿地,同时也是野鸟的宝库。这里被评选为重要野鸟栖地(IBA),平时会有多达90种以上的野鸟飞至此处,因此有许多人会前来赏鸟。

如果想好好游览一下无论自然还是文化都充满魅力的球磨川,建议可以参加下列行程。

在球磨川漂流

百年来人气不衰的漂流行程。在船头与船尾两位经验老到的掌船人领船下,船会往下游的温泉町驶去。从船上欣赏仍保有过去城下町样貌的人吉城遗迹,以及绿意盎然的群山。

 

在球磨川泛舟

泛舟的路径从大致上与漂流相同的人吉通往渡。人吉地区的水流较缓,适合初学者,渡地区则是在急流与岩岸中破浪前行,通过泛舟好好体验一下球磨川急流的乐趣!

 

如果想畅游熊本县,光是一、两天的行程可能不太够。建议在此多逗留几天,细细品味熊本的自然资源与历史文化,开拓眼界!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

相关分类

搜寻餐厅

Adventure Travel in Kumamoto Prefecture

The coronavirus pandemic, which has made it more difficult to travel abroad, has brought about changes not just to people’s lifestyles, but also to their views about overseas travel. For one, travelers are looking for places that let them avoid the “three Cs” (crowded places, close-contact settings and confined and enclosed spaces); in addition, with more time spent with family and in self-contemplation, there is a heightened interest in rich experiences that can make life fuller. As a result, “adventure tourism” is emerging as a major form of travel in the “new normal.”

Kumamoto

Things to Do

What Is Adventure Travel?

“Adventure Travel” is a form of travel that enables one to feel with all five senses the story that a place has to tell. It means that rather than rush through famous tourist spots, the traveler takes a week or two to walk the land and experience its nature and food. It goes beyond just having outdoor experiences, but it is a learning experience that involves feeling the destination’s rich natural resources and historic culture and interacting with the local people.

“Overtourism,” where too many travelers converge on a limited number of destinations, has been a problem in Japan. Yet, Japan is a diverse country blessed with unique natural features and cultures in each of its many regions, and “adventure tourism” is the perfect style of travel for visitors to see the appeal of places that have been overlooked.

Kyushu, the southwesternmost of Japan’s main islands, is one such region with a unique natural beauty and culture. This article introduces three locations in Kumamoto Prefecture in central Kyushu: Aso, Amakusa, and the Kuma River.

Aso

Aso, which is in the Kyushu Mountains, about 50 km from Kumamoto City, is distinguished by the unique lifestyle and culture of the people living around a caldera that was created by the volcano Mt. Aso.

A key attraction of this area is Mt. Aso itself, considered to be an icon of Kumamoto Prefecture. It consists of the caldera and a central cone group of five peaks. The caldera covers an area of 380 sq.m., stretching 25 km north to south and 18 km east to west, making it one of the world’s largest calderas. Its main appeal is the overwhelmingly grand scale of its nature.

The Five Peaks of Aso

Mt. Aso is an active volcano that has been designated a UNESCO Global Geopark, as a place to experience a crater with a history of gigantic eruptions and which is still active today. At the top of Naka-dake, which is one of Mt. Aso’s five peaks, you can go up to see the Naka-dake Crater, a huge crater emitting white smoke.

Kusasenrigahama and the Mt. Aso Crater

North of Eboshi-dake is Kusasenrigahama, a grassland plateau that formed where the Senrigahama Volcano once stood. Today, visitors there can enjoy a pastoral view of horses grazing in the grasslands near a large pond that was created by volcanic eruptions. Mt. Aso is full of fascinating places that take advantage of the volcanic landscape.

Onsen (hot springs) are a blessing of volcanic areas, and Aso offers a variety of them, ranging from a popular open-air bath with panoramic views of the Aso caldera and the five peaks of Aso, to the secluded Kurokawa Onsen, deep in the mountains, with open-air baths that have remained unchanged over the ages.

Kurokawa Onsen in the Winter

While the volcanic activities of Aso have created beautiful landscapes and hot springs, it has also disrupted agriculture. As such, volcanoes have long been revered by the people of Aso as Shinto deities, and there are many Shinto shrines here that are integral to the lives of the local people. In particular, there are many ceremonies and festivals with deep connections to agriculture that are held throughout the year at Aso Jinja and Kokuzo Jinja, which are among the oldest Shinto shrines in Japan. These have been recognized as Important Intangible Cultural Properties of Japan. These provide a great opportunity to reconnect with elements of Japanese tradition that are being lost in the country’s more urban areas.

Here are some recommended activities to enjoy the natural beauty and culture of Aso:

・Guided Hike Around Aso Naka-dake Crater and Sunasenrigahama

A guided walk around Aso Naka-dake. Includes an up-close view of the active crater and the effects of the eruptions that have continued since 2014.

https://www.kumamotto.net/detail/a2km01000659/

・Aso Caldera Starlit Horseback Ride

A starlit horseback ride through a golf course in the middle of the Mt. Aso caldera. You may be able to see shooting stars! This is an experience that is truly out of the ordinary.

https://kumamoto.guide/look/detail/39

Amakusa

Amakusa refers to the Amakusa Islands, a group of 120+ islands of varying sizes that have been blessed by a rich nature and culture.

Amakusa Matsushima

All of the islands have views of the clear, blue ocean during the day, but they are famous for the beautiful silhouettes of the islands when the sun is setting. A popular way to enjoy the sunset is from a hot spring in Matsushima Onsen on Amakusa Matsushima Island, known as one of the three most scenic islands of the same name (“matsushima” means pine island). The island is connected with the main island of Kyushu, where Kumamoto City is, by the Five Bridges of Amakusa, and we recommend taking a scenic drive through all the bridges, from No. 1 to No. 5.

Dolphin Watching in Amakusa

Amakusa is surrounded by the ocean and is blessed with rich marine resources. An area known as Hayasakiseto, characterized by strong currents and an undulating seabed, is full of fish that attract dolphins, making it an ideal place for dolphin watching.

Sakitsu Village in Amakusa

While Amakusa is known for its beautiful nature, it is also an area with significance in the history of the Hidden Christians, as represented by the Shimabara-Amakusa Rebellion. Sakitsu Village in Shimabara, where Christians continued to practice their faith despite a ban on Christianity, recently attracted attention when it was designated as a World Heritage Site. It is a touching sight to see Christian churches and Shinto shrines coexisting in this fishing village.

Not to be forgotten if you wish to learn about Amakusa culture is its traditional craft, Amakusa pottery. Amakusa is also Japan’s number one producer of clay for porcelain production, so the pottery here is well worth seeing. A tour around the pottery workshops that can be found across Amakusa is recommended.

Here are some recommended activities to enjoy the natural beauty and culture of Amakusa:

・Amakusa Sea Kayak

Treat yourself to views of Matsushima and the Five Bridges of Matsushima from a sea kayak. Go from island to island with stops onshore to enjoy as you please, be it collecting seashells or laying on the beach.

http://e-unplugged.jp/

・Dolphin Watching – A Journey to Meet Wild Dolphins

Take a boat ride to see wild bottlenose dolphins living in Amakusa. The boats are skippered by local fishermen, so there is a high likelihood of encountering the dolphins. If you’re lucky, you may even be surrounded by about 200 dolphins! Enjoy the rich nature of Amakusa from the sea.

https://dolphincruise.jp/

Kuma River

The Kuma River is a class A river that flows through the Hitoyoshi basin in southern Kumamoto Prefecture to the Yatsushiro Sea in the southwest of Kyushu. It is the main stream of the Kuma River system and is known as the longest river in Kyushu.

Rafting on the Kuma River

The Kuma River, which is one of Japan’s three major rapids together with the Mogami River and Fuji River, is famous for the “Kumagawa-kudari” boat rides that take advantage of its rapids and that have a history of over 100 years. It has also become popular over the last 30 years as an ideal place for canoeing and whitewater rafting and is bustling year-round, if at different levels.

One of the highlights of a boat ride on the Kuma River is Hitoyoshi City, which has many onsen resorts as well as buildings that retain the visage of its past as a castle town.

Further downstream is Yatsushiro City, famous for the Yatsushiro National Fireworks Competition that is held every October on the riverbank. It is a major event where pyrotechnicians from throughout the country show off their craft. It attracts hundreds of thousands of people every year and is the highlight of the autumn in Yatsushiro.

Around the mouth of the river, where the Kuma River flows into the Yatsushiro Sea, is a mudflat of nearly 2,500 acres that is a haven for wild birds. It attracts more than 90 different types of birds at times and has been designated as an Important Bird Area, and is popular among birdwatchers as a result.

Here are some recommended activities to enjoy the natural beauty and culture of the Kuma River:

・Kumagawa-kudari Boat Rides

Boat rides down the Kuma River have been popular for over 100 years. Take a boat ride to an onsen town with a veteran “sendo” (boatman) at the bow and “tomohari” (steersperson) at the stern. Enjoy views of the ruins of Hitoyoshi Castle and the castle town around it, as well as the verdant mountains.

https://www.kumagawa.co.jp/

・Rafting on the Kuma River

It’s also possible to go whitewater rafting down a course similar to the boats, from Hitoyoshi to Watari. The Hitoyoshi area is calm and appropriate for beginners, while the Watari area is suited for those who wish to enjoy the thrill of riding between rocks in the strong rapids of the Kuma River.

https://mainstream-raft.com/

A day or two will not be sufficient to thoroughly enjoy the appeal of Kumamoto Prefecture. Extend your trip and take the time to experience the natural resources and history of the area and learn something new.

kyushu page banner

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search