【日本住宿】日本全國精選8處提供掛單宿坊的推薦地點

您可知道,觀光客可以投宿在日本的寺廟當中嗎?有越來越多觀光客寄宿於特別為寺廟參拜者所預備,稱作「宿坊」的住宿設施;藉由投宿「宿坊」可以更近體驗日本文化,因而博得不少人氣。本文將為各位介紹宿坊的概要與值得推薦的宿坊地點。

日本

住宿

宿坊的歷史

放給一般大眾掛單住宿,大約是從1200多年前的平安時代開始的事。據說從那個時候開始,出現了比丘以外的人所經營的宿坊。到了大約400年前左右的江戶時代,宿坊變得更加大眾化了。不但大量出現了如現在般提供觀光客掛單住宿的宿坊,也衍生出很多以寺廟為中心的觀光景點。

掛單於宿坊時應遵循的規則

 

雖然目前掛單於宿坊非常輕鬆簡單,但畢竟是寺廟的設施,有別於一般飯店或是Guest House等一般住宿設施,入住者需遵守最低限度的規定。特別是大部份都會定有門禁時間,為了翌日的修行,就寢時間大多規定的較早,請確實做好夜間時間的管理。其他細項的規定則依各個宿坊而異,因此住宿前請事先進行確認。

掛單於宿坊時務必要準備的物品

PIXTA

 

宿坊雖是寺廟附設的設施,但現在也有很多地方如同飯店一般有著齊全的設備,甚至也有很多宿坊會提供所有入住必需用品。不過,所提供的用品內容則因宿坊而異。特別是洗髮精、潤髮乳、牙刷、毛巾、浴衣等物品,各個地點準備的內容不盡相同,因此請事先進行確認。

能夠在宿坊體驗的事

PIXTA

 

在宿坊,可以透過日本的寺廟體驗各式各樣的文化。依宿坊而異,能夠體驗的內容也不盡相同,一般來說會有抄寫經文與坐禪等體驗。特別只在寺廟才有的體驗是清晨時間所進行的早課,不只能短暫的修行,還能夠磨練心神,讓靈魂感受到清澄爽朗,這是在其他地方無法得到的收獲。此外,為了參加各種體驗,最好事先將希望在掛單期間體驗的內容傳達給廟方知道為佳。

宿坊內的供餐內容

 

宿坊內的供餐一般為不使用魚、肉,被稱作精進料理的素齋為主。但是,絕對不是什麼寒酸的料理,料理的種類媲美飯店般豪華的宿坊也相當多。能夠在此品嘗到平常不太有機會吃到的蔬菜天然鮮味。

HP: www.koyasan.or.jp/en/ (英文)

HP: www.koyasan.or.jp/ (日文)

推薦宿坊

1.  高野山 (和歌山)

PIXTA

在國內外觀光客間最有人氣的宿坊是位於和歌山縣高野山的宿坊。被登錄為世界遺產的高野山,擁有超過100座的寺廟,一般觀光客能輕鬆入住的宿坊就有30間之多。提供超講究精進料理的宿坊、房間能感受高級旅館風情的宿坊,甚至還有附露天浴場的宿坊等,各自打造出獨自的魅力是這裡最大的特色。

HP: http://www.shukubo.net/contents/stay/ (日文)

HP: http://eng.shukubo.net/temple-lodging.html (英文)

2. 善光寺 (長野)

PIXTA

與高野山齊名,同樣在海外遊客間具有超高人氣的是長野縣善光寺週邊的宿坊。不需特別準備任何東西就能投宿的設施相當多,宿坊多達快40間,預約也相當容易。其中也有類似青年旅館般住宿費用相當便宜的宿坊。

HP: http://www.zenkoji.jp/shukubo/ (Japanese Only)

3. 妙心寺 (京都)

除了寺廟內容的體驗以外,位於觀光景點附近且住宿價格合理也是宿坊的魅力。具備能作為世界超人氣觀光都市「京都」之觀光據點此一魅力的,正是位在妙心寺內的宿坊。來此掛單投宿的外國觀光客很多,因此也有多位英語流利的接待人員,讓遊客能舒適自在地投宿。

HP: http://www.myoshinji.or.jp/faq/faq_10.html (日文)

HP: http://www.myoshinji.or.jp/english/stay/ (英文)

4. 恐山 吉祥閣 (青森)

PIXTA

 

吉祥閣是位於本州最北端,青森縣恐山中的宿坊。這裡最大的魅力不用多說,當然是溫泉囉!從以前就被稱作是能療癒參拜者一身疲勞的宿坊,所在位置從最近的車站開車至少要花40分鐘才能抵達。雖然交通不便,但也更加能體驗深山中大自然的神秘。

HP: www.aptinet.jp/Detail_display_00004276.html (日文)

5. 大陽寺 (埼玉)

 

距離都心較近而廣為人知的宿坊是埼玉縣的太陽寺。這間寺廟雖然離都心較近,但在這裡完全感受不到世俗吵雜的氛圍,彷若位於大然秘境中一般。除了在日經新聞的宿坊排行榜中拔得頭籌外,其官網也有英文說明,讓旅客能放心利用此設施。

HP: http://www.taiyoji.com/syukubo.html (日文)

HP:http://monochrome.me.uk/taiyoji/shukubo_en.html (英文)

6. 戶隱神社 (長野)

 

位於長野縣,在古老書籍的文章中也曾被提到過的戶隱神社。據說能在此遇見眾多神祇,前去參拜即能獲得力量,是相當有名的能量景點。此外,夏季涼爽舒適,冬季時還能在附近享受滑雪的樂趣喔!

HP: http://togakushi-jinja.jp/stay/index.html (Japanese Only)

7. 淨蓮華院 (京都)

淨蓮華院座落於離京都市中心稍遠的山中,一處叫大原的盆地上。這裡的宿坊舉凡坐禪、抄經、精進料理與掛單住宿等,所有不能錯過的寺廟文化體驗內容皆可在這裡體驗到。早課可自由參加,對於早上想悠哉度過的人來說是一個很有魅力的優點。

HP: www.kyotodeasobo.com/stay/hotel/12 (Japanese Only)

8. 宿坊 光澤寺 (鳥取)

位於鳥取縣光澤寺的宿坊,有著顛覆宿坊常識,極具魅力的驚人招待內容。其供餐非和食,而是義大利風的精進料理 ; 寢室則是有床的洋風寢室,如此時尚的氛圍頗受女性的歡迎。也許不太適合想感受日本傳統風味的人,但相當推薦想在舒適時髦的環境中體驗抄經等活動的人。

HP: www.koutakuji.com/ (Japanese Only)

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional), Chinese (Simplified)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

The History of Shukubo

Photo by Ryan on flickr

Originally the lodgings for the Buddhist monks, the story goes that Shukubo (temple lodging) became available for ordinary pilgrims around 1,200 years ago during the Heian Period. From that time, there seemed to be Shukubo that was managed by persons other than Buddhist monks. About 400 years ago, when it became the Edo period, Shukubo became even more popular. Currently, many Shukubo places where tourists can stay have appeared turning them into tourist destinations with a on the temple.

Rules of Shukubo

Photo by ichael Dales on flickr

Currently, there are many Shukubo facilities where you can lodge in a carefree manner but those should really be called hotels or guest houses. A typical Shukubo facility is different because to the last it is a temple facility so it is essential to follow the minimum rules. In particular, there are many cases where there is a strict curfew and in order to be prepared for the next morning of study an early bedtime is often fixed. So be sure to properly adhere to the nighttime rules. Regarding other minute rules, each lodging differs so before you stay a night be sure to confirm what they might be.

Things you must prepare before Shukubo

Photo by A. Wee on flickr

Shukubo facilities are attached to the temple but these days there have been many places that provide hotel-like facilities and many places usually provide everything you need for Shukubo. However, what you will need to prepare differs based on the place. In particular, whether or not shampoo, conditioner, toothbrushes, towels, yukata and the like are provided tends to differ depending on the place so be sure to confirm beforehand.

Things you can experience during Shukubo

Photo by Christian Kaden on flickr

During Shukubo you can experience many things relating to Japanese culture. What you experience differs based on the place but you can typically experience things like copying sutras by hand, sitting in zazen (cross-legged position) and so on. In particular, one of the unique temple experiences is the early morning devotional exercises. For that short time it is a little bit like training but it sharpens the mind and gives you an intuition that you can’t obtain anywhere else.  Furthermore, to have a full personal experience, it would be better to say in advance what kind of activities you would like to do.

Shukubo meals

Photo by masahiko onf flickr

When dining at Shukubo, vegetarian food that does not contain any meat or fish is common. However, it’s never anything insubstantial and there are many Shukubo facilities that boasts a high-quality, varied selection of foods like a Japanese ryokan. You can experience the fresh, good flavor of natural vegetable that you wouldn’t normally get in your everyday diet.

HP: www.koyasan.or.jp/en/

HP: www.koyasan.or.jp/ (Japanese Only)

Recommended Shukubo Facilities

1. Mount Koya (Wakayama)

Photo by hktang on flickr

With tourists coming from both inside and outside the country the most popular Shukubo facilities are dotted across Wakayama Prefecture’s Mount Koya. Mount Koya is a registered UNESCO World Heritage site and the current number of temples exceed 100 with around 30 being available where ordinary tourists can freely lodge at. There are lodgings which obsessively follow a strict vegetarian diet, inns that have rooms reminiscent of high quality Japanese ryokans and furthermore there are lodgings that come with open air baths and so on. Each Shukubo facility has its own original facilities that give it a unique charm

HP: http://eng.shukubo.net/temple-lodging.html (English)

2 Zenkoji (Nagano)

Photo by cozymax.org on flickr

Rivaling Mount Koya in high popularity with tourists from overseas are the Shukubo facilities around Zenkoji in Nagano prefecture. There are many facilities where you don’t need to prepare anything in advance and with 40 nearby Shukubo facilities, it will be easy to make a reservation. Among them, there are many cheap Shukubo places that can be used in place of a youth hostel.

HP: http://www.zenkoji.jp/shukubo/ (Japanese Only)

3. Myoshinji (Kyoto)

Photo by Yuki Yaginuma on flickr

Not only can you experience the temple lifestyle but there are many nearby sightseeing spots and the fact that you can lodge for a reasonable price is appealing. The charm of the Myoshinji Shukubo is that you can use it as a base for sightseeing in Kyoto which is known as a world-famous sightseeing spot. Because tourists from overseas often lodge here, there are staff available who can correspond in English making your stay even more pleasant.

HP: http://www.myoshinji.or.jp/faq/faq_10.html (Japanese)

HP: http://www.myoshinji.or.jp/english/stay/ (Enlgish)

4. Mount Osorezan Kichijo Kaku (Aomori)

www.aptinet.jp

At the northernmost tip of Honshu, there is a Shukubo lodging located in Aomori prefecture, Kichijo Kaku. After all is said and done, the biggest charm of this Shukubo is the onsen. In the past, this Shukubo was said to heal the physical tiredness of the pilgrims to the temple and it is situated 40 minutes by car from the nearest station. It’s a bit difficult to get to but to that extent, you can experience the mystery in the midst of nature’s beauty.

HP: www.aptinet.jp/Detail_display_00004276.html (Japanese Only)

5. Taiyoji (Saitama)

www.flickr.com

Taiyoji in Saitama prefecture, is a known Shukubo lodging relatively close to the heart of the city. Without having any of the atmosphere of the workday reality, it is a temple that seems like it’s located in an unexplored region deep in the heart of nature. It has been ranked number 1 in the Nikkei Shinbun’s Shukubo ranking and even has English language explanations on its homepage so you can use it with a peace of mind.

HP: http://www.taiyoji.com/syukubo.html (Japanese)

HP:http://monochrome.me.uk/taiyoji/shukubo_en.html (English)

6. Togakushi Shrine (Nagano)

Photo by sayot on flickr

Having been mentioned in Japan’s oldest historical books “Kojiki” is Togakushi Shrine located in Nagano prefecture. It is said to be a place where many deities gather and it is a famous “power spot” where you can receive strength if you visit. In addition, it is cool during the summer so you can pass the time comfortably and in winter you can enjoy skiing nearby.

HP: http://togakushi-jinja.jp/stay/index.html (Japanese Only)

7. 浄蓮華院 (京都)

takaoka.zening.info

Within the mountains a little way off from the center of Kyoto city, located in Ohara is Jorengein. Sitting in zazen, hand copying sutras, vegetarian cuisine, etc. this is a Shukubo lodging where you will definitely experience the temple culture from start to finish. You can freely choose whether or not to participate in the morning religious services so for those who would like to take it easy in the morning, this is an appealing point.

HP: www.kyotodeasobo.com/stay/hotel/12 (Japanese Only)

8. Koutakuji Shukubo (Tottori)

www.koutakuji.com

Koutakuji’s Shukubo lodging located in Tottori prefecture is so far, the Shukubo lodging of which its attraction is its surprising hospitality that defies convention. In place of Japanese style meals, Italian style vegetarian cuisine is offered, the beds are in Western style bedrooms, it has a stylish atmosphere and it’s become a big hit among young women. It’s probably unsuitable for those persons who want to savor the ancient Japanese atmosphere but for those who would like to experience passing the time hand copying sutras in a fashionable space, this Shukubo is recommended for you.


HP: www.koutakuji.com/ (Japanese Only)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone