一日走遍中华街、红砖仓库等横滨必玩景点!横滨经典旅游行程!

横滨距离东京不远,只需搭电车即可抵达,有许多特别的观光景点,是一个值得放进你日本旅游清单的绝佳去处!如果对横滨旅游的安排没有头绪,那么推荐你可以参加优质的横滨旅游行程,从横滨中华街、合味道纪念馆到横滨湾周边散步等,经典观光景点精华全都在这里。本篇文章,将详细地为大家介绍编辑部一行人参加此趟横滨旅游的行程内容!

横滨

体验

※本文与关东运输局、当地自治体、铁道公司合作撰写。

横滨小知识

神奈川县横滨市是仅次于东京都特别区人口最多的大城市(截至2020年1月人口约有376万人)。虽然人口众多,但相较于东京的巨大蓬勃,邻近的横滨其存在常显得单薄渺小。但拥有深远历史背景的港湾都市横滨,是日本人非常喜爱的城市。不仅有历史建筑、新颖的美术馆、日本最大规模的中国城,还有璀璨夜景可欣赏。

除了有很多东京体验不到的特色景点,加上从东京车站只需30分钟、从涩谷搭东急东横线约30分钟、从羽田机场搭京滨急行也只需约30分钟,交通相当便利,让你从早到晚,无论观光、逛街还是文化体验,都能尽情享受横滨的独特魅力。此外,横滨也经常作为日剧的取景地,相信许多地方日剧迷应该都会有“这里好像在哪儿见过”的感觉!

这次参加的旅游行程中最大看头,就是能在一天走遍横滨最具代表性且推荐的观光景点,实际走过绝对不会辜负你的期待!加上导游详细解说,让你更能了解横滨魅力的小知识,全是只有参加才能获得的信息,使整趟旅程更加超值,编辑部一行人可是度过了非常满足的一天。希望能在本篇文章中,将走过的景点及在横滨必尝试的新鲜事都介绍给大家!

出发!集合地点——横滨高速铁道港未来站

这趟旅程的起点就在横滨高速铁道港未来站。此趟行程中大部分景点都位于横滨著名海湾区中称作“港未来”的地方,要前往此区交通最便捷的车站就是港未来站。抵达车站后,就能看到导游在检票口外迎接大家。彼此打过招呼,再听导游详细说明行程内容及针对新冠肺炎防疫注意事项后(整趟行程尽可能都戴着口罩),立刻前往第一个景点。

眺望横滨美景!横滨地标大厦

第一个景点就是横滨最高大楼——横滨地标大厦,其高度是紧接在东京晴空塔、东京铁塔、大阪阿倍野HARUKAS之后,是日本第四高的建筑物。由于横滨地标大厦拥有独特的外观,相当显眼好认。大楼下方楼层是商场,上层则是横滨皇家花园酒店。不过,今日行程的目的地是69楼的展望台。

前往69楼展望台前,首先值得关注的是这个速度飞快的电梯。笔者一行人全部都是第一次体验如此快速的电梯。这里跟其他展望台不同的是,在电梯里看不到外面风景。电梯以每分钟750米的速度上升,直达展望台只需20秒(下降也是同样速度,下降速度是全球第一!),所以如果看得到外面的话,可能就会变成恐怖电梯了吧。

从展望台看出去一览无遗的景观无比壮观,虽然说从东京铁塔与东京晴空塔眺望的景观也非常值得一看,但在横滨地标大厦更能看到其他地方看不到的风景,横滨地标大厦甚至也说不定能称作是日本最棒的展望台。会这么说是因为大厦本身就矗立在港湾旁,面相东南方一侧能将美丽的海景尽收眼底,同时还能俯瞰停泊在港边、具有历史价值的无数船只(旅程后半就会参观其中一艘船)。

然后从西南方一侧看出去,可看到在邻近的静冈县群山中巍然耸立的富士山。在横滨地标大厦的展望台,不仅能欣赏到海景与高楼并存的大城市,还能眺望日本最具盛名的名山群,从横滨地标大厦看到的景观,称作是日本最气派的景观之一也不为过。

另外,在65楼还有一个叫“开光庵”(皇家花园酒店内)的天空茶室,可以从这个日本最高茶室一边眺望美景一边体验茶道哦。

  

制作独一无二的速食面!合味道纪念馆

欣赏完横滨港湾美景后,下个目的地就是合味道纪念馆!现在来这里参观时,必须遵守防疫对策,入场都必须佩戴口罩,也有参观人数限制。

近年来,速食面(方便面)已成为全世界相当普遍的饮食,但你知道速食面其实是由日本人发明的吗?1958年日清食品的创始者安藤百福,在自家后院的小屋中发明了“瞬间油热干燥法”,再利用这项技术制作出全世界第一个速食面。这款瞬间爆红的“鸡汤拉面”,至今仍有很多店家在销售。制作出速食面的八年后,也就是1966年,安藤为了推广速食面至全世界而前往欧美考察,途中因为看到美国超市的负责人将鸡汤拉面掰碎放入纸杯中、拿着叉子吃面的样子,从这件事得到启发,因而在1971年发明出世界首创的杯面“合味道”,也再次引爆速食面市场的新潮流。合味道成功让速食面走向全球市场的新境界,至今仍旧以速食面界的先锋,确立不可撼动的地位。

日本只有两个合味道纪念馆,一个在也是速食面起源地的大阪府池田市,另一个就是位于横滨。在合味道纪念馆中有什么样的展示与体验呢?除了有“速食面历史方块展览厅”(自1958年推出鸡汤拉面以来,已有超过3000种速食面包装)等特别展览;还有忠实呈现当时样貌的研究小屋,可想像安藤发明速食面时的场景;以及为鼓励大家突破既定观念、跳出框架思考而设立的六个“创造思考厅”;还有最受欢迎的体验实际操作“我的合味道工厂”。

在“我的合味道工厂”,可以制作全世界独一无二的原创“合味道”,将面与个人喜爱的汤头和配料放入自己设计的面杯中,完成后再经过封膜包装与装入袋子后充气,只需400日元就能将它带回家!现在回想起来,这个应该可以说是最有趣的伴手礼,而且只在合味道纪念馆才有哦!

另外,还有个称作NOODLES BAZAAR 面条街的特别的美食广场。这里提供了八个国家的面食料理,都是安藤百福为了探寻面条起源走访世界各地时品尝过的面食。但由于要前往下一个目的地的关系,因此午餐就决定在横滨最具代表性的建筑中享用。

建筑之美别具风情,享受惬意时光——横滨红砖仓库

横滨红砖仓库里有很多销售当地工艺品或横滨伴手礼等的特色商店,此外也有很多好吃的餐厅。红砖仓库也是相当具有历史韵味的建筑,光是在里面逛着欣赏建筑物本身的构造也让人觉得兴味盎然。此外还有透明玻璃制成的地板用来展示过去的建材,建筑物的历史介绍也附有多种语言翻译,让游客更能体会其中奥秘。

横滨是日本锁国结束后,最早开放海外贸易大门的港口之一。二号馆于1911年建立,一号馆则建于1913年,原先是为了保管海外贸易船只卸下的货物而建造的保税仓库。过去百年来,这两栋红砖建筑曾历经无数动荡的时代,例如一号馆曾在1923年因关东大地震而严重受损、1940至50年代曾被美国军队司令总部占据等。1980年红砖仓库从海关事务所及仓库的角色退役后,相当幸运地由横滨市接手买下,并以建立新兴都市为目标,将其编入“港湾未来21事业”当中。历时十年所需实施的修整工程,除了结构补强外,为了能保留建筑物本身的历史记忆,在各个角落都有留下创建当年的建材痕迹。建筑外观使用了四种烧制程度不同的砖块,其中有着些许深黑色的烧砖,因为其防水性高的特质,所以能在地基与窗台上看到这类型的砖块。2002年横滨红砖仓库终于以现在所看到的样貌重新启用,也立即跃身为横滨绝不能错过的观光景点。

除此之外,因为红砖仓库对日本产业现代化有极大的贡献,2007年经济产业省也将其认定为横滨港发展进步缘由的近代化产业遗产群之一。2010年还获得“联合国教科文组织亚太区文化遗产保护奖”的奖项。

在各层楼的店家到处逛逛后,笔者一行人边休息边简单地享用横滨知名美食当午餐。这里的用餐空间就跟美食广场一样,在众多餐厅中选择自己喜欢的美食,再拿到公共用餐座位享用。补充满满的能量后,接着准备前往下一个目的地,也就是横滨另一个标志性景点——冰川丸。

搭乘日本邮轮冰川丸号,走进豪华邮轮历史记忆!

接下来的行程是参观固定停靠横滨港的大型船冰川丸。冰川丸于1930年建造,曾航行横滨与西雅图间的北太平洋航线,第二次世界大战时征用的外航船都被击沉,战后唯一幸存的只有这艘冰川丸,之后才重回西雅图航线的客船身份,再次大显身手。另外,还有一位搭乘过冰川丸最知名的乘客——查理・卓别林,因为电影“城市之光”造访日本后,回国时就是搭乘冰川丸。

如今,冰川丸可以说是从豪华客船转变为停靠港湾的博物馆最典型案例。

往下走进船内金属打造的长廊,瞬间仿佛时间静止般,还可一探仍旧保持当年的客房样貌,内心十分激动澎湃。客房分成头等舱至三等舱,乘客因客房等级分别在不同居住区,而客房等级的差异更是一目了然!在三等舱客房的小小空间中,摆满了多个上下铺。住在此区的乘客,不仅在船内能走动的区域有限制之外,也只有公用厕所能使用。

相较之下,头等舱客房有单人床铺、书桌、有冷热水的流理台,设备相当齐全。当时,从横滨到西雅图的航线,头等舱的票价是500日元(约当时的250美元)。在那个时代的日本,如果以1000日元就能买下独栋住宅来说,乘坐冰川丸头等舱去旅行,是相当昂贵奢侈的一件事呢。

搭乘头等舱的乘客还能使用头等舱读书室,以及在头等舱餐厅品尝五星级餐厅提供的独特料理。船内实在有太多可看之处,但不用担心,导游会介绍船内最精彩及最有趣的事物,还有许多网络上查不到的小知识,真的收获很多。此外,这次还特别开放平时无法进入的船尾区域给大家参观,这里是一个能不受任何干扰的最佳拍照区。

不仅只是从码头拍摄冰川丸的英姿,而是能实际走进船内,近距离亲眼欣赏保存良好的历史足迹,实在非常超值。在船中走了一阵子后开始觉得有点饿了,这可饿得真是时候,因为下个目的地就能品尝到各种美食啦!

来横滨怎能少了这里!知名美食大集合——横滨中华街

行程的最后一站是横滨非常重要的景点,从冰川丸的停靠点徒步就能抵达。慢慢走往目的地的路上,会很明显地发现四周的建筑景观逐渐改变。抵达后呈现在眼前的是装饰着鲜红与金黄色精致雕刻的中国式建筑。

稍微偏离人最多的街道后,出现的又是完全不同的街道气氛。街上挂满红色灯笼,各式各样的摊贩小吃美食,空气中充满诱惑的食物香气,这里就是横滨的中华街,也是日本最大的中华街。话说为何到日本旅行还要特地来中国城呢?其实就跟其他国家的中国城一样,横滨中华街不是照着中国原有的样子搬运过来,而是融合日本与中国两方文化后所产生的新样貌。有些食物虽然是中文名称,您也许会觉得跟故乡的味道有些不同,但在国外实际品尝中华料理,比较味道的差异,不仅激发新的灵感还能理解各国不同的价值观,这也正是旅行的一大乐趣所在!此外,这是的料理照着日本人口味调整过,因此造就了只有横滨中华街才有的融合中日滋味的独特美食!

在经过这些看起来都很好吃店家时,店员都会热情招呼客人进去用餐。如果只有笔者一行人的话,一定会无法招架就被吸引过去了,幸好在熟悉这里各样美食的导游陪伴之下,导游除了推荐可以试吃的店家之外,也会事先帮忙确认是否有人有食物过敏及饮食限制,让每个人都能放心地在推荐店家用餐。

走进的第一家店,很明显是一家知名店家,因为天花板架设的电视上,不断重复播放日本电视台节目拍摄介绍此店的片段。这里卖的是多种口味的蒸馒头,但导游则特别推荐大家吃吃看这里的“烧饼”。烧饼有两种不同的浓郁内馅(后来才发现是鱼翅……)。

第一种吃得到调味偏甜的纯粹美味,还有外皮惊人的酥脆口感。第二种则是起司口味,浓郁口感仿佛在吃起司锅一般。两种都十分好吃,越吃肚子越饿,也想赶快尝尝看其他美食。

接着介绍这里很多店家都有卖的美食,而笔者一行人吃的是这些店家当中导游最为推荐的名店。这项美食就是有满满汤汁的“生煎小笼包”,不同于一般用蒸的小笼包,这家店则是将小笼包拿下去煎。一面金黄酥脆,另一面香嫩多汁,可同时品尝到两种不同的全新口感。咬下去的瞬间,小笼包里流出令人惊艳的浓郁汤汁,推荐大家一定要一口品尝!

开始觉得饱的一行人,这时经过的店家中,发现有一家在卖跟笔者脸差不多大的炸鸡,实在是太吸引人了,绝对不能错过。在日本,说到炸鸡通常都是用一口大小的鸡肉(一般鸡肉)拿去油炸,但是这家店不同因为它卖的是“台湾炸鸡”。

除了大小尺寸与一口炸鸡差很多之外,口味也让人为之惊艳!在日本最常见的口味是盐味炸鸡,而这个台湾炸鸡则是加了一种叫茴香的独特香料,微微的甜味,一吃就上瘾,真的非常好吃。今天吃的美食中我最喜欢的就是炸鸡,不过还有很多其他美食也很想吃吃看,下次有机会在还吃得下前再来品尝吧。

行程圆满结束

吃饱后带着满足的心情,便走回中华街的正门入口处,与亲切和蔼的导游道别说再见。整趟旅程如此充实的景点行程,却只花不多不少刚刚好五个半小时的时间,剩下的午后及夜晚时光,就能随着个人安排继续游玩横滨。

本文介绍了从东京出发交通便利、拥有众多绝佳景点的港湾城市——横滨!您是否如文章开头所说,在这些景点当中找到了熟悉的日剧场景呢?大家以后有机会来到日本旅游时,不妨参加一下这样的行程,通过美景、体验、美食,满足你的身心灵!

愉快的横滨行程结束后

横滨其他区域也有丰富的夜间活动可选择。白天愉快的行程结束后,看着夜晚点起灯的街道回想今日的旅程,再到附近的饭店充分休息放松,如此悠闲地度过一天是不是很棒呢?

1)见港湾丘公园

https://www.yokohamajapan.com/cn/things-to-do/detail.php?bbid=182

2)横滨港湾未来万叶俱乐部

这是一家能享受到多种温泉设施的住宿饭店。在展望足汤庭园还可以眺望横滨街景,十分推荐。

https://www.yokohamajapan.com/cn/things-to-do/detail.php?bbid=609

在畅游横滨攻略网页中还有其他丰富的内容介绍!请根据自己喜欢的旅程方式搜索看看吧。

http:// https://www.yokohamajapan.com/cn/things-to-do/T05.php

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Experience All the Best Things to Do in Yokohama in One Day! Classic Yokohama Tour!

Yokohama is just a short train ride away from Tokyo and has some truly special activities that make it worth adding as a stop on your Japan trip! If you're wondering how best to use your time in the city, we recommend taking a classic tour of Yokohama, which hits all of the best spots in one day, including Yokohama Chinatown, the CUPNOODLES Museum, and activities around Yokohama Bay. We went on a tour when visiting Yokohama, and will share our experience in this article!

Yokohama

Things to Do

*This article was written in collaboration with the Kanto District Transport Bureau, local governments, and local railway companies.

About Yokohama - Japan's Second-Largest City

Despite being Japan's second-largest city by population (with roughly 3.7 million inhabitants as of January, 2020), Yokohama in Kanagawa Prefecture is sometimes overshadowed by its gigantic neighbor Tokyo. However, Yokohama has an interesting history as a major port city and is home to historic buildings, interesting museums, Japan's largest Chinatown, and some truly beautiful nighttime scenery, making it a popular destination among Japanese people. Located just 30 minutes away from Tokyo Station, 30 minutes from Shibuya Station on the Tokyu Toyoko Line, and 30 minutes from Haneda Airport via the Keikyu Line, Yokohama is easily accessible and has many unique experiences to offer that can't be had in Tokyo. From shopping to cultural experiences, it is a fun city to spend time in from morning into the night.

We were told that the tour we participated in would pack many of the most iconic sights and best things to do in Yokohama into one tour, and we were not disappointed! Having a guide to lead us on the most efficient route and give us fascinating tidbits of information about Yokohama that we wouldn't have known otherwise was well worth it, and we finished the tour feeling very satisfied. Read on to see where we went and learn a bit about some of the coolest things to do in Yokohama!

The Tour Begins! Meeting Up at Minatomirai Station

Our tour started at Minatomirai Station on the Minatomirai Line, just two stops from JR Yokohama Station. Minato Mirai is the name for the iconic waterfront area where most of the tour spots are located, and this is the most convenient station for getting there. Our guide was waiting for us right outside of the ticket gates. After a friendly greeting and a brief explanation of the tour and COVID-19 safety precautions (we would be wearing masks for the whole time), we headed right on our way to the first location on the tour: the Landmark Tower.

Take In Yokohama's Gorgeous Scenery from Atop the Yokohama Landmark Tower

The first stop on the tour was the Yokohama Landmark Tower, the tallest building in Yokohama and the 4th-tallest building in Japan after Tokyo Skytree, Tokyo Tower, and Osaka's Abeno Harukas. The bold shape of the 296-meter tower makes it instantly recognizable in photos of Yokyohama's skyline. The tower is home to a shopping mall on the lower floors and the Yokohama Royal Park Hotel on the upper floors. Today, however, our destination was the observation deck on the 69th floor. 

The first thing to mention about the observation deck is the blistering speed of the elevator that takes you up, which felt like the fastest that any of us had ever been in. Unlike some other observation towers, there are no windows in the elevator—which is probably for the best as it probably would have been terrifying to look out a window as it reached a speed of 750 meters per minute and went all the way from the second floor to the 69th floor in just 20 seconds! (The speed while descending is the same and is actually the fastest in the world!) 

The unobstructed view from the observatory was spectacular. We had seen the views from Tokyo Tower and Tokyo Skytree before, which are both worth seeing. Yokohama Landmark Tower's view offers a few things that the others don't, though, and it just might be the best observatory in Japan because of these. First, being located right on the bay, there are gorgeous unobstructed views of the ocean from the southeastern window and bird's eye views of the historical ships harbored in the port below (one of which we visit later in the tour).

Next, looking from the southwestern window, we could see Mount Fuji peaking up above the surrounding mountains in neighboring Shizuoka Prefecture. This combination of ocean scenery, sprawling metropolis, and Japan's most famous mountain all from one lookout make the Yokohama Landmark Tower one of the coolest views in Japan.

Incidentally, the 65th floor of the building (inside the Yokohama Royal Park Hotel) is home to a tea house called "Kaikoan," which is the highest tea room in all of Japan and offers a unique Japanese tea experience! 

Make Your Custom CUP NOODLES at the CUPNOODLES MUSEUM!

After getting a birds-eye view of the area around Yokohama Bay, we headed to our next destination—the CUPNOODLES Museum! The museum is currently taking several measures to prevent the spread of COVID-19, including enforcing mask usage and limiting the number of visitors inside, among other things.

Instant noodles are fairly ubiquitous around the world these days, but did you know that they were invented here in Japan? In 1958, the founder of Nissin Food Products, Momofuku Ando, developed the world's first instant noodles which used a new flash-frying technique that Ando invented in a shed in his backyard. The noodles, called "Chicken Ramen," became an instant hit and can still be found in stores today.

8 years later in 1966, Ando visited some buyers at an American supermarket. There, he saw the managers in the office breaking the Chicken Ramen noodles into paper cups, pouring hot water over the noodles, and eating them with a fork. This observation inspired Ando to once again innovate, leading to the invention of the world's first cup noodle product, dubbed "CUP NOODLES" in 1971. CUP NOODLES took instant noodles to a new level worldwide and remains a pioneer of instant noodles today. 

There are two CUPNOODLES MUSEUMS in Japan; one in Ikeda City, Osaka Prefecture, the birthplace of instant ramen; and the one here in Yokohama. What can you do at the CUPNOODLES Museum, you might ask? Well, in addition to some unique exhibits such as the Instant Noodles History Cube (with 3,000+ instant noodles packages dating back as far as 1958), a perfect recreation of the shed in Ando's backyard where instant noodles were invented, and six "Creative Thinking Boxes" that are intended to inspire visitors to think outside of the box (ironically)—the most popular attraction is the My CUPNOODLES Factory. 

This experience lets you create your very own, one-of-a-kind CUP NOODLES, by adding noodles to a cup that you design yourself and choosing your desired soup flavor from a choice of four flavors and four toppings from a choice of twelve. You can then package it up and put it inside an inflatable, balloon-like satchel to take it home with you for just 400 yen! It's one of the coolest souvenirs you can imagine and is only available at the CUPNOODLES Museum!

There is also a special food attraction called the NOODLES BAZAAR -WORLD NOODLES ROAD-, which serves 8 different pasta dishes that Momofuku Ando encountered during his travels around the world in search of the origins of different types of noodles. However, we chose to continue on to have lunch at our next destination and one of Osaka's most iconic buildings.

Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse

Yokohama's Red Brick Warehouse houses a very unique collection of shops selling various goods such as local crafts and Yokohama souvenirs, and also features many delicious restaurants. Also, being a historical landmark, just walking around inside and looking at the construction of the building was interesting in itself. There are even windows cut into the floor in many places, displaying original building materials and introducing the fascinating history of the building on multi-lingual plaques. 

Yokohama was one of Japan's first ports opened to international trade after a long period of isolation, and the warehouses were originally built in 1911 and 1903 as customs houses storing goods being offloaded from overseas trading vessels. Over the last century, the brick buildings went through many turbulent times, including Warehouse No.1 being half-destroyed in the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923, and being occupied and used as military headquarters for the U.S. troops during the 40s and 50s. Luckily, after the original use of the buildings as a customs house and warehouse ended in the 80s, the building was purchased by the city of Yokohama and incorporated into a construction project called the Minato Mirai 21. During a 10-year renovation, the buildings were reinforced to meet modern building codes while utilizing the original materials and preserving the history of the buildings. On the buildings' exterior, four types of bricks fired to different degrees can be seen, the darkest of which has superior moisture resistance and was used for the foundation and trim around the windows. The warehouses were finally reopened in their current form in 2002 and quickly became a must-visit destination in Yokohama. 

In 2007, the Yokohama Red Brick Warehouse was recognized for its important contribution to Japan's industrial modernization and gained the designation of "Heritage of Industrial Modernization" by the Ministry of Economy, Trade and Finance. Then in 2010, they received the UNESCO Asia-Pacific Heritage Award for Cultural Heritage Conservation.

After browsing through the stores in the multi-level complex, we took a break and had a light lunch of local Yokohama specialties. Much like a food court, there was a shared dining space, meaning each of us could choose the food of our choice from among the countless options. After recharging, it was time to head on to our next destination, the Hikawa Maru—another of Yokohama's icons.

Hikawa Maru - Experience History Aboard a Luxury Passenger Liner

Our next stop on the tour was the Hikawa Maru, a large ship permanently anchored in Yokokohama's harbor. Finished in 1930, the Hikawa Maru used to sail on a route between Yokohama and Seattle before being converted for use in Japanese navy's fleet during World War Two. While most other passenger liners of the time were sunk during the war, the Hikawa Maru alone survived and was again put to use as a passenger liner after the war. Another notable tidbit about the Hikawa Maru is that it carried legendary American actor Charlie Chaplin on his return voyage from Japan, where he visited after the release of his movie "City Lights." 

Today, the Hikawa Maru remains a pristine example of a luxury liner passenger ship that has been turned into a floating museum! 

It was fascinating to walk down the long metal hallways of the ship and peer into guest rooms frozen in time. Passenger cabins ranged from first to third class, and the common areas for passengers of each class were separate as well. We noticed right away that the difference in accommodation between the classes was quite stark! The third-class cabins featured many sparse bunk beds crammed into a small space with little else. These passengers were restricted as to which areas of the ship they were allowed to visit, and had to use a public bathroom.

In contrast, the first-class cabins were replete with individual beds, a table, and a sink with running hot and cold water. At the time, these cabins went for a premium price of 500 yen for a trip from Yokohama to Seattle (equivalent to 250 U.S. dollars at the time). If you consider that you could buy a house in Japan for 1,000 yen back then, you can get an idea of just how expensive and luxurious a first-class trip on the Hikawa Maru really was. 

First-class passengers also had access to the first-class reading lounge and first-class dining room, which served notoriously delicious food the likes of which you would expect from a 5-star restaurant. There was almost too much to see on the ship, but our guide was great at pointing out the most interesting things and giving us extra information that we wouldn't have learned otherwise. Also, this time, we got special access to a typically off-limits area at the back of the ship which was perfect for taking unobstructed photos!

Rather than just taking photos of the Hikawa Maru from down below on the shore, it really was worth it to go inside and see the beautifully-preserved piece of history up close. Walking around the ship made us start to feel a little hungry, which was perfect as our next stop was all about food!

Yokohama Chinatown - A Must-Visit Yokohama Destination for Delicious Food!

The last—but certainly not least—stop on the tour was a short walk from where the Hikawa Maru is anchored. As we got closer to the destination, there was a visible shift in the appearance of many of the surrounding buildings, which featured Chinese-style facades with bright red and gold colors and elaborate carvings. 

As we left the busy street and entered the pedestrian-only area of Chinatown, the atmosphere suddenly transformed into a totally different feeling, with red paper lanterns hanging above the street and the mouthwatering smells of various street foods wafting through the air. This is Yokohama's Chinatown, which happens to be the largest in Japan. Why come all the way to Japan to visit Chinatown, you might ask? Well, just like the Chinatowns in other countries, Yokohama's Chinatown is more of a blend of Japanese and Chinese cultures, rather than being just Chinese. The foods have Chinese names, but the flavors are geared towards the taste buds of Japanese people, making them unique to Yokohama Chinatown! 

We passed countless shops with so many delicious-looking foods on offer, and some shopkeepers would call out to us as we passed, trying to get us to eat there. It would have been a bit overwhelming if we were on our own. Thankfully, our guide was very familiar with all the foods on offer and gave us some wonderful suggestions of things to try while keeping in mind our food preferences and allergies.  

Our first stop was a shop that was apparently somewhat famous, as a TV screen on the ceiling was showing reruns of a Japanese TV show that visited the shop. There were so many different steamed buns for sale, but our guide recommended that we try the "shaopin," which were fried buns filled with two kinds of gooey filling (that I later realized was shark fin).

The first was plain, with a savory yet sweet taste and a wonderfully crispy outside. The second had cheese in it, and I can only compare it to fondue. Both were quite tasty and made us hungry to try more food!

Our next delicacy was something we had seen offered at many different shops, but our guide led us to the shop that he thought served the best version. It was pan fried "xiaolongbao," a soup-filled dumpling that is normally just steamed. These were golden and crispy on one side, and soft on the other, providing an interesting textural contrast. As you bite into it, incredibly flavorful soup instantly flows out, so I recommend eating it in one big bite!

We were starting to get full at this point, but a large piece of fried chicken the size of my face on display at one of the shops we passed was too tempting to pass up. It was on sale as "Taiwan karaage," (karaage is the Japanese word for fried bite-sized meats, usually chicken.

This was far from bite-sized, but the most surprising part was actually the taste! Japanese karaage is usually salty and savory, but this was seasoned with Taiwanese seasonings such as anise, giving it a slightly sweet, enchanting flavor that was absolutely amazing. This ended up being my favorite food that we tried, all though there were so many other things that I would like to try next time when my stomach isn't so full.

Time to Say Goodbye

With full, happy stomachs, we made our way back to the main gate into Chinatown and parted ways with our friendly guide. Although we packed a lot into the tour, it ended up being a very good length of about five and a half hours, and we still had the rest of the afternoon and evening to do as we pleased in Yokohama. 

So, what did you think? This has been an introduction of some of the amazing things to do in the port city of Yokohama. If you travel to Japan in the future, definitely consider taking this tour to see the beautiful sights, experience the history, and taste the scrumptious food for yourself!

After Finishing the Tour

The nearby area is a great place to enjoy some nighttime activities. After taking a tour during the daytime, why not take a stroll to see the illuminated city lights at the following locations before calling it a night at one of the nearby hotels?

Harbor View Park (Minato-no-Mieru Oka Koen)

If you're wondering where the best place to get a view of Yokohama at nighttime is, this is it! Harbor View Park features a lookout sport that offers stunning views of the Yokohama port and Yokohama Bay Bridge.

https://www.yokohamajapan.com/things-to-do/detail.php?bbid=182 

Yokohama Minatomirai Manyo Club

Yokohama Minatomirai Manyo Club is an onsen (hot spring) facility where you can relax in the waters and even stay overnight. We recommend enjoying the outdoor footbath with beautiful views of Yokohama's skyline.

https://www.yokohamajapan.com/things-to-do/detail.php?bbid=609 

If you're curious for more information about the amazing things to do in Yokohama, the YOKOHAMA OFFICIAL VISITORS' GUIDE is an excellent resource. Find the perfect activities for you and enjoy your trip to Yokohama!
https://www.yokohamajapan.com/things-to-do/T05.php 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search