【日本文化】日本的20種夏日印象

您是否有想過日本在夏天時會是什麼形象?我們即將藉由這篇文章讓您了解,這20種情形就是夏季日本該有的樣子!

日本

深度日本

1. 暑假時,國、高中生會到學校參加社團活動,或是準備學園祭

PIXTA

在漫長的暑假中,您會到學校去嗎?又會待多久呢?即便是暑假,日本的國、高中生在某些特定的日子還是會到學校參加社團活動或是進行學園祭的籌備。

2. 學生會參加暑期課程

PIXTA

不管是一般學校或是預備校,暑假時大多會針對有大學升學需求的學生推出夏季課程;其中,預備校的夏季課程往往很受歡迎,若您有興趣參加,記得提早報名,以免向隅。

3. 在盂蘭盆節時返鄉探望親友

PIXTA

盂蘭盆節(お盆)是佛教的節日,類似台灣的清明節,時間約是在每年的8/13~16間,通常會有數天的假期讓民眾返鄉祭祖,日本人也會藉這個機會拜訪親友。圖中由茄子或小黃瓜與筷子組成的物體稱為「精靈馬(精霊馬)」,日本人相信在先靈回到人間時,會以精靈馬作為移動的工具。

4. 打西瓜

hot-iwamura.com/

先把一個西瓜放置於地面,一個矇上眼睛的人要藉由周邊朋友的指示從距離3~4公尺遠處接近西瓜,並利用手中的棍子把西瓜「剖開」(或打爆),之後大家就可以和樂的享用西瓜──這樣的活動在日本其實有個專有名詞,就叫做「打西瓜(スイカ割り)。

5. 吃素麵

PIXTA

由麵粉製成的素麵,放入滾水後不需要太長時間即可撈起;為了避免變乾、口感變硬,會盛入放有冰塊的碗盤,再搭配用高湯稀釋的醬油食用,通常也會跟薑粉、紅薑、芝麻等配料一起吃。

6. 製作「流水素麵」

流水素麵(流しそうめん)是一種吃素麵的方式,方法是在對剖的竹子通道上讓素麵隨水流動,再用筷子夾起。

7. 因濕熱而夜不成眠

PIXTA

熾熱豔陽和高溼度,是日本夏天的特色,而且到了晚上會更加明顯──有個名詞「熱帶夜(熱帯夜)」,就是專門敘述在攝氏溫度仍達25度的夏夜,人們常會因濕熱而難以入睡;此時,除濕機就成了他們適應這種天氣的最好幫手。

8. 被蟬鳴攪擾

蟬鳴,可說是「夏季之聲」。堪稱「凌厲」的叫聲約會從7月持續到9月中;如果想觀察蟬而太接近牠們,幸運一點的人可能會遭受到排泄物攻擊!

9. 在地面上發現死去,或正在休息的蟬

PIXTA

當生命周期結束,縮起的足部會讓蟬從樹上掉到地上;不過,有時候牠們也可能只是在休息,或是因為其他因素而出現在地面上,此時您可以藉由是否發出「淒厲」的鳴叫聲來判斷這隻蟬是否活著。

10. 捉捕昆蟲

PIXTA

捉捕昆蟲(虫取り)對於日本孩童來說是很普遍的活動,目標通常是蟬、獨角仙、鍬形蟲、吉丁蟲以及蝴蝶、螳螂等等。

11. 到游泳池戲水

Motoya Kawasaki/Flickr

在日本,戲水的選擇很多,除了提供給社區住戶的25m標準泳池,您還可以到主題樂園享受不同形式的泳池。不過要特別留意的是,不管在哪裡遊客都會非常多,出遊的尖峰日人更可能滿到讓您看不到池裡的水。

12. 到海邊玩

除了泳池,想玩水還可以到海邊,不過可想而知一定也會有很多遊客。在某些地區,岸邊會有小販設攤,或是如圖中稱為「海之家(海の家)」的商店,通常會提供一些輕食、軟性/酒精類飲料,也可能販賣泳衣及泳圈。

13. 參加祭典

Masaki Tokutomi/Flickr

祭典(お祭り)指的是神道教的宗教儀式,同時也會舉辦類似「廟會」的活動。人們通常會穿著浴衣前往神社參拜、逛攤販吃吃喝喝、觀賞煙火表演,或是加入盂蘭盆舞(盆踊り)的行列、伴隨鼓聲一起度過歡樂美好的夏日夜晚。

14. 點焰火

Norio NAKAYAMA/Flickr

盛大的煙火固然很美,但欣賞小而美的焰火也不錯。在便利商店、超市或是普通商店就可以購入小型焰火,不過施放前請務必確認該地是否為容許燃放焰火的區域。

15. 吃刨冰

PIXTA

刨冰(かき氷)是日本夏天常見的甜點,可以在攤販或是商店內見到,有些店家甚至可以讓您自己決定上頭的糖水要加多少!除了最受歡迎的草莓之外,還有藍色夏威夷、哈密瓜、橘子、煉乳等多種口味可選。

16. 得到「冰淇淋頭痛」

PIXTA

這種頭痛並不普遍,但卻不容忽略,也無法避免,尤其當您是愛冰人士!不過,我們認為這是一種「不可或缺之痛」,您說呢?

17. 換上浴衣與木屐

PIXTA

浴衣(浴衣)是日本傳統的服飾,因其輕薄的特性,在古代其實是睡衣,現代則有很多種花色可供挑選,亦能做為外出服使用。搭配木屐(下駄,浴衣或和服都能搭)後就是完整的夏日裝扮。

18. 購入扇子或團扇

PIXTA

團扇(うちわ,如上圖所示)是用來手動產生風以讓人或物體降溫的工具,而下圖中的扇子(扇子)除了搧風之外,也能用來當作擺飾,或作為日本傳統舞蹈的道具之用。

PIXTA

19. 買風鈴

INVISIBLE A/Flickr

上圖內的風鈴(風鈴)是用線與切開的圓型玻璃球組成。穿過玻璃球的線上通常會裝上小道具,當被風吹動時,撞擊玻璃球壁就會發出清脆的聲音。

20. 打水

PIXTA

「打水(打ち水)」是一種為了達到降溫冷卻,而將水潑到住家附近地面上的動作,也可以製造出較為涼爽的室外環境。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

1. Middle and high school students go to school club practices or start to prepare school festivals.

How many days you go to school during summer break differs by school. In mine, we had a limited of days we could go to school for school festival preparations.

2. Students attend summer courses.

During the summer, schools and prep schools offer summer courses. These summer courses are normally for preparing for university entrance exams. Prep school summer courses can be very popular, so if you wanted to attend to a particular one, you had to register early. 

3. Visit your grandparents or relatives on Obon.

Obon (お盆) is a Buddhist event to worship the ancestors’ spirits. This is done on 7/15. Many people take days off around this day, and go to visit their parents, relatives or grandparents wherever they live. The eggplants and cucumbers with chopsticks shown in the image above is believed to be a vehicle for the ancestors to ride during their trip from the spirit world.

4. Crack open a watermelon.

Cracking open a watermelon, or Suika Wari (スイカ割り), is a game done in Japan. You place a watermelon on solid ground, and a blindfolded person with a stick stands 3 or 4 meters away from it. Then, the people around guide the person with their voices where the watermelon is. If they succeed, they can crack (or explode) the watermelon. Then everyone eats the broken watermelon.

5. Eat Somen.

Somen is a type of thin noodle made from flour. The boiling time is relatively short, and is served with ice in the plate to prevent it from sticking when dry. Somen is eaten with diluted soy sauce with dashi, and relishes such as ground ginger, Japanese ginger, sesame, and so on.

6. Do Nagashi Somen.

Nagashi Somen (流しそうめん) is eating Somen that runs down in streaming water in a half cut bamboo. Please watch the video (in Japanese, but you’ll get the idea) for further details.

7. Experience lack of sleep because of the humid nights.

Japan’s summer is all about blazing sunshine and high humidity. This becomes prominent during the nights. There’s even a word for it in Japanese, which is Nettaiya (熱帯夜). People adjust by using the timer on their air conditioning system. 

8. Get annoyed with cicadas.

Cicada noises are called the sounds of the summer season. Cicadas start their shrilling around July and end around mid-September. Some “lucky” people get peed on by cicadas if they go too near them.

9. Find a dead or resting cicada on the ground.

When cicadas die, their backs are on the ground, and their legs curl inside. When cicadas rest, or are just on the ground for some reason, they also lay on their back. You may be startled by a cicada shrilling at its max sound when you thought it was dead. 

10. Go insect hunting.

Insect hunting, called Mushitori (虫取り), is a popular game among Japanese children. Their hunting targets will be cicadas, rhinoceros beetles, stag beetles, buprestida jewel beetles, butterflies, mantises, and so on. 

11. Go to the pool.

You can go to the 25 m pool open for residents, or an amusement park with many different types of pools, it doesn’t matter. Because it will be full with so many people, on an extreme day you can only see people instead of water.

12. Go to the beach.

The same thing about pools goes for beaches. It can be very crowded. Some beaches have stalls or small shops called Umi no Ie (海の家), which is shown in the image above, where it serves light food, alcohol, drinks, and sells swimsuits and swimming rings. 

13. Go to Omatsuri.

Omatsuri (お祭り) is a Shinto ritual which is often an event for people to go to the Shinto shrine and have fun. Fun includes eating things from the stalls, wearing Yukata, watching the fireworks, joining the Bon Odori (盆踊り), which is a type of Japanese dance done to the beat of the drums, and so on.

14. Light fireworks.

Admiring large fireworks are great too, but lighting small fireworks on your own is also fun. You can purchase a set of fireworks in convenience stores, supermarkets, and variety stores. Be sure to check if the area authorizes fireworks.

15. Eat shaved ice.

Shaved ice, or Kakigo-ri (かき氷) in Japanese, are a popular snack in summertime in Japan. They are sold in stalls or stores. Some places let you put as much syrup on your shaved ice as you want. Popular syrup choices are strawberry, blue Hawaii, melon, orange, condensed milk, and so on.

16. Get an ice cream headache.

This physical discomfort is universal, but essential. It is also inevitable, if you have seen the image of the shaved ice in the topic above. But it is a necessary evil, don’t you think?

17. Wear Yukata and Geta.

Yukata (浴衣) is a traditional Japanese outfit. Since the fabric is thin, it was worn for night wear in the old times, but nowadays, it is okay to wear it outside. Yukata come in many different patterns and colors. If you want the whole outfit, wear a Geta (下駄), which is footwear worn with Yukata or Kimono.

18. Buy Uchiwa or Sensu.

Uchiwa (うちわ), as shown in the image above, is a tool used for fanning air to cool down a person or an object. Sensu (扇子), as shown in the image above, is also used not only to cool down something, but for decorative purposes or in traditional Japanese dance.

19. Buy Fu-rin.

Fu-rin (風鈴), as shown in the image above,  is a half cut glass dome with a string pulled through in its middle. The string has an object attached to it, so it produces a trinket sound whenever the string moves.

20. Do Uchimizu.

Uchimizu (打ち水) is an act to pour water on the area around your house. When the water evapourates, it will cool down the air around it, thus creating a cooler environment.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone