醞釀於瓶中的歷史與酒精:新宿黃金街

當人們說到日本,總會形容這裡是擁有現代化的摩天大樓和美麗的花園,這樣的意象通常是指日本東京都最具活力的地區之一新宿。不過距離新宿站東口步行不遠的歌舞伎町,有一個區域似乎不適合這樣形容 ── 新宿黃金街。由6道狹窄、燈光昏暗的小巷街區組成,到處都是看上去搖搖欲墜、破舊的建築。一共有200~300間小酒吧。人們在這喝酒時相互擦肩而過。黃金街整體乍看之下可能有些粗劣,但其實它是一個活生生的時間膠囊,是新宿都市喧囂中保有復古魅力的綠洲。如果想親自體驗這裡是個什麼樣的地方,本文將告訴你前往黃金街之前需要知道的一切。

東京

美食

黃金街的歷史

黃金街的歷史始於1945年。二戰結束後不久,新宿站東口外的區域成為這個飽受戰爭蹂躪的國家流通非法商品和生活必需品的黑市。盟軍於1949年關閉這個黑市,不過這些人移動到現今黃金街所在位置的附近。當年該地區除了幾處空地和破舊廢棄的建築物外,可以說是一片貧瘠。但隨著來自全國各地的非法、違禁品等供應商慢慢轉移到這個地區後,黃金街的種子就已種下。

在接下來的幾年,黃金街也經歷一些變化。1950年代這裡曾是繁華的紅燈區,直到1958年日本禁止性交易後逐漸轉型。此後這裡成為居酒屋風格的酒館和酒吧的所在地,尤其受到日本知識分子和藝術家的青睞。 顯然在1960年代和~1970年代之中,這些文化人曾在這裡常常出沒,否則人們不會將這裡視為知性場所,甚至稱此處為「文化人之城」。

不過這個綽號也很快就消失,取而代之的是「黃金街」。確切的起源尚不清楚,但據說是這裡的商家主動願意改名的。1970年代日本經濟相當繁榮的期間,新宿也跟著不斷發展並逐步現代化,但黃金街卻始終拒絕效仿,讓人們得以一窺東京往日的建築遺產。

1970年代後期,新宿的地價水漲船高,以至於黃金街成為組織犯罪集團的目標。酒吧老闆們自行組織巡邏和站崗的事蹟比比皆是。這些舉動是為了防止歹徒將街區燒毀再以便宜的價格購買。值得慶幸的是,這些老闆們成功守護這塊土地,使東京的文化變得更加豐富。

現今的黃金街

日本的經濟泡沫發生於1990年代初,此時許多黃金街的酒吧也跟著倒閉,狀況慘烈至似乎這裡可能永遠無法恢復。不過多年來,曾經在新宿這片小地方廣為人知的新一代年輕企業家和老客戶介入其中,讓黃金街重新恢復生機。

現在黃金街比以往任何時候都更加熱鬧,也已成為東京最著名的私密景點之一。尋找心儀小酒吧的地點時,會發現比日本人更多的外國人試圖擠過這些狹窄的小巷。這裡有很多店家可供選擇,大約有200~300家飲酒場所。但由於這裡面積較小,多數店家的店內空間都不是相當寬敞。一家典型的黃金街酒吧面積不到20平方公尺,通常最多只可容納10人。而且還有許多都比這規模小得多的店家,有些店甚至一次只能容納三到四個人。

不過進入黃金街的酒吧,即使發現已經客滿了,也可以試著走上一個樓層或再徒步幾公尺,有時會發現自己突然進入到截然不同的店家。在黃金街只需要幾步或幾層樓梯,就可獲得完全不同的飲酒氣氛與體驗。不禁讓人期待下一間小酒吧會是現代而優雅的氛圍,還是神秘而粗獷的味道。來客永遠不知道會與什麼樣的氛圍相遇,這就是東京最擁擠的飲酒區的主要特色之一。

黃金街的魅力

黃金街其實沒有什麼宏偉之處,它是個矗立在世界上超高現代建築陰影中的一小塊區域。不管是字面上的意思還是比喻,其實都是非常扎實貼切。它有一種「真」和「舊時代」的魅力,是隨著時間洪流越長,就越來越難找到的東西。 此外這裡有數百家酒吧競爭生意,因此每家店都會加倍努力以獲得顧客的青睞。

主題酒吧在這個小街區很受歡迎。如重金屬、醫院主題、恐怖氛圍、高級和精緻等。無論能讓你感到最自在舒適的環境是哪種,都可能存在於黃金街的某個角落。甚至有可能會在這裡遇到名人。

如今的黃金街可能不再是「文化人之鄉」,但許多來自日本和國外的藝術家仍然喜歡在那裡流連。諷刺的是,在黃金街這一個小地方反而更容易隱藏行蹤,這也是為什麼不少世界著名的表演者在日本巡迴演出時有時喜歡在黃金街駐足。而這個舉動反而會吸引更多的人,希望在黃金週周圍發現一張張名人的臉孔。不過除此之外,還有一個更大的理由讓人們不斷重返黃金街:即為「黃金街不會永存」這個事實。

大多數黃金街的建築物都是受保護的歷史建築,因此不符合日漸更新的法規。一旦這些建築消失了,就不可能再像以前那樣重建。 因此如果發生事情,如因自然或人為的災難而消失……黃金街將會不復存在。或至少不再是以現今看到的形式。所以最好趁還有機會的時候快點去那裡走走並喝一杯。

若想造訪黃金街,請務必事先了解、遵守當地的諸多規則,以下就來仔細介紹。

好好享受黃金街的規則和小提醒

黃金街的小酒吧許多只有個位數的座位,不僅給人一種私人飲酒俱樂部的感覺,而且店內的感覺也經常與私人招待所相似。其實,有些店家會不讓新客人進來消費,而市需要由常客介紹並經老闆審查。另外有些酒吧可能會拒絕為不會說日語的外國人提供服務。但這些店其實非常少,許多黃金街的店家都很高興地強調他們很歡迎外國客人,比如說備有英文菜單和會說英語的工作人員。只是身為外國人進去前還是不妨留意一下,因為仍然有一些店家是貼有「禁止外國人」的標誌。

在黃金街中喝酒應該要事先知道的另一件事是,消費可能不太便宜。這裡的價格與東京其他地區大致相同或略高,但更重要的是,和日本各地的許多酒吧一樣,黃金街的店家都會收取「桌席費」和「入場費」。 通常這不是太大的問題,但黃金街的淺規則是,除非是熟悉的常客,否則不應該在同一間店逗留太久。

店家會希望你在一段時間後騰出有限的座位。但問題是每去一家新的店都會需要額外收費。在更高級的店家,費用可能在500~4000日幣不等。且黃金街的許多店家只接受現金,如果打算在這裡度過夜晚,最好確保身上有足夠的現金。

黃金街的酒吧在下午點~5點半左右開始營業,不過要到晚上9點或10點才會真正開始熱鬧起來。雖然有時週日晚上黃金街會變得有點像無人之城。黃金街雖然也有餐館,但這裡並非以美食聞名。遊覽黃金街時感到飢餓的話,可以前往鄰近、以烤雞肉串聞名的思出横丁。日本社會大部分的規則也適用這裡:如禁止在指定區域外吸煙、禁止大聲喧嘩或唱歌、禁止攀爬建築物和柵欄等。更重要的是,禁止未經許可拍攝酒吧的照片和影片。一定要事先詢問店家是否可以在社群媒體上發布照片。

人氣熱門的黃金街酒吧

地獄のデスマッチ(Deathmatch in Hell)

這裡適合喜歡死亡金屬和恐怖電影的粉絲。所有飲料的價格皆為666日幣。這裡不收取桌席費,且調酒師會說英語。

アルバトロス(Albatross)

非常適合喜歡優雅美學和枝形吊燈的粉絲和多人團客。

Kenzo’s Bar

適合那些醉心於1980年代的粉絲和編劇,因酒吧老闆Kenzo本身就是一名演員和作家。另外老闆也是豹紋花色的忠實粉絲,隨處可見這些豹紋在酒吧周圍閃耀著。

ダーリン (Darling)

適合在尋找安全、活潑、舒適的遊戲來度過夜晚的女性客人。酒吧經常舉辦主題音樂活動,特別推薦給剛踏入黃金街的新手。

在黃金街體驗尋歡作樂!

日本是一個有著濃厚飲酒文化的國家。全國有數千條充滿活力、可以小酌一杯的橫丁。黃金街位處日本最現代化的大城市的中心,沒有其他地點能夠像這塊往昔的綠洲一樣滋潤著人們。在黃金街每個角落都充滿歷史的痕跡,或許正是因為知道這片懷舊的綠洲隨時可能消失,反而增加探索這裡的興奮刺激。如果想在東京尋找一些入夜後的樂趣,請務必前往新宿黃金街親身體驗另類的日本夜生活。

封面照片來源:Richie Chan / Shutterstock.com

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Cezary
Cezary Strusiewicz

搜尋餐廳

A Guide to Shinjuku’s Golden Gai - History (And Booze) In a Bottle

When people picture Japan with its modern skyscrapers and beautiful gardens, they are essentially imagining Shinjuku, one of the most vibrant parts of Japan’s capital. But there is an area located just a short walk from Shinjuku Station’s East Exit in Kabukicho that doesn’t seem to fit: Golden Gai (Golden Town). Composed of six narrow, dimly-lit alleys, this tiny block full of ramshackle, decrepit buildings is home to anywhere between 200 and 300 tiny bars where people literally rub shoulders with each other as they drink the night away. Golden Gai, at first glance, might seem a little sketchy but it’s a living time capsule and an oasis of old-timey charms among the hustle and bustle of Shinjuku. If you want to experience it for yourself, here’s everything you need to know before visiting Golden Gai.

Tokyo

Food & Drinks

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

The History of Golden Gai

The history of Golden Gai starts in 1945. Shortly after the end of WWII, the area outside Shinjuku Station’s East Exit became a black market for illicit goods and basic necessities in the war-torn country. The Occupation Forces shut the market down in 1949 but it just moved a little farther away to where Golden Gai is located today. Back then, the area was barren save for a few empty lots and dilapidated or abandoned buildings, but with other purveyors of illegal and contraband goods from around the country slowly moving to the same area, the seeds of Golden Gai have been planted.

During the following years, Golden Gai went through a few changes. Throughout the 1950s, it was a bustling red-light district until prostitution was outlawed in Japan in 1958. After that, it became home to izakaya-style pubs and bars that were especially popular with Japan’s intelligentsia and artists. Apparently, in the 1960s and 1970s, one was not taken seriously as an intellectual unless they had a familiar haunt in the area, which soon became known as “Bunkajin no Machi” (Town of Cultured People). That moniker was soon abandoned in favor of “Golden Gai”, the exact origin of which is unknown, but that’s about as far as the area was willing to change. During the Japanese economic boom of the 1970s, Shinjuku grew and modernized but Golden Gai steadily refused to follow suit, offering a rare glimpse of Tokyo's architectural heritage.

In the late 1970s, land prices in Shinjuku were so high that Golden Gai became a target for organized crime groups. Stories abound about bar owners organizing patrols and standing guard to keep gangsters from burning the block to the ground in order to then buy it cheap. Thankfully, they succeeded, and Tokyo has been culturally richer for it since.

Golden Gai Today

When Japan’s economic bubble burst in the early 1990s, many Golden Gai bars closed down and it looked like the area may never recover. But over the years, a new generation of young entrepreneurs and old clients whose faces were once known throughout this tiny part of Shinjuku stepped in to bring Golden Gai back to life.

Today, Golden Gai is livelier than ever and has become something of Tokyo’s best-known secret. It’s not strange to spot more foreigners squeezing their way through these narrow alleys than Japanese people as they search for the next tiny bar to hit. There are plenty to choose from. Golden Gai is home to anywhere between 200 and 300 drinking establishments, and given the small size of the area, you can probably guess that these aren’t the most spacious locations. A typical Golden Gai bar measures less than 20m2 and can accommodate a maximum of 10 people. Many are much smaller than that, though, with some drinking holes being able to accommodate no more than three or four people at a time.

But even if you go into a Golden Gai bar and find it “packed” (which is a relative term here), you can just go one floor up or a few meters to the side and into a different establishment. When in Golden Gai, a whole different drinking experience is just a few steps or a staircase away. Will the next bar be modern and elegant, themed, or divey and rugged? You never know what you’re going to get. That’s one of the main appeals of Tokyo’s most cramped drinking district… but definitely not its only one.

The Allure of Golden Gai

There is nothing grand about Golden Gai, which stands in the shadows of some of the world’s tallest, modern buildings. But the area is down to earth both literally and figuratively. There’s a kind of honesty and old-world charms to it that is getting harder to find with each passing day. Also, with hundreds of bars to compete with, every Golden Gai drinking establishment goes many extra miles in order to get your business.

Themed bars are a big thing around this small district. Are you into heavy metal? Do you want to drink in a hospital-themed bar? Fan of horror? Looking for something more high-class and refined? Whatever environment you feel most at ease at, it probably exists somewhere in Golden Gai. And while you’re there, you might even run into a celebrity.

Golden Gai may no longer be the "Town of Cultured People" but many artists from Japan and abroad still like hanging out there. It’s ironically easier to disappear in a small place, which is why world-famous performers sometimes like to swing by Golden Gai when touring Japan to see what it's all about. And that, in turn, brings in more people hoping to spot a famous face around these parts. But there is something more powerful that keeps people coming back to Golden Gai: the knowledge that it won’t last forever.

The majority of Golden Gai buildings are protected historic structures that are no longer up to code. Once they are gone, it’s going to be impossible to rebuild them just as they were. So, if the unthinkable happens and the district disappears because of some natural or manmade calamity… it won’t come back. At least not how it is now. So better get there quick and have a drink while you still have a chance. But be sure to follow Golden Gai’s many official and unofficial rules while you’re there.

Rules and Tips for Enjoying Golden Gai

Golden Gai’s tiny bars with their single-digit occupancies don’t just FEEL like private drinking clubs, they often act like them. Some, in fact, don’t just let anyone off the street come in for a drink. You need to be introduced by a regular client and vetted by the owner. Also, sorry to say, but some bars may refuse service to foreigners who don’t speak Japanese. Those are very much in the minority and many Golden Gai joints happily advertise that they are foreigner-friendly and have English menus and English-speaking staff. But among the hundreds of Golden Bar dives, there are some that display “No Foreigners” signs.

The next thing you ought to know about boozing it up in Golden Gai is that it can get pretty costly. Drinks here go for about the same or maybe slightly more than in other parts of Tokyo but what’s important is that, like many bars around Japan, Golden Gai establishments collect “cover charge” entrance fees. Normally that wouldn’t be an issue but the unofficial rule of Golden Gai is that, unless you’re a familiar regular, you shouldn’t linger in one place too long. Businesses expect you to free up the limited number of seats after a while and bar-hop, but each visit carries with it another cover charge, which can range from as little as 500 to 4,000 yen for the classier establishments. And because many places in Golden Gai accept cash only, you better make sure to have enough money on you if you’re planning to drink the night away here.

Many Golden Gai bars open around 5:00 pm - 5:30 pm but the area doesn’t really come alive until 9:00 pm or 10:00 pm, except Sundays when Golden Gai apparently becomes a bit of a ghost town. Now, there are restaurants in Golden Gai, but the district isn’t exactly known for its food. If you get hungry while touring Golden Gai, you can pop off to the neighboring Omoide Yokocho that’s known for its yakitori chicken skewers. Rules that you will find in other parts of Japan also apply here: no smoking outside designated areas, no shouting or loud singing, and no climbing on buildings and fences. More importantly, taking photographs and videos of bars without permission is also forbidden, so make sure you ask if it’s OK to throw evidence of your night out on social media.

Popular Golden Gai Bars

Deathmatch in Hell

Perfect for: fans of death metal and horror movies. Appropriately, all drinks are priced at 666 yen. As a bonus, there is no cover charge and the bartender speaks English.

Albatross

Perfect for: fans of elegant esthetics and chandeliers as well as larger groups.

Kenzo’s Bar

Perfect for: fans of the 1980s and screenwriting as the bar’s owner Kenzo is himself an actor and writer. Also: a big fan of leopard print, which is displayed prominently around the bar.

Darling

Perfect for: female clientele looking for a safe, lively, and cozy play to drink the night away. The bar often hosts themed musical events and is especially recommended for newcomers to Golden Gai.

Paint the Town Red in Golden Gai

Japan is a nation with a strong drinking culture. There are thousands of vibrant back alleys around the country where you can get a drink. But none other also acts like an oasis of days past in the center of one of the most modern cities on the planet. At Golden Gai, every corner is dripping with history, and knowing that this little slice of old-school Japan can disappear at any moment only adds to the electric excitement of the area. Be sure to experience it firsthand if you’re ever in Tokyo in search for some after-dark fun.

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Thumbnail: Richie Chan / Shutterstock.com

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Cezary
Cezary Strusiewicz

Restaurant Search