【日本文化】日本人也覺得難懂?10項越了解越覺得深奧的「京都特有習俗與冷知識」

京都為日本千年古都,過往是政治與文化的發展中心。現在仍舊留有眾多神社佛閣、庭園、城池與史跡等深具歷史意義的場所,吸引了來自日本國內外的遊客。在此種歷史背景之下,京都發展出有別於日本其他都道府縣的特有文化,現今在當地人之間也有幾個如隱性冷知識般的共通習俗。正是基於此種習俗發展而出的日常生活,讓京都更有自己的風格,成為了一座獨一無二的城市。只要了解京都特有的習俗,便可避免在旅途中發生糾紛,也更能體驗到京都深奧的無限魅力。這次除了介紹京都獨特的習俗外,還會介紹對旅行有所幫助的冷知識共10項內容。了解京都的常識,像個在地人一樣享受京都之旅吧!

京都

深度日本

為什麼京都有許多獨特的習俗呢?答案就在京都的歷史之中

京都有著根深蒂固的獨特規矩與習俗,因此在其他縣市的日本人之間偶爾會有「京都居不易」的討論話題。其難以居住的原因,不外乎與京都市從西元794年開始,約1000年之久都是日本蓬勃發展的首都,以及遷都至江戶(現在的東京)之後京都的發展有關。

過去京都為首都時,來自日本全國的人與物聚集於此,發展成為政治與文化的中心。遷都至江戶之後,則逐漸蛻變成為職住共存的商業城市。過程中,京都居民為了與他人建立良好的人際關係,鞏固信賴關係的方法與避免糾紛的對策等許多特有規則便應運而生。儘管現在京都作為熱門觀光城市,吸引許多來自日本國內外遊客造訪,導致有些習俗逐漸消失,但它們仍舊存在於京都居民的生活之中。

1. 比起金錢更重視信任關係?店家規定「不接待第一次上門的客人」是什麼意思

雖然坐落許多鬧區與觀光景點,但其實京都市是一座騎單車便能巡遊一圈的小城市。此外,當地有眾多幾百年歷史的老店,從祖先開始就居住在此地的居民也很多,鄰居大多是熟人,市民之間聯繫緊密,好消息與壞消息都會迅速地傳播。因此,信任關係就變得非常重要。特別是做生意時,店家與顧客之間的信任關係更是至關重要。

某些京都店家會拒絕接待第一次上門的新顧客,除非是經由已有信任關係的熟客介紹,才可能入店消費。儘管這個獨特且嚴格的規定隨著時代演變逐漸寬鬆,但不可否認,現今仍有些店家堅守著此項傳統。雖然這規定對於遊客來說會覺得有點可惜,但另一方面也藉此得知京都人踏實的經商智慧,比起眼前短暫的利益,更加重視建立於信任關係之上的長期利益。不過最近可透過住宿地點或旅行社預約的店家也逐漸增加了,如果之前想造訪的店因上述規定而沒辦法前往消費時,不妨藉由以上管道試看看吧!

2. 明確說出好或不好很危險?!以曖昧的回答避免紛爭

曾為日本千年首都的京都,過去歷經了多次戰爭動蕩,政權反覆更迭的場景不斷上演。炫耀著自己的權利、一夜之間卻變成被追趕的對象的事情也很常見。在這種戰亂之地,如果和特定對象關係過於親密,當其失勢時,自己也很容易被牽連其中。因此為了在同個地方長期成功生存,便衍生出如此法則:不明確表現出態度的「曖昧」文化。

同為京都人都能理解此種曖昧文化,但對於來自其他地區的日本人卻是一件相當麻煩的事。舉例來說,邀請京都人吃飯,當對方說「謝謝您邀請我這麼多次。」時,您會怎麼想呢?這時可能會認為對方說了謝謝,應該表示他也很期待、喜歡自己的邀約吧。但實際上,對方的真心話說不定是:「這個人一直約我,真是沒常識。可是如果拒絕得太直接,有可能會讓他受傷,這種時候先曖昧地回覆他,讓他自己放棄吧!」

因此和京都人對話時,除了用字遣詞外,感受其表情與氛圍更重要,但就連一般日本人也不見得能習慣他們「話中有話」的文化呢。旅行時如果無法了解京都人真正的想法時,直接詢問旁邊的人或本人不失為一個好方法。只要禮貌地詢問,相信對方一定也會告訴您的喔!

3. 當被問說要不要吃ぶぶ漬け(茶泡飯)時,應該在對方端出來之前趕快離開。

「ぶぶ(bubu)」為用茶之意,「ぶぶ漬け」意指茶泡飯。在京都,當來家裡作客的客人要離開時,主人通常會問「要不要吃碗茶泡飯呢?」這時如果客人回答「好」的話就會被白眼,氣氛也會變差喔。其實當主人在詢問客人的這句話中,就隱含著「你差不多該回去了」的特有意涵。

這個習慣表現出京都人因常使用委婉的說法,導致難以看穿其真心話的個性,而這有趣奇特的現象在日本可說是廣為人知。關於「要不要吃碗茶泡飯?」也有其他的說法是,在和客人告別時,主人會藉此來傳達「其實我還想跟你再多聊一下」的好意,表示方才的談話令人意猶未盡。但如果真的遇到對方詢問要不要吃茶泡飯時,機靈地回答「不用了,我該失陪了」才是正確的做法。

 

4. 站的位置由第一個人決定!京都人搭手扶梯時的規矩

每個國家搭乘手扶梯時,靠邊的方向都不一樣,您知道日本國內的靠邊方向也會因地區而不同嗎?在日本,常見到為了趕時間的人空出單側,大家站在另一側的現象。在東京,人們通常會站在左側、空出右邊,大阪則是普遍站在右側。其他地區也會像這樣統一站在某側,但京都靠邊的方向非固定,有著「由第一個人決定靠邊方向」的習慣,可說是非常地自由。

因此,在京都搭乘手扶梯時,確認前方的人站在哪一邊後,就快速地排在他的後方吧!此外,也要注意不要讓大件行李擋到另一邊的通道。不過在人潮眾多的地方,有時也會見到沒有空出單邊,兩側皆有人站立的情況。儘管當地有基本的規定,觀察周遭與他人的情況隨機應變也很重要。

5. 因祭典而停在路上?市營巴士常常不會按照時間表行駛

日本的大眾運輸工具以準時聞名,但不妨把京都市營巴士當作是一個例外吧!京都與東京、大阪等大城市相比,電車的線路較少。另外,京都市內到處皆有市營巴士行駛,對於當地居民與遊客來說,是個不可或缺的交通工具,每天都有許多人搭乘。因此,外地人不了解轉車方式、搭車費用而花了些時間,或者遊客的大件行李擋路,讓其他乘客難以下車,也是導致巴士延遲的原因之一。

其中還有一個特有的原因是,京都經常舉辦傳統儀式。由於祇園祭等各式季節祭典常在街道上舉行,祭典隊伍和花車遊行時會導致巴士需繞遠路,或是直接停在路上呢!

就算想搭乘的巴士未按照時間表到來也不需慌張,不妨稍等一會兒或考慮改變前往路線吧!應該有許多路線都能抵達目的地,瀏覽「地下鐵・巴士NAVI」就能順利移動。不過有時候在討論改變路線時就會有2台想搭的巴士同時進站,可不要太驚訝喔!

地下鐵・巴士NAVI中文版(正面)
地下鐵・巴士NAVI中文版(背面)

6. 連小巷都能輕鬆悠遊!京都有許多自行車騎士

放眼望去京都的街道,經常能看到精神抖擻地騎著自行車移動的人們。京都面積比東京小,加上坡道少與棋盤式道路,是非常適合騎自行車的地形。京都有許多巷弄與單行道,再加上上述提到電車路線少與市營巴士很常延遲,所以比起開車或搭乘大眾交通工具,騎乘自行車反而更有效率。因此,不少當地居民通勤上班上課或購物時都會騎自行車。

京都市內也有眾多觀光用的自行車出租店,近年來以自行車代步的遊客也很多。大部份的神社寺院都有自行車停車場,市區也有付費停車場。京都有許多餐廳、咖啡廳、雜貨店與傳統工藝品等名店,皆位於狹小的巷弄深處,騎乘自行車巡遊說不定會遇見令人意想不到的美好事物喔!出租自行車一天費用約1000日幣左右,旅行時不妨嘗試看看吧!盡情地穿梭在歷史悠久的京都街道之中,相信那暢快感受一定會讓人上癮喔!

7. 來自日本全國各地!其實京都土生土長的藝妓與舞妓很少?

穿著高雅端莊的和服走在街上的舞妓與藝妓。雖然這種場景深具京都風情,但其實這些舞妓與藝妓大多不是在京都土生土長的人。一般來說,成為藝妓之前尚處於見習階段的舞妓其年齡限制為15歲至20歲,日本全國想成為舞妓的女孩離開家鄉與親人,在京都的置屋中與其他人一同生活。

此外,雖然很少有機會在街上看到藝妓與舞妓,不過如果白天有見到時不妨多加留意。真正的藝妓與舞妓白天常需要練習技藝,所以很少會外出。那麼,白天大步走在街上的藝妓與舞妓又是誰呢?其實她們很有可能是進行藝妓與舞妓一日體驗的遊客。

如果想見到真正的藝妓與舞妓,不妨前往位於花街的茶屋吧!費用會依人數、餐點、給藝妓與舞妓的報酬和座敷遊戲等內容有很大的不同,不過最少一個人需花費2萬日幣以上。但畢竟這是在京都才能感受到的寶貴體驗。旅館、料亭與旅行社皆有推出適合觀光客的平價方案,就算是初次體驗的人,相信也能玩得放心又盡興。

8. 京都人也認可的味道與價位!提到伴手禮就會想到阿闍梨餅

阿闍梨餅是自1856年開始販售的京都知名土產,是一種Q彈的麵皮中加入大量紅豆餡的半生菓子。其深受喜愛的程度除了遊客會買來當作伴手禮外,也是京都在地人會購買的土產。熱賣的秘密在於對食材的講究及不變的美味。由於餡料僅單獨使用在此款日式點心上,所以無論食材、調味與加工方式,皆為深思熟慮之下的結果。此外,基於盡量不想提高價格的原則,一顆只販售119日幣(含稅),能以平實的價格購買到美味的土產也是令人高興的一點。優良的品質與實惠的價格,讓眼光很高的京都人也能放心地買來當作伴手禮,也是深獲在地人肯定的日式點心。

除了直營店外,各大百貨公司與京都車站的紀念品店等京都市內各處都能買到,但有時國定假日到傍晚時便會售罄,建議想買的人儘早購買為佳。

9. 沒注意到深具歷史意義的著名景點就走過去?其實不太了解當地景點的京都人

除了被聯合國教科文組織指定為世界遺產的「古都京都文化財產」(17座寺院、神社、城池)之外,在街上有眾多歷史性著名景點的京都,也是世界聞名的觀光勝地。京都市內有數不盡的神社與寺院,正式登錄的神社約有800座,寺院則高達1,700座。京都身為日本的千年首都,有許多曾發生過歷史性事件的建築物與道路,因此可說街上到處都是著名景點。

但京都土生土長的市民其實很少注意到這些景點。當深具歷史價值到刊登在教科書上的神社佛閣從一出生就理所當然地存在自己的周遭,成為了日常生活中常見的光景時,說不定就很難感受到它的特別之處。就像是東京出生的人不曾登上東京鐵塔是一樣的道理呢。

京都對於遊客來說是個處處充滿驚奇的地方。不妨仔細巡遊城市的各個角落,充分感受連京都人也沒有注意到的京都之美吧!

10. 當地人也會慘叫?夏季悶熱潮濕、冬季嚴寒徹骨

京都為盆地地形,降雨量較少,冬夏、晝夜的溫差相當劇烈。夏天因高山擋住風導致天氣悶熱、日照強烈,冬天則是因為盆地地形造成冷風聚集其中,氣候非常寒冷,有種冷到腳底發麻的「徹骨」感受。

京都人為了能過得稍微舒適一點,想出了不少生活智慧。像是悶熱的夏季,會將坐墊的套子換成摸起來舒服乾爽的夏季布料,或掛起聲音聽起來很涼爽的風鈴。寒冬時,為了不生病,會食用京都當地盛產且營養價值豐富、品質優良的蔬菜。其中一個例子為現今仍留存下來、十二月獨有的慣例儀式,那就是會分送蔬菜燉煮而成的「大根焚(白蘿蔔湯)」與「南瓜供養」。

根據不同季節,京都的氣候有顯著的差異,旅行時記得事先確認當地氣溫與濕度。就算相同季節,因人口密度與天氣等時間和場合的不同,體感溫度也會改變,夏季與冬季時建議採洋蔥式穿法,做好充足的準備吧!

京都獨特的習俗在日本人之間也是個有趣的話題。雖然一開始會覺得有點困惑,但了解其真正的含義時,就能感受到京都深遠的歷史。讓京都深具魅力的不只是充滿日式風情的建築交織而成的景觀,還有在地人的生活本身。

除了以上介紹的習俗外,京都還有許多繁複的規則。您在旅途中會遇見幾種習俗呢?在與京都的街道及人群接觸時,不妨試著尋找看看吧!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

10 Unique Kyoto Customs That Even Japanese People Find Confusing

Kyoto was Japan’s capital for over 1,000 years, during which time it served as the country’s political and cultural center. Even today, domestic and international tourists flock to this city that’s overflowing with history in the form of its many shrines, temples, gardens, castles, and other historical sites. Kyoto also boasts its own unique culture that you won’t find in any other Japanese prefecture, and which largely remains a secret to outsiders. This hidden side of Kyoto is one of the things that make the old capital a one-of-a-kind jewel in the crown of Japan. The good news is that it’s possible to learn all of the city’s secret customs, which will help you avoid all sorts of trouble during a trip there and allow you to experience the real Kyoto. In this article, we’ll discuss 10 Kyoto customs and bits of knowledge that will help you think and enjoy the city like a true local!

Kyoto

Japanese Culture

Why Does Kyoto Have So Many Unique Customs? The Answer Lies in the City’s History!

Kyoto has so many deeply-rooted and unique rules and customs that even Japanese people from other prefectures lament about how difficult it is to live there. The reasons behind these rules and customs lie in how Kyoto developed during its 1,000-year-long history as the capital of Japan, which started all the way back in 794. You also have to examine how the city changed after Edo (modern-day Tokyo) became the capital in its place.

When Kyoto was the capital, it was the country's commercial, political, and cultural center that attracted people from all over the land. After Edo became the new capital of Japan, Kyoto continued to develop on the commerce front. In order to form better interpersonal relationships, which were incredibly important in business, the people of Kyoto created many unique rules to build stronger bonds of trust and to avoid conflicts with other people. Though some customs have faded over time due to the influx of tourists from all over the world, many are still implicitly shared and practiced among the locals today.

1. Trust Is More Important Than Money? Turning Away Unknown Customers

Kyoto City, with its plethora of shopping districts and tourist spots, is surprisingly so compact that you can easily get around it on a bicycle! There are many traditional stores that have been around for hundreds of years as well as locals whose families have lived in the same area for generations. In Kyoto, all the neighbors know each other well, and due to the strong relationships between them, rumors spread like wildfire, no matter whether they're good or bad.

Due to the above, Kyoto locals highly value trust. Even for shops, relationships with customers are extremely important, to the point where some stores will turn away first-time customers whom they don’t know. However, these first-timers may be admitted with an introduction from an existing customer that the shop already has ties with. Many stores have relaxed this rule over time, but some are still quite strict about it.

While this rule may seem a little bit much in the eyes of travelers, Kyoto locals would rather focus on building strong connections that bring long-term benefits over short-term profits. In recent years, however, it has gotten easier to visit these kinds of stores thanks to intermediary hotels or travel agencies. If the place you want to visit normally turns away first-time customers, there are businesses out there that can help you get in.

2. Being Vague and Avoiding Outright Saying Yes or No to Stay Out of Trouble

Over the 1,000 years that Kyoto was the capital of Japan, the city experienced countless wars and changes in government. It wasn't unusual to see someone flaunting their power and wealth one day, only to have them lose it all overnight. In such times, being close with someone who fell out of favor like that could lead to your downfall, too. So, in order to survive, Kyoto locals developed a culture of "being vague about which side you're on."

This vagueness works great for people who grew up in that culture, but it has been the source of a lot of frustration for outsiders visiting Kyoto. Let's say that you're having a meal with an acquaintance from Kyoto. If they said, "Thank you so much for always inviting me," wouldn't you think that they enjoy spending time with you? Well, in reality, they could be thinking, "I don't understand why they're always inviting me, but it's rude to just tell them to stop, so I'll just stay vague about it until they get the hint and stop.”

That’s why communicating with people from Kyoto goes beyond just words. You also have to observe their facial expressions and general vibe, which even Japanese people from outside the city can have trouble with! If you're still unsure about what a Kyoto local is thinking, sometimes it's best to just ask those around you or even the person themselves for clarification. They'll happily be honest with you if you ask politely.

3. If You're Served Ochazuke, Hurry Home Before You're Kicked Out!

Ochazuke is a simple Japanese dish made by pouring tea or broth over cooked rice. In Kyoto, it is sometimes called "bubu-zuke," as "bubu" is a regional word for “tea.” In Kyoto, a customer or guest may be asked if they'd like bubu-zuke right when they're getting ready to leave. Saying yes in that situation is a big social faux pas that can really sour the atmosphere. That’s because offering bubu-zuke is the Kyoto way of politely telling you to please go home.

However, a more positive theory about this strange custom states that offering ochazuke to guests is actually a formal though vague way of saying “I wish we could have talked more.” Like we said: Kyoto locals don’t like revealing their true intentions. So, if you’re ever offered ochazuke by a person from Kyoto, the polite thing to do is to refuse and say something like "Maybe another time. Goodbye!"

4. How Kyoto People Ride the Escalator: Do What the Person in Front of You Is Doing

How people ride the escalator differs from country to country, but did you know that in Japan it also differs by region? In Japan, it’s common to stand on one side to clear a path for those in a hurry. In Tokyo, you usually stand on the left, while in Osaka people tend to stand on the right. Other regions follow one or the other. However, in Kyoto, there are no hard rules about which side you should stand on. Instead, you follow the lead of the person in front of you.

So, when you're in Kyoto, have a look at which side is not moving before getting on the escalator. Also, if you're lugging around something big, make sure that it doesn't obstruct the other side. Furthermore, during busy times, expect both sides of the escalator to be occupied by standing people. In conclusion, while there are some basic rules to riding the escalator in Kyoto, it ultimately depends on the actual situation at hand.

5. On Festival Days, the City Buses Are Often Late

Japan's transportation system is known for its punctuality, but Kyoto city buses are an exception. Compared to other major cities like Tokyo and Osaka, Kyoto has very few train lines. Instead, they have many buses, which most people—both locals and tourists—rely on to get around the city each day. So it's not uncommon for buses to be late due to problems like travelers not knowing when to change buses, how to pay the fare, or how to deal with large luggage.

Another reason why buses can be late in Kyoto is the frequent occurrence of traditional events and festivals. Kyoto has a lot of seasonal celebrations such as the Gion Festival, during which buses detour from their usual routes or even stop in the middle of the street to allow crowds and festival floats to pass.

In cases like that, all you can really do is either wait patiently or try a different bus route. For most destinations, there are usually multiple ways of getting there. We recommend checking the official Subway/Bus Navi information to see all your options ahead of time. Also, these kinds of delays sometimes result in two buses arriving at a stop at the same time, so don’t be surprised if it happens to you.

Subway/Bus Navi (English, Front)
Subway/Bus Navi (English, Full Map)

*See other language options or the latest version of Subway/Bus Navi: https://www.city.kyoto.lg.jp/kotsu/page/0000019770.html

6. Most People in Kyoto Get Around on Bicycles

You’ll always see a lot of people riding around on bicycles in Kyoto. Compared to Tokyo, Kyoto is quite compact with flat terrain and roads arranged in a grid pattern, making it perfect for biking. Furthermore, since the city has a lot of narrow alleys and one-way roads and the city buses are often late, traveling by bicycle can be faster than by car or other forms of public transport. This is why a vast majority of Kyoto locals choose to get around on two wheels when commuting to school or work or when going shopping.

There are many bicycle rental places around Kyoto, so that’s how many travelers have been getting around the city in recent years. There's parking by most temples and shrines as well as paid parking areas throughout the city. Since many restaurants, cafes, knick-knack stores, and crafts shops in Kyoto are only accessible through narrow alleys, exploring Kyoto by bicycle is a sure way of unearthing some real treasures! It costs around 1,000 yen to rent a bicycle for a whole day, so why not give it a try the next time you're in Kyoto? You'll surely fall in love with how refreshing it feels to bike around this historic city.

7. Did You Know Very Few Geishas in Kyoto Are Locals?

One of the most uniquely Kyoto scenes imaginable is a geisha elegantly strolling around in a traditional kimono. But did you know that most of these women are not from Kyoto? They are often maiko—apprentice geishas between 15 and 20 years of age—who come from all over Japan to train at Kyoto's "okiya" geisha houses.

Also, please keep in mind that it's quite rare to come across a geisha or a maiko in Kyoto, especially during the day. That’s typically when geishas and maiko train, so most of the ones you see strolling around the city around noon are most likely travelers enjoying some type of “geisha for a day” experience.

To meet a real geisha or maiko, head to a tea shop in the hanamachi quarter (originally a red-light district; nowadays, the courtesan and geisha district). The cost varies wildly depending on the number of people, price of the food and drinks, fees for hiring the geisha, and the type of entertainment she offers, but, at a minimum, expect to spend over 20,000 yen per person. While that may seem expensive, it's a chance to experience something that you can’t get outside of Kyoto. Ryokan inns, ryotei restaurants, and travel agencies often have reasonably-priced plans for travelers, so why not go with them if you're unsure of where to start?

8. Ajari Mochi – An Affordable, Delicious Souvenir That Kyoto People Love

Ajari mochi is a famous Kyoto sweet dating back to 1856. This semi-baked confectionary is made from lovely, chewy dough that’s filled to the brim with delicious azuki red bean paste. It’s an incredibly popular souvenir among travelers and Kyoto locals.

The secret to ajari mochi’s popularity lies in its deliciousness, which is the result of only using carefully-selected ingredients to make the sweet. For example, the filling is made from red bean paste made specifically for ajari mochi through a production process where every step has been honed to perfection, from the selection of the beans to the flavoring and preparation. Furthermore, the store that came up with the sweet has done its best to not raise prices, so even today, a piece of ajari mochi costs only 119 yen! This combination of high quality and affordable price is what won over the notoriously discerning people of Kyoto, who are one of the most frequent buyers of ajari mochi.

If you're interested in buying some for yourself, don't wait until the end of the day! The sweets are available everywhere, from the original ajari mochi store and its many Kyoto branches, to department stores and even souvenir shops inside Kyoto Station, but it's not unheard of for them to sell out by evening during public holidays and the like.

9. Kyoto Locals Don't Know a Lot About Their Own City

Kyoto is a world-famous tourist destination full of historical wonders, such as the Historic Monuments of Ancient Kyoto, a UNESCO World Heritage Site that includes 17 temples, shrines, castles, and other monuments. Overall, there are 800 shrines and 1,700 temples officially registered in the city. Furthermore, owing to its 1,000-year-long history as the former capital of Japan, Kyoto is filled with a plethora of historically-significant buildings, roads, and other relics of the past.

However, despite the city's rich history, most of the people who were actually born and have lived their entire lives in Kyoto don't know about many of those spots. This is perhaps because, to them, they are just part of everyday Kyoto scenery, even though some of these places are famous enough to have appeared in textbooks. It's like how many Tokyo locals have never gone to the top of Tokyo Tower, which is equally surprising to Japanese people from other parts of the country.

To travelers, though, Kyoto is a treasure trove of places to explore, so travel around the city at your leisure and unearth parts of the city that even the locals haven’t discovered yet.

10. Even Kyoto Locals Can't Stand the City’s Scorching, Humid Summers and Freezing Winters

Kyoto is situated within a basin and doesn't get a lot of rain. As a result, the differences in temperature between summer and winter, as well as day and night, can be extreme. The mountains surrounding Kyoto block winds, so it gets especially humid and scorching in the summer. Then during winter, the cold air settles at the bottom of the basin, so the city becomes freezingly cold.

You need the right know-how to survive such extreme weather. In the summer, change out your cushions and bed covers to ones made out of smooth material specifically for summer weather, and hang up wind chimes to stay cool and relaxed. In the winter, consume lots of locally-grown, nutritious vegetables to keep your strength up. A few traditional events where you can sample simmered dishes made with such vegetables include "Daikodaki" and "Kabocha Kuyo," which are held every December.

As a traveler, you should make sure to check the humidity and temperature before coming to Kyoto. That being said, what you actually experience can drastically change depending on how crowded a place is or the weather that day, so just prepare yourself for multiple contingencies.

 

Kyoto is filled with customs that even other Japanese find peculiar. While it might take a bit to get used to the ways of the Kyoto locals, understanding the reasons and sentiments behind them is akin to getting to know Kyoto itself and its rich history and culture. After all, what makes Kyoto so attractive is not just the old-timey townscape, but also the people living there.

Of course, there are many more rules and customs in Kyoto than what we've detailed above, and you're bound to run into some of them during a visit to the city. And when you do, we hope that you will embrace them as a quirk of this fascinating city and continue to enjoy your time there.

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search