【京都自由行】京都的賞楓名勝在哪?精選京都12個可感受秋天獨有風情的絕美楓葉景點

日本是全世界少見、一年四季皆可欣賞到大自然不同風采的國家。秋天前往日本旅遊時,絕對不能錯過葉子染成鮮紅的楓葉景觀。日本國內有許多被稱為「絶景」的紅葉景點,其中特別值得造訪的便是京都的紅葉景點。像是紅葉與神社佛閣等歷史性建築物相互輝映的美景,或是與日本庭園裡的綠苔形成強烈對比的景觀,京都的紅葉景點洋溢著其他地區感受不到的魅力。這次將介紹給大家12個秋天日本旅遊必去的京都府地區紅葉景點。

京都

玩樂

・東福寺(東山地區)

「東福寺」是日本家喻戶曉的紅葉景點,也是京都府地區首屈一指的熱門賞楓名勝。廣達20萬平方公尺的腹地內有著被指定為國寶的「三門」及「本坊庭園」等日本庭園。其中則種植著日本楓、槭樹等約2,000株的美麗紅葉。於通往本堂「開山堂」的「通天橋」可欣賞到令人為之震懾的溪谷美景。葉片三裂的金黃色「通天紅葉」景觀也不容錯過。此處是精彩景點雲集的賞楓勝地,旺季時人潮相當擁擠,安排行程時不妨多留點時間參觀吧!

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬
*紅葉季人潮擁擠時,有時會禁止於通天橋與臥雲橋拍照

・毘沙門堂(山科地區)

「毘沙門天」是座供奉財神的古刹。前往本堂的陡峭參道一到秋天便幻化為鮮紅色的地毯。此種「遍地紅葉」的景觀正是「毘沙門堂」秋天的經典景緻,也是其他地方少見的光景。腹地內還有座名為「晩翠園」的日本庭園。此處距離市內稍遠,很適合在瀰漫著日式情懷的寧靜環境中,沈醉於日本的晚秋美景。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜11月下旬
*備註:2019年11月23日(週六)起預計舉辦 「紅葉祭」(10:00~15:00)

・永觀堂(東山地區)

在京都府地區眾多的賞楓景點中,此處更被稱為「紅葉永觀堂」,是日本家喻戶曉擁有迷人紅葉景緻的寺廟。此寺的歷史悠久,自平安時代(794年〜1185年)起便是著名的賞楓勝地。腹地內約種植著3,000多株的楓樹與槭樹,將「多寶塔」佛塔與日本庭園妝點得美不勝收。寺內還有自然生長於陡峭的岩石與岩壁上的「岩垣紅葉」。但至今尚未了解其生長於傾斜岩壁的原因,屬於「永觀堂七大不可思議」之一。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬
*點燈期間:2019年11月6日(週三)~12月4日(週三)
*點燈時間:17:30~20:30 (21:00關門)

・貴船神社(貴船地區)

「貴船神社」為供奉水神的古老神社,也是眾所皆知的結緣能量景點。附近自然生長著多達3,000株的楓樹,一到秋天便會染上美麗的色彩。但因其中有不同品種的楓樹,所以可欣賞到如漸層般綠、黃、橘、紅的迷人楓紅。每年11月上旬到下旬,參道的階梯與本堂周邊的紅葉正是適合觀賞的時期。紅葉季期間還會舉辦地區內羅列著燈籠的「貴船紅葉燈籠祭」。在燈籠的光線照射下呈現出夢幻氛圍的紅葉景觀也別有一番風味。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月上旬〜11月下旬
*附註:2019年11月2日(週六)~11月24日(週日)舉辦「貴船紅葉燈籠」

・圓光寺(洛北地區)

「圓光寺」是京都深具代表性的紅葉景點,也是非常適合欣賞「晩秋京都」的地點。此處的紅葉與「十牛之庭」這座池泉迴游式庭園和諧共存的美景是其最大的特色。每到紅葉季,周圍自然生長的槭樹便一同染上顏色,將庭園妝點得更加豔麗。「圓光寺」的紅葉更以散落之美聞名。掉落於地面上的紅葉被稱為「散落紅葉」或「遍地紅葉」,當其落於庭園青苔之上時,可從中感受到濃濃的日式情懷,也令人體會到優美的秋日風情。此處因距離市區稍遠,所以交通較為不便,可搭乘叡山電鐵前往,每逢紅葉季便能從車窗欣賞到整片鮮紅的美麗紅葉景觀,就算乘車時間較長應該也會覺得值回票價。在這個遠離喧囂的寧靜區域中,很適合悠閒地欣賞紅葉美景。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬
 

・瑠璃光院(洛北地區)

「瑠璃光院」是京都府首屈一指的紅葉景點,過去曾是內行人才知道的私房賞楓勝地,但近年來因Instagram的普及而廣受遊客歡迎。據說因為書院2樓的桌子上倒映著的紅葉奇景在社群網站上造成討論,所以遊客也隨之激增。院內有三座日本庭園,分別為進入山門後可看到的「山露路之庭」、從書院可眺望的「瑠璃之庭」,以及由茶室延伸的「臥龍之庭」,三座庭園各異其趣,有機會不妨多花點時間沈醉在此番迷人美景之中吧!秋天前往京都旅行時,如果想拍到最美最吸睛的照片,「瑠璃光院」是您的必去首選。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬
 

・源光庵(鷹峰地區)

「源光庵」因從本堂的窗戶可望見美麗的紅葉景觀而名聞遐邇,是個熱門的紅葉景點。本堂內有代表「人的一生」的四角窗「迷惘之窗」,以及代表「大宇宙」的圓窗「頓悟之窗」。由這些窗戶向外望,據說就能帶領人們走向佛教所說的「頓悟之地」。光線稍暗的本堂使紅葉看起來更加地鮮豔,可說是此處才能看見的美景。源光庵位於住宅區一隅,交通雖然有點不便,但因環境閑靜、遊客稀少,可在此度過一段閒適的時光,可說是一大私房景點。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬
 

北野天滿宮(北野地區)

「北野天滿宮」為日本全國超過1萬座「天神社(神社)」的總本山。其中日本戰國武將「豐臣秀吉」修築的史跡御土居,以及「紅葉苑」的紅葉景觀名聞遐邇。御土居意指為了防止躲避敵人攻擊與淹水而興建的城牆與護城河。而「紅葉苑」中共有350株紅,其中還有許多古樹樹齢達350年〜400年之久。相信觀賞一棵棵樹木時,一定能從中感受到其悠久的歷史軌跡。紅葉季時,腹地內會有點燈活動,白天和日落後都很推薦來此走走。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月上旬〜12月上旬
*附註:2019年10月25日~12月8日期間,紅葉苑開放參觀(普通時間不開放,紅葉季期間限定開放)

常寂光寺(嵐山地區)

提到京都府地區的人氣旅遊景點就會想到「嵐山」,這一帶座落著許多紅葉景點,「常寂光寺」也是其中之一。「常寂光寺」位於「小倉山」山腳,與「嵐山」之間夾著「桂川」。將腹地內妝點的五彩繽紛的楓樹與槭樹為自然生長,散落在石板路上的「遍地紅葉」美不勝收。此處雖然是熱門的觀光景點,但卻人煙稀少,非常適合在此悠閒地欣賞紅葉美景。堪稱是京都首屈一指的私房賞楓景點。

*紅葉觀賞期間:11月中旬〜11月下旬

天龍寺(嵐山地區)

「天龍寺」約700年前就已建立,歷史相當悠久。腹地內則有日本首座被指定為史跡與特別名勝的「曹源池庭園」,此座迴游式庭園已被納入世界文化遺產,據說也是日本最古老的遺構。秋天時,寺內的紅葉景觀、庭園與後方的「嵐山」交織出更加動人的美景。白天人潮眾多,建議早上造訪為佳。11月中,7點半起開放早晨參拜,不妨早起前往吧!

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬

保津峽(嵐山地區)

「保津峽」為從京都府龜岡市綿延至嵐山地區的溪谷,全長約16公里。在此能享受長達2小時的「保津川泛舟」,可從船上飽覽雄壯的溪谷與山巒上染紅一片的紅葉。如果想體驗泛舟樂趣,建議乘坐首班或末班航班,因為早上可欣賞到被朝陽照得閃閃發亮的紅葉,夜晚則能一覽被列車沿線的燈光照亮的紅葉。紅葉季時,泛舟活動相當受歡迎,建議事先購買預售票,即能確保可坐上船。坐在船上時可能會稍有涼意,別忘了做好防寒措施。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月中旬〜12月上旬

高台寺(東山地區)

「豐臣秀吉」是1500年代日本叱吒一時的武將,「高台寺」則是為了祈禱其冥福所建立的寺廟。其中保留了「開山堂」與「靈屋」等開山當時的建築物,是其一大特色。值得推薦的賞楓景點為腹地內的史跡名勝庭園。「臥龍池」附近的紅葉景觀美不勝收,倒映在水面上的紅葉奇景更是壯觀。此外,夜晚會有點燈活動,寺內到處都瀰漫著神秘的氛圍,也是京都首屈一指的紅葉景點,日落後相當值得造訪。

*紅葉觀賞時期:11月上旬〜12月上旬
*點燈期間:2019年10月25日~12月15日
*點燈時間:日落〜關門為止

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

Top 12 Places in Kyoto to Enjoy Japan's Unique Fall Foliage

Japan is blessed with the natural scenery that changes distinctly from season to season, and seeing the fall colors is an unmissable part of experiencing Japan in autumn. There are countless picturesque fall color spots all throughout Japan, but autumn in Kyoto is simply something you have to experience to believe. The autumn foliage harmonizes beautifully with Kyoto's historical shrine and temple scenery, and the vivid green moss makes for a stunning contrast with the red leaves in all the Japanese gardens here. Read on for the 12 best spots for seeing some of the most beautiful fall foliage scenes in Kyoto!

Kyoto

Things to Do

Tofukuji Temple (Higashiyama Area)

Tofukuji Temple is famous throughout Japan as being Kyoto's most popular autumn color spot. This temple is known for its vast grounds that span around 20,000 square meters, as well as its Honbo Garden and Sanmon Gate, which has been designated a national treasure. With around 2,000 maples and other autumn trees adorning the grounds, the fall colors here are stunning. The beauty of the valley seen from Tsuten Bridge that connects the main building and Kaisando Hall is also beautiful. Don't miss the variety of maple named Tsuten Momiji which has a three-tipped leaf and brilliant gold coloring. Tofukuji Temple is full of highlights, but it can get very crowded in the peak times, so make sure you factor in enough time to see it all.

Fall color period: Mid-November to early December

Bishamon-do Temple (Yamashina Area)

Bishamon-do Temple is an ancient temple that enshrines Bishamonten, a god of fortune. The path leading to the main hall transforms into a bright red carpet of leaves in the fall. This unique blanket of leaves is a symbol of fall at Bishamon-do Temple, and is a scene you can only see in Kyoto. Bansui-en Garden is also located in the temple grounds. A little removed from the city, this quiet, historical space is sure to leave you intoxicated with the beauty of Japan in fall.

Fall color period: Mid-November - Late November

Eikan-do Temple (Higashiyama Area)

Eikan-do Temple stands out even among the many fantastic autumn leaf spots in Kyoto. Famous throughout Japan, this temple is sometimes nicknamed "Eikan-do of the Fall Colors", and has been known as a fall leaf spot since the Heian period (794 - 1185). Around 3,000 maple trees grow on the grounds, creating a beautiful scene with the temple's two-storied pagoda and Japanese gardens. Trees nicknamed "rock wall maples" also grow on steep stones and rock wall faces on the grounds. It's not clear how these trees were able to naturally grow on such steep slopes, so these trees have come to be known as one of the "Seven Wonders of Eikan-do". 

Fall color period: Mid November - Early December

Fall Illumination Period: November 6th - December 4th, 2019, 5:30 pm - 8:30 pm (Gates close: 9:00 pm)

Kifune Shrine (Kibune Area)

An ancient shrine dedicated the god of water, Kifune Shrine is known as a spiritual power spot for love and marriage. Around 3,000 wild maple trees grow in the area, lending a gorgeous color in the fall. The variety of cultivars in the maple family means that visitors can enjoy a spectrum of color that moves from green to yellow, orange, and red. The path to the temple and the area around the main hall takes on a beautiful color from early to late November. The Kifune Momiji Tourou Festival (Kifune Fall Color Lantern Festival) is also held from November 2nd to November 24th. The sight of autumn leaves surrounded by the soft light of Japanese lanterns creates a magical atmosphere during this time.

Fall color period: Early November - Late November 

Enkoji Temple (Rakuhoku Area)

Enkoji Temple is one of Kyoto's best known fall spots, and the perfect place to enjoy the late autumn in Kyoto. A feature of this temple is the Jyu-gyu Garden, built harmoniously with a strolling path around its central pond.  In fall, the wild maples turn red and beautifully color the garden.

Enkoji Temple is also known as being particularly beautiful when the leaves here start to fall. These fallen leaves on the garden's blanket of moss creates a classical Japanese scene that gives viewers a taste of autumn's true elegance. A little out of town, this temple does take some time to get to, but you can see a wealth of gorgeous autumn trees through the windows of the Eizan Electric Railway on your way, so the time spent won't feel like a waste. This quiet area away from the crowds of the city is guaranteed to be a place where you can relax and enjoy the fall colors.

Fall color period: Mid-November - Early December 

Rurikoin Temple (Rakuhoku Area)

Rurikoin Temple used to be a hidden gem in Kyoto, but in recent years Instagram has caused it to experience a boom in popularity. Photos of the autumn leaves reflected on the surface of a desk in the second floor drawing room went viral on social media, causing a sudden surge of visitors. This temple also has three Japanese gardens with different charms: Yamaroji Garden, found just inside the temple gate, Ruri Garden, seen from the drawing room, and Garyu Garden, that spreads outside the tea room. You'll find yourself being swept away by the scenery as you spend time wandering this temple. If you're looking for the perfect photograph of autumn colors in Kyoto, look no further than Rurikoin Temple.

Fall color period: Mid November - Early December 

Genkoan Temple (Takagamine Area)

Genkouan Temple is a fall color spot famous for the beauty of the autumn scenery through the windows in the main temple hall. In this hall there is a square window called the "Window of Confusion", which designed to represent mortal human life, and the "Window of Enlightenment", a circular window that represents the universe. It's said that looking through these windows can help lead you along the Buddhist path of enlightenment. The autumn leaves as seen from the dim light of the main hall look even more colorful, creating scenery you won't find anywhere else. This temple, located in a residential area, is a little more effort to get to, which means that this is a hidden spot you can enjoy in peace away from the crowds.


Fall color period: Mid-November - early December 

Kitano Tenmangu (Kitano Area)

Kitano Tenmangu is the head temple of the around 10,000 Tenjin Shrines spread throughout Japan. The Momiji-en maple garden is famous for its autumn colors, and the temple even has the remains of a historical fortification created by military commander Toyotomi Hideyoshi. This fortification, called an "odoi", is a type of wall and moat structure created to protect an area from enemy attack and flood waters. This autumn garden has around 350 trees, including a good number of trees as old as 350 to 400 years old. Taking in the beauty of each tree is sure to give you a sense of the history of this area. The grounds are illuminated in the fall color season, and this garden is beautiful to visit both in the evenings and at twilight.

Fall color period: Early November - Early December 

Momiji-en Garden Special Opening: October 25th - December 8th (Closed to the public outside this period)

Jojakko Temple (Arashiyama Area)

For many, Arashiyama is the go-to spot for autumn colors in Kyoto. There are many places to see autumn leaves in the area, including Jojakkoji Temple. This temple is located at the base of Mt Ogura, situated across the Katsura River opposite the Arashiyama mountains. The blanket of leaves that fall from the maples on the stone-paved grounds creates a beautiful scene here. As busy as Arashiyama is, this temple gets comparatively fewer visitors, making it a place where you can take your time at. This is definitely a hidden gem among Kyoto's many great fall color spots.

Fall color period: Mid-November - Late-November

Tenryuji Temple (Arashiyama Area)

Tenryuji Temple is a historical temple built around 700 years ago. The Sogen Pond Gardens on the grounds are said to be an example of Japan's oldest kaiyu-shiki garden (circular promenade with a central pond), and was the first site specified as a Special Place of Scenic Beauty by the Japanese government. Tenryuji Temple has also been designated a UNESCO World Heritage site. The colors of the trees themselves are beautiful, but the sight of Arashiyama in the background only adds to the stunning scene here. This temple can get crowded during the day in autumn, so we recommend visiting in the early morning. During November, gates open as early as 7:30 am, so set your alarm a little early to see the garden at its best! 


Fall colors period: Mid-November - Early December

Hozukyo Ravine (Arashiyama Area)

Hozokyo Ravine is an approximately 16 kilometer long ravine that runs between Kyoto Prefecture and Kameoka City in the Arashiyama area. Here you can enjoy the grand ravine and the fall colors decorating the surrounding mountainsides on a two hour long Hozugawa River Boat Ride. If you want to try this boat ride, we recommend either taking the first or last departure so you can either enjoy the fall colors glowing in the morning sun or the illuminated trees lit up along the train line that goes through the ravine. The river ride becomes very popular during the fall season, so we recommend booking your ticket in advance to ensure you don't miss out. It can also get chilly on the water, so make sure you dress accordingly. 

Fall color period: Mid-November - Early December 

Kodaiji Temple (Higashiyama Area)

Kodaiji Temple was established in the 1500s in memory of military commander Toyotomi Hideyoshi. It is known for its Kaisando Hall and mausoleum that still remains from the time of the temple's founding. The best spots for fall colors here are the historical gardens on the grounds. The colors of the trees around Garyochi pond reflected in the water makes for a particularly spectacular sight. The trees are illuminated the evening, creating a mysterious atmosphere all throughout the grounds. This is definitely one Kyoto fall color spot you'll want to visit after sunset.

Fall Color Period: Early November - Early December
Illumination Period: October 25th - December 15th (Sunset to close of gates)

Kyoto is absolutely stunning this time of year, so stop by and take in your surroundings if you plan on visiting these spots. You won't regret it!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Title Image: Visun Khankasem / Shutterstock 

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search