錢湯豪華升級版?潛入日本浴場的新樂園「超級錢湯」

有些人可能會覺得日本對於保持清潔這件事幾近偏執的著迷。這麼多年來,日本人針對衛浴設備進行無數次創新與改造,也造就許多不同種類的洗浴設施。 本文要重點介紹「超級錢湯(スーパー銭湯)」,這可能是這些創新中最偉大的創意之一。 這些設施以水療中心為主,加上各種浴缸、按摩椅,甚至還有可以過夜的設備。如果想以時尚的方式泡澡或沐浴,繼續閱讀本文了解有關這些以沐浴為主題且充滿趣味的樂園的資訊。

東京

玩樂

Klook.com

日本公共澡堂的歷史

「錢湯(日文寫作銭湯)」是一種傳統的日本公共浴所,顧客支付入場費即可在大型公共浴室內沐浴。

根據11世紀末、12世紀初寫成的《今昔物語集》,早在平安時代(794-1185 年)錢湯就已經存在。 不過要到二戰後錢湯才大受歡迎。當時很多家庭都沒有自家專屬的浴室,因此公眾開始使用澡堂來保持衛生清潔。在全盛時期,估計日本有超過20,000座錢湯。

現今全國僅剩下大約5,000處錢湯,其中大約有10%位於東京。儘管錢湯對於某些人來說仍然是生活必需(因為仍有部分歷史悠久的老屋和廉宜住宿仍無附浴室),但對於大多數人來說,錢湯已成一種日常消遣。因此除了普通的錢湯,現在還有許多不同種類的公共澡堂可供選擇,也包括光彩炫目的超級錢湯。

溫泉、錢湯和超級錢湯的區別

日本於2011年通過的《溫泉法》將「溫泉」定義為從地下源泉湧出,溫度至少為25˚C的天然水。該法律還針對水源裡的某些礦物質設定須達到的最低值,以便供應水源的設施合法地稱自己為溫泉。

而錢湯是由公共浴場法定義,但該法沒有具體說明設施可以或應該使用哪種水,因此人們普遍認為溫泉和錢湯之間的主要區別(超級錢湯亦同)是前者使用天然水而後者依靠自來水。不過有一些溫泉確實使用天然泉水,但是是從日本各地的溫泉地區運來。因此在某些情況下,溫泉和錢湯之間其實沒有那麼明顯的區別。

此外,法律還區分「錢湯」和「超級錢湯」。根據《公眾浴場法》,澡堂屬於「一般公眾浴場」,而超級錢湯則屬於「其他公眾浴場」類別。

真正將兩者區分開來的是它們運營的成本。錢湯的價格相對便宜。由於價格管制條例,入場費大約在400-600日幣左右。而超級錢湯旨在更大的空間內提供更多服務,因此可以收取1,000到5,000日幣不等的入場費用。

在超級錢湯可以享有什麼服務?

通常錢湯是簡易地設置在一棟分為兩個區域的小建築物中,一邊為男性,一邊則為女性。各區都包含公共浴池和淋浴設施,供人們洗潔身軀。

而超級錢湯往往是多層樓的設施,有許多不同的浴池可供選擇,其中也包括室內和室外,如以傳統的溫泉或古羅馬浴室為主體打造的浴池等。超級錢湯還可能提供足部水療、按摩浴缸、桑拿和真正的游泳池。

現在日本許多的超級錢湯都遠遠不止典型的澡堂服務,讓客人可以使用一排排的按摩椅、沙浴,甚至還有滿是漫畫的圖書區。有些甚至配有酒吧和餐廳!

雖然根據法律,超級錢湯被歸類為「其他公眾浴場」,但此分類並不能充分體現這些設施的規模,更準確的形容的話,更像以入浴為主題的遊樂園。

為什麼日本人這麼愛超級錢湯?

雖然對外國人而言,去一般錢湯就已經是一件很有趣的事了,但說到底也就只是去泡個澡。但是去超級錢湯的話,雖然價格上也貴一些,卻會得到更加完整、且體驗包羅萬象的經驗。比方說可以在泡湯之間,在酒吧區小酌一杯放鬆身心或在舒適的按摩椅上閱讀漫畫、入睡。

超級錢湯通常都會提供浴袍和毛巾,這也是它如此受歡迎的另一個主要原因。無需隨身攜帶任何入浴用品。幾乎所有客人需要的東西都已包含在入場費,這對於大多數一般的錢湯來說是沒有的服務。

對於一些當地人來說,在超級錢湯用實惠低廉的價格過夜、住宿也並不少見,這有許多不同的形式。有的超級錢湯會和商務飯店共用一棟樓,可以在那裡租個房間,然後隨時到洗浴區泡澡。有些則是配置膠囊床鋪或休息艙室,讓客人的休息區更靠近浴池區。比如半私人房間裡附上一張膠囊床、一個小儲物櫃和一張桌子,用窗簾與設施的其他部分稍加隔開。

還有一些地方為客人提供「休息室」,在共享空間中由一排排床組成,可以在那躺下打盹兒。不過在某些24小時營業的地方可能只是提供躺椅。

造訪超級錢湯時的注意事項

如果打算在超級錢湯過夜的話,請先查詢該設施有提供的住宿類型。如果你是需要一點隱私才能入睡的人,那麼半開放式或可以看到其他人的宿舍式臥室,可能就會無法提供你所需的休息。另外一般不需要自備毛巾或盥洗用品,這裡都有提供,但一定要帶上換洗的衣物。好不容易在熱水池中舒緩一整天的疲勞後,就別再換上放在置物櫃中,那些汗涔涔的濕衣服了。

除此之外,使用溫泉的規則也適用於所有超級錢湯湯。確保在進入浴池之前徹底清洗身體,不習慣熱水浴的人請慢慢進入。對於不習慣裸湯的人而言,可能需要做好心理準備會到看其他人裸露的身體,因為這裡通常禁止穿著毛巾進入浴池。頂多可以在頭上放一帖小毛巾來降溫。另外不要因好奇就盯著人家身體看,也不要把大浴池當成游泳池。浴池是拿來放鬆和休息,而不是讓水花四處飛濺的地方。

還有一點要注意的是,盡量遮蓋任何紋身。日本社會對刺青與紋身多半帶著有色眼光的風氣,同樣適用於大多數超級錢湯。有大量刺青、紋身且無法用人工皮膚或小毛巾等隱藏的客人,很有可能會被拒絕進入。

推薦的東京超級錢湯

Times Spa Resta

這個超級錢湯位於非常便利的地方,就在Times池袋停車場(タイムズステーション池袋駐車場)的10-12樓。是東京市中心一處隱秘的寧靜綠洲,為客人提供不同類型的室內外浴池(還有在客人享受溫泉時放映電影的浴池)、芬蘭式桑拿浴室、日光浴床和各種水療護理。

Raku Spa 1010 Kanda

位於神田的Raku Spa 1010共有三個浴池,其中包括日本為數不多的人工二氧化碳浴池。來到這個超級錢湯的客人還可以享受寬敞的桑拿浴室和1010 Dining & Pub,囊括酒吧美食到義大利麵或咖哩等,更不用說精選的精釀啤酒。享受泡澡和豐盛的晚餐後,何不拿起一本書,在吊床上放鬆一下,或者利用設施的水療護理舒緩平日的疲憊。如果想消耗一些卡路里,Raku Spa 1010還設有跑步機。無論喜歡用什麼方式放鬆,這個設施都能滿足你的需求。

也可以選擇在Raku Spa 1010 Kanda過夜,但在休閒區中,只有女性顧客可以使用床(特別是沙發床)。其他客人則可以使用躺椅。

在日本旅行期間前往超級錢湯吧!

體驗外國文化的方式有很多,比如大啖美食或拜訪著名的場所。但日本獨特的沐浴習俗讓你可以以一些最輕鬆的方式接近這個國家人民的精神。如果想在不出遠門的情況下,洗去煩惱並放鬆幾個小時,何不試著查詢離你最近的超級錢湯呢?

 

封面照片來源:PIXTA

關東特輯

本文資訊均以公開時為準。


作者簡介

Cezary
Cezary Strusiewicz
Klook.com

搜尋餐廳

Super Sento - Dive Into Japan’s Bath-Themed Amusement Parks

Some may call Japan a bit obsessed with cleanliness. Over the years, the Japanese have made countless innovations to the toilet and bath, creating many different kinds of bathing facilities. In this article, we focus on "super sento," which are perhaps the grandest of them all. These massive complexes are essentially giant spas with a variety of baths, massage chairs, and even a place to bunker down for the night. If you've ever wanted to soak or bathe in style, read on to learn more about these fun bath-themed amusement parks!

Tokyo

Things to Do

Help tsunagu write guidebook to restaurants in Japan! - CLICK TO LEARN MORE

The History of Public Bathhouses in Japan

A “sento” is a traditional Japanese bathhouse where guests pay an entrance fee to bathe in large communal baths.

According to the Konjaku Monogatarishu (Collection of Tales Now Past) from the late 11th/early 12th century, sento were already a thing as far back as the Heian period (794–1185). It wasn't until right after World War II, however, when sento exploded in popularity. Many homes did not have their own bath back then, so the public started to use sento as a way to keep themselves clean. During its heyday, it’s estimated that there were well over 20,000 sento in Japan.

Today, only about 5,000 sento remain, with about 10% of them being located in Tokyo. Though remaining a necessity for some, as historic houses and low-cost lodgings without bathrooms still exist, for most people they have grown into a national pastime. Instead of just the simple sento, you now have a variety of communal bathing options to choose from, including the glitzy super sento.

The Difference Between an Onsen, Sento, and Super Sento

Japan’s Hot Springs Act of 2011 defines an “onsen” as natural water gushing from an underground source with a temperature of at least 25˚C. The law also sets minimum thresholds for certain minerals that a water source must contain in order for a facility supplying it to legally call itself a hot spring resort.

Sento, on the other hand, are defined by the Public Bath House Act, which doesn’t specify what kind of water the facilities can use, so one would think that the main difference between an onsen and a sento (and, consequently, a super sento) is that the former uses natural water while the latter relies on public pipe water. However, some sento do actually use natural spring water, trucked in daily from onsen areas across Japan. So, in some cases, there’s no tangible difference between an onsen and a sento.

The law also distinguishes between a sento and a super sento. Under the Public Bath House Act, sento are considered “Ordinary Public Bathhouses” while super sento fall under the “Other Public Bathhouses” category.

But what really sets the two apart are their costs. Sento are relatively cheap, with their entrance fees hovering around 400-600 yen thanks to the Prices Control Ordinance. Super sento, on the other hand, offer many more services in a much larger space, so they can charge anywhere from 1,000 to 5,000 yen for entry.

What Can You Expect to Find at a Super Sento

A simple sento can easily fit into one small building divided into two areas, one for men and one for women, with each containing a single communal bath and a number of shower nooks for washing yourself.

Super sento, on the other hand, tend to be multi-story facilities with many different baths to choose from, both indoor and outdoor, that can be made to look like traditional onsen or an ancient Roman bathhouse, and so much more. Super sento may also offer foot spas, jacuzzis, saunas, and actual swimming pools.

Many super sento go far beyond typical bathhouse services, giving guests access to rows of massage chairs, sand baths, and even libraries full of manga comics. Some even come equipped with bars and restaurants!

The “Other Public Bathhouses” designation does little to fully capture the grand scale of these facilities, which are more akin to bath-themed amusement parks.

Why Japanese People Love Super Sento

A visit to a regular sento can be a lot of fun but, ultimately, it’s just a bath. A visit to a super sento is a whole, all-inclusive experience. All that extra money you pay to get into one of those places gets you so much more than a wider variety of baths. Relax with a drink at the bar area, or fall asleep while reading a comic in a comfy massage chair.

Throughout all this, you’ll be using bathrobes and towels provided by the facility, which is another one of the main reasons why super sento are so popular: you don’t need to bring anything with you. Nearly everything you’ll need is included in the price, which is something that can't be said for most regular sento.

It’s also not uncommon for some locals to use the super sento as cheap overnight accommodation. This can take many different forms. Some super sento will share a building with a business hotel, allowing you to rent a room there and go down to the bathing area whenever you want. Others bring your bed much closer to the water with capsule beds or cabins, which are semi-private rooms containing a capsule bed, a small locker, and a table, usually separated from the rest of the facility with a curtain. There are also places that offer guests “sleeping rooms,” consisting of rows of beds in a shared space where you can lie down and catch a few Zs. In some 24-hour places, though, all you’ll get is a reclining chair.

Things to be Mindful of When Visiting a Super Sento

If you’re planning to spend the night at a super sento, check what kind of accommodations they provide first. If you require a little bit of privacy to be able to sleep, hostel-like sleeping rooms where you’re constantly in full view of other people will not get you the rest you will need. You won’t need towels or toiletries as those are almost always provided by the facility, but definitely bring a change of clothing with you. After an entire day of relaxing in hot water, there is nothing worse than having to put on used, sweaty clothing that has been marinating in a hot locker.

Other than that, your standard sento and onsen rules apply at all super sento: make sure to wash yourself thoroughly before entering a bath, enter slowly if you’re not used to Japanese hot baths, don’t stare at people, and prepare to see a lot of exposed skin as it’s generally forbidden to enter a bath while wearing a towel. You can keep a small one on your head to cool down, but that’s it. Also, please do every foreigner living in Japan a huge favor and don’t treat a communal bath like a swimming pool! They’re just for relaxing, not for splashing around. Lastly, be sure to cover up any tattoos. Sadly, the stigma against tattoos in public places tends to extend to most super sento. Please note that visitors with extensive tattoos that can’t be hidden with bandages or small towels may be refused entry to a super sento.

Recommended Super Sento in Tokyo

Times Spa Resta

This super sento is located in the most unlikely of places, occupying floors 10 – 12 of the Times Station Ikebukuro parking garage. It's a hidden oasis of peace in the heart of Tokyo, offering guests different types of indoor and outdoor baths (including one that screens movies as guests enjoy their soak), a Finnish-style sauna, tanning beds, and various spa treatments.

Raku Spa 1010 Kanda

Raku Spa 1010 in Kanda boasts a total of three baths, including one of the few artificial carbon dioxide baths in Japan. Guests to this super sento can also enjoy its spacious sauna as well as the 1010 Dining & Pub serving everything from bar food to main course dishes like pasta or curry, not to mention a nice selection of craft beer. After a soak and a hearty meal, why not grab a book and relax in one of the sento’s hammocks or make use of the facility’s spa treatments? If, however, you’d like to burn off a few calories instead, Raku Spa 1010 also features a running station. No matter how you like to relax, this facility has you covered.

It is possible to spend the night at Raku Spa 1010 Kanda, but beds, specifically sofa beds, are only available to female customers in the compact relaxation area. Other guests can make use of reclining chairs.

Visiting a Super Sento During a Trip to Japan Makes Super Sense

There are many great ways to experience a foreign culture, like food or visiting its most famous landmarks. But Japan’s unique bathing customs allow you to get close to the spirit of the country in some of the most relaxing ways possible. If you want to wash your troubles away and relax for a few blissful hours without having to travel far, check out your nearest super sento!

 

Thumbnail: PIXTA

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Kanto Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.


About the author

Cezary
Cezary Strusiewicz

Related Interests

Restaurant Search