邊旅行也能邊省錢?小資女荷包保衛戰:訪日途中省錢秘訣、推薦伴手禮

難得遠赴日本旅遊一趟,總希望盡可能玩得暢快、買得不亦樂乎。這回,tsunagu Japan 繫日本編輯部向日本旅遊達人請教,如何在日本買得划算,以及推薦必買的日本伴手禮。事實上,只要您在購物時把握一些「要點」,就能讓原有的購物樂趣更上一層樓!當然這和小氣吝嗇無關,而是要和您分享輕鬆保衛荷包的方法;聰穎的您不妨參考本篇文章如何買得對、省得巧。

日本

實用資訊

※本文與NTT DOCOMO合作執筆撰寫。

日本人熱愛集點?稱呼「國民習慣」也不為過!

熟悉日本旅行的您,或許曾聽聞日本有許多的「集點服務」,事實上,這可是日本人日常購物中不可或缺的一大配件。

所謂的集點服務,為購物時可以儲存與消費金額相對應的點數,換言之,每一次消費都能獲得數%的點數,之後再兌換成現金回扣。這對日本人而言,早已是日常生活的一環,稱之為「國民習慣」也不為過。使用方式為購物結帳時,向店員出示集點卡或專用APP,如此即可累積點數(通常每100日幣可累積1點),之後點數額度會根據消費金額返還。除了隨處可見的便利商店外,餐廳、咖啡店、超市、髮廊、電影院、書店,甚至是花店,各式各樣的商店都推出集點服務。「一邊購物一邊間接地省錢!」這樣的消費方式早已與日本人的生活密不可分。

不過即使集點服務如此方便,對於不諳日語、不甚理解日本文化的海外旅客而言,可能不瞭解正確的使用方式,甚至可能得費心力去研究使用技巧。再者,即便知道了眾多商業設施皆提供集點服務,了解何種最好用也非易事。因此這回,除了為您解說聰明使用集點服務的方法,也特別為您推薦最適合外國人使用的「d POINT」。只要使用此服務,便能讓您在日本購物時享受非凡的樂趣。

關於d POINT・d POINT CLUB APP

為何在眾多集點服務中,要特別推薦您「d POINT」呢?最主要的原因便是其便利性。舉凡日本全國的松本清(藥妝店)、東急 HANDS(生活雜貨.日用品販賣店)、PLAZA(化妝品等販賣店)、LIFE(超市)、Animate(動漫遊戲週邊商品銷售連鎖店)、全家便利超商、美髮美甲沙龍、飯店住宿設施等等,d POINT 與多達200,000家店鋪合作,提供每消費100日幣即可獲得1點點數(部分店舖為200日幣可換1點)、1點點數可兌換1元日幣的福利。註冊d POINT會員後,即可輕鬆便利地著手划算省錢祕技,可謂最大魅力。

無論使用現金或信用卡付款,每次購物凡出示專用APP,即可累積點數,只要裡頭存有點數,等同您隨時都能用「優惠價」購物呢!

※可下載使用 d POINT CLUB APP 國家及地區:
台灣、香港、澳門、韓國、菲律賓、新加坡、澳洲、馬來西亞、泰國

d POINT CLUB會員註冊方法

使用方法相當簡單,您能於造訪日本前於自己的國家(請參考※)或在抵達日本後下載APP、登錄成為d POINT會員,即可享有點數服務。

請照以上步驟進行會員註冊。填寫電子郵件、設妥密碼、姓名、性別、出生年月日、居住地、電話號碼即可申請。

成為會員就可連上營運d POINT的日本大型手機公司DOCOMO的Wi-Fi,不論在機場、車站、餐廳、便利商店等指定地點都能免費使用,還能入手能在旅行上使用的好康特典。

另外,還能至指定地點獲得除日本以外也紅遍其他亞洲鄰國的可愛「POiNCO鸚鵡兄弟」(ポインコ兄弟)」鑰匙圈等免費禮品。重要的是買越多點數存越多,如此讓日本購物更加划算的服務,註冊沒有繁瑣手續也完全免費。欲讓訪日旅行更加省荷包,不妨就使用d POINT CLUB APP吧。

※可下載使用 d POINT CLUB APP 國家及地區:
台灣、香港、澳門、韓國、菲律賓、新加坡、澳洲、馬來西亞、泰國

在日本消費使用d POINT 真的比較划算嗎?訪日外國人購物實測趣!

文章前段說明了使用d POINT可獲得的好處,不過沒有實際用過,到底可以獲得多少優惠,想必很難想像吧!因此,接下來要為您實測使用集點服務。這次我們邀請訪日外國遊客實際在購物時試著使用d POINT,讓我們一起來看看到底是否真的如此划算。

以下將根據tsunagu Japan 繫日本所調查的 「訪日旅遊必敗伴手禮清單」,嚴選、購買如化妝品、生活用品、醫療品、旅行用品、土產、伴手禮等人氣商品,並為您介紹。到底d POINT如何越買越省,請您務必往下閱讀唷。

少女心滿溢!進口生活雜貨用品專賣店 PLAZA

擄獲日本女孩芳心的時尚舶來品專賣店「PLAZA」,主打時尚又不失可愛的繽紛活力風格,從彩妝品、生活雜貨、點心食品、文具、服飾配件到玩具,實用性高且時尚的品目繁多,包含日本的人氣化妝熱銷品,因此也獲得許多訪日外國旅客的青睞。經常踏入店裡一回神已是滿手戰利品,絕對是美妝控們不容錯過的尋寶好去處。

首要登場是上市後被譽為縮時保養秘密武器的「Saborino 早安面膜」,主張起床後僅需敷上一片,短短60秒便能完成洗臉、妝前保養、保濕打底等繁瑣步驟;對晨間時光分秒必爭的現代人而言最適不過。專為懶女孩打造的「晚安面膜」則為集化妝水、乳液、乳霜、精華液、面膜等5大睡前保養於一身的滋潤型保養聖品,就寢前可以省去複雜的保養程序,同樣享譽極高人氣。

開架彩妝界中的熱銷品牌,無論以不易脫妝而讓女孩愛不釋手的「EXCEL」眼影盤;有著優雅金管瓶身、強調透明感、潤唇好上色的「OPERA」渲漾水色唇膏;或在日本各個化妝品店被搶購一空、能滿足所有唇部狀態的「UZU 38℃ / 99℉」進化版護唇精華,以上三項超人氣推薦化妝品皆能在此一併購入。此外,還有可愛實用兼備的手帳本也不容錯過。從化妝品到日常使用的手帳筆記本,皆能為您的日常增添一點亮麗色彩!

PLAZA 消費金額・獲得點數:11,300日幣・d POINT 113點

質感生活提案!靈感百貨店 東急HANDS

日本人自不用說,在海外遊客圈中也為人熟稔的「東急HANDS」百貨店,不但能免稅,同時也能積累使用d POINT。「東急HANDS」致力為顧客提供生活靈感,充滿創意的人氣商品,囊括生活雜貨、化妝品、文具、廚房用品、DIY用品、旅行用品等。

 

近來,深受顧客青睞的銷量王,非日本行李箱品牌LOJEL莫屬。有「國民行李箱」之稱的LOJEL,特色是將專業工程力學與設計知識、完美結合旅人真實需求,其先是在國際市場闖出名號後,才逆輸入紅回日本。雖是日本品牌卻有殊於以往的歷程,自然受到了相當的矚目。其中,具備多格儲物空間、搭配掀蓋式設計的Cubo系列,無需將整個行李箱打開也能拿取物品,無論在家整理行李,或在機場拿取或收納物件時,都不需要佔用太多的空間,具有強大的實用性與超強收納力,非常適合小物件多或不擅收納的旅人。可以說是不論誰都能輕鬆使用的逸品呢!

 

日本按摩品牌「ATEX LOURDES」的輕薄型按摩靠墊,設計上很細緻入微,其因A4尺寸大小(長30cm X 寬21cm X 高16cm),便於隨身攜帶、機能性高等優點,至今已累積90萬台的驚人銷量,得以讓經常長時間維持同一姿勢的現代人偷得一點舒壓療癒。

日本百年洋傘老舖MOONBAT的旗下新創品牌「estaa」,以傳統與革新並存為設計圭臬,其推出的晴雨兼用折疊傘,因骨架輕量健壯、花色多樣紛呈,實用美感兼具,在訪日觀光客中特別搶手,是一款無論男女老少都給予極高評價的產品。

最近在日本爆紅的迷你保溫杯,其中特別人氣的品牌非佳評如潮「nao sudou迷你保溫杯」莫屬。190ml的容量(高16cm X 直徑4cm)可輕鬆收納於包包裡;除了質感單色系列,亦有療癒可愛的動物水彩圖樣搭配粉嫩色系的款式。集瓶身、花樣或可愛感於一身,送禮自用皆宜。

東急 HANDS 消費金額・獲得點數:38660日幣・d POINT 386點

超人氣藥妝連鎖店 松本清

以鮮豔醒目的黃藍色招牌深植人心的松本清,您一定不陌生。作為超人氣的藥妝連鎖店,分店多、品項眾多是最大特色,且店裡常駐精通中文的店員、提供免稅服務,對遊客而言相當體貼便捷,更棒的是,在這裡消費也能累積d POINT點數。

在松本清除了入手市面上常見的暢銷藥妝品,其實還有諸多與知名藥廠、美妝大廠攜手推出的自有品牌系列商品,因高效能而普遍獲得好評,同樣值得您挖掘。

例如,與創業已有120年歷史的奧田製藥共同開發的「Dipashio EX 解熱鎮痛藥」,便是一款深受常客喜愛、熱銷不斷的人氣寵兒,以能迅速舒緩牙痛、喉嚨痛、頭痛、生理痛、肌肉痠痛、關節痛、肩頸痛、腰痛等眾多緊急症狀聞名,小顆粒的藥丸也方便吞嚥,無論旅行時身體不適,或買回國、放置家裡當常備藥等皆行。

與滋賀縣製藥合作的「WACOALIS FX 勁涼眼藥水」,含有維他命B6成分,能促進新陳代謝、維持眼部水潤,並抑制眼睛充血、幫助消除疲勞感與視線模糊症狀、減緩因紫外線而引起的眼疾等。CP值與機能兼備,喜愛涼感的您請一定要嘗試。

若想購入日本感冒成藥,則可參考松本清與日本製藥業巨擘第一三共合作、發售的「Pelak綜合感冒藥顆」。從三歲到成人皆能服用,可以減緩喉嚨痛、咳嗽、流鼻涕、鼻塞、發燒、體寒、頭痛、關節痛、肌肉痛等症狀。由於是個別包裝,相當便於攜帶。

松本清消費金額・獲得點數:2524日幣・d POINT 25點

※截至目前為止
PLAZA:d POINT 113點
東急 HANDS:d POINT 386點
松本清:d POINT 25點
以上3間店舖共賺得 524點

賺得的d POINT用來買土產!散裝伴手禮最佳購物地 大型連鎖超市 LIFE

以關東與關西區域為中心據地而展開的大型連鎖超市 LIFE﹐因生鮮食材新鮮衛生、內裝明亮整潔,從小菜、便當等食品到飲料、零食、即食製品應有盡有,加上積極開發自有品牌「スマイルライフ」商品,緊貼著當地人的日常生活,不僅是附近主婦的好鄰居,也吸引許多海外遊客前來挖寶。

每間店鋪皆能以信用卡支付,也備有半自助結帳機,可選擇日文、英文或中文模式(僅限東京),不必擔心與日本店員無法溝通。在東京地區的CENTRAL SQUARE押上駅前店與淺草店兩間店鋪,還可享有免稅優惠;在大阪地區則是CENTRAL SQUARE難波店提供免稅服務。若有機會到附近觀光時,不妨來此順便採買伴手禮。

平價可口、品項豐富的零食點心是極佳的伴手禮選擇,如濃郁滑順的牛奶巧克力包覆完整杏仁果的「明治杏仁巧克力球」;在全球享有知名度、無論大人孩童都鍾愛的「KIT KAT巧克力」,格外推薦使用宇治抹茶的「大人的甘甜 抹茶風味」,與加入茶葉和2倍抹茶用量的「濃抹茶風味」,在外國旅客中特別享譽人氣。

另外,果汁含量高達31%的「奢侈搾汁桃子燒酒」,溫和濃醇的蜜桃風味中,帶有適度的甜味以及豐潤香氣,宛如暢飲真實果汁,容易入口。可口可樂在日本發售的燒酒飲料「檸檬堂」,則推薦給飲酒愛好者,以日本燒酒、檸檬汁和蘇打水調和而成,有「經典檸檬」、「鹽漬檸檬」和「蜂蜜檸檬」 、「鬼檸檬(濃度稍強的檸檬沙瓦)」4種口味,酒精含量為3%~9%不等。可以品嚐到日本風味的酒款,有機會的話務必要試一試呢。

此外,在日本與亞洲圈中特別受到歡迎的喉糖「龍角散」、適合作為下酒零食的起司條「チータラ」,以及焙茶粉、抹茶粉皆能在此買齊。

→在LIFE 消費金額為 3,388日幣,使用 d POINT 付款可折抵524日幣,剩餘的2,864日幣以現金支付。
此外又獲得 d POINT 14點(LIFE超市為消費每滿200日幣,即可獲贈d POINT 1點)

※上述價格皆為攝影時的商品價格
※販售商品會因店鋪不同有所差異。

一卡在手,優惠無窮 d POINT CLUB APP

看完上述的介紹後覺得如何呢?是否讓您清楚了解在日本購物時,使用d POINT CLUB APP與未使用的差別呢?此外,註冊d POINT在日常購物與消費化為點數累,不僅能兌換成日幣使用,還能享有以下的特別優惠喔。

成為d POINT CLUB會員獨享4大誘人福利!

1. 可於訪日前於自己的國家下載APP並註冊成為d POINT CLUB會員。(※可下載d POINT CLUB APP的地方:台灣、香港、澳門、韓國、菲律賓、新加坡、澳洲、馬來西亞、泰國)

2. 獲得d POINT CLUB會員限定的商店優惠券。如機場與旅宿間的宅配服務JAL ABC 可享85折、知名訂房網站 Booking.com 可享多達10%現金回饋、美食、商品或服務有最大能享5折優惠等等許多會員獨享的超值優惠。

3. 免費使用docomo的Wi-Fi服務,不論在機場、車站、餐廳、便利商店等指定地點都能免費使用。

4. 免費獲得在日本與海外人氣響當當的d POINT吉祥物「POiNCO鸚鵡兄弟」(ポインコ兄弟)相關周邊禮品——手機吊飾、3色原子筆、野餐墊、A5筆記本,四款任選一。(※主辦單位隨時保有更換禮品內容之權益)

結語

您不妨參考本篇文章,在下次造訪日本旅行之際,嘗試使用d POINT CLUB APP,聰明地消費購物吧!

※可下載使用 d POINT CLUB APP 國家及地區:
台灣、香港、澳門、韓國、菲律賓、新加坡、澳洲、馬來西亞、泰國

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

How to Save Money Traveling in Japan: Money Saving Secrets and Amazing Souvenirs From Japan

When you're in Japan, you'll want to take advantage of all the great shopping here! So, we asked a Japanese travel expert about easy ways travelers can save money in Japan and got some tips for bargain shopping as well as recommendations for top souvenirs to pick up while here. This article will introduce a way for you to easily save money without having to cut corners by earning points on your regular shopping. You’ll have all the more fun while you save! Be smart and save by using the tips from this article to get discounts while you shop in Japan.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

*Article written in collaboration with NTT DOCOMO.

Japan Loves Points? Earning Loyalty Points is a National Hobby in Japan

If you’ve traveled much in Japan, you probably already know that there are many different point services that, for many Japanese people, are indispensable for day-to-day shopping. These point schemes allow you to earn points based on your spending. In other words, it's a cashback system where a certain percentage of your total is returned in the form of points. This is an everyday practice that's so popular, some call it a national hobby in Japan. 

This is how it works: just show your point card or points app when doing your ordinary shopping to earn points based on the total spent (typically calculated at 1 point per 100 yen spent). Convenience stores are at the top of the list, but there is a wide range of stores that offer points services, including restaurants, cafes, supermarkets, hair salons, cinemas, bookstores, florists, and more. This smart system that allows you to save money while you shop has taken root as an everyday part of Japanese people’s lifestyles. 

However, for visitors in Japan who can't speak Japanese or aren’t too familiar with Japanese culture, signing up and using a points service can seem like a Herculean task. Also, even if you know that multiple shops have their own points system, it’s not that easy to know which one is the best. So, while we're explaining the smart way to use these points services, we thought we should introduce d POINTs and the d POINT CLUB App, a point service made especially for international travelers in Japan. With this one service, your shopping experience in Japan will be amazingly economical!

What are d POINTS and the d POINT CLUB App?

Of all the point services in Japan, why do we recommend d POINT? Because it’s so convenient! This is an easy way to get a bargain. You can use this points service at a truly diverse range of over 200,000 stores and partnerships all over Japan, including Matsumoto Kiyoshi and SATUDORA (drugstores), Tokyu Hands (variety shop), PLAZA (cosmetics store), Life (supermarket), Animate (anime goods store), Family Mart, and a wide selection of hair salons, nail salons, hotels, and more.

You’ll save 1 point per 100 yen spent (in some cases 1 point per 200 yen), and you can use the points to pay with no minimum threshold (1 point = 1 yen).

Whether paying by cash or card, just show your point app at the register to earn points. Even if you just have 1 point, you can redeem it for a discount when purchasing goods or services at any time. 

*Available to users in South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, the Philippines, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, and Thailand

d POINT CLUB App Download and Registration Process

Using the service is extremely simple. Before or during your trip, all you have to do is download the app and register as a new member. After that, you can use the app just by logging in.  (Note that the app is only available to users from countries listed following the * symbol below).

The member registration process is shown above. First, enter your email. Then, finish the application by entering a password, your name, gender, date of birth, country or region of residence, and phone number.

A huge perk of registering is that you'll gain free access to a wifi network from DOCOMO, one of the major cellular companies in Japan, at airports, train stations, restaurants, convenience stores, and other places specified here, as well as gain access to additional travel perks. 

Additionally, new members can receive novelty goods such as a phone strap featuring the d POINT character POiNCO by visiting one of these locations. The point service allows you to earn points every time you shop, making this a great way to save money. Also, there are absolutely no hidden registration fees, so why not make the most of your long-awaited Japan trip by downloading the d POINT CLUB App?

*Available to users in South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, the Philippines, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, and Thailand

Can d POINTS Really Save You Money in Japan? International Travelers Put It to the Test!

We’ve talked about how the d POINT system offers good value, but it can be difficult to imagine just how much of a bargain it is if you haven’t actually used it! So, we decided to ask some tourists to go shopping in real Japanese stores and see how much they could save by using the d POINT CLUB App. Before they headed out, they consulted tsunagu Japan's roundup of recommended products from Japan to help choose items such as cosmetics, daily essentials, pharmaceuticals, travel items, snacks, and souvenirs. Let's go over what they bought so that we can see how much you can save with a d POINT CLUB membership!

PLAZA: Lifestyle Goods Store Stocked with Tons of Adorable Items!

The trendy lifestyle goods store "PLAZA" is loved by many Japanese people. It has a diverse lineup of practical, on-trend items, including cosmetics, daily necessities, snacks, stationery, apparel, accessories, and toys. This store has garnered a lot of support from international tourists, and is known by both tourists and Japanese people as a holy land for cosmetics. We guarantee that you'll be agonizing over all the different popular cosmetics from Japanese brands as soon as you set foot inside a PLAZA store!

The first item our shoppers chose was a popular secret weapon for time-saving skincare, the Saborino Morning Mask. Just by wearing one of these sheet masks for 60 seconds when you wake up, you can eliminate time-consuming cleansing, moisturizing, and priming for makeup from your morning routine. This is a really useful sheet mask for when you're pressed for time and have a busy morning ahead. The Saborino Night Mask from the same series is also very popular. This is an excellent product that combines five skin care products (toner, lotion, serum, night cream, and sleeping pack) into one, saving you time going through a tedious routine before bed.

Our travelers also bought three super-popular makeup products: long-lasting eye shadow from the brand Excel, which is one of the most popular affordable cosmetic brands in Japan; a sheer lip color gloss that comes in a gorgeous gold package from Opera; and the new and improved moisturizing UZU 38℃/ 99℉ Lipstick. Our shoppers also purchased some cute and practical diaries. These cosmetics and handy stationary items are sure to add a little sparkle to life!

PLAZA Purchase Amount: 11,300 yen / Points Earned: 113 d POINTs

Tokyu Hands: A Market Full of Ideas and Hints to Improve Your Lifestyle

Tokyu Hands is a department store widely loved by Japanese people and tourists alike. Not only can you use d POINTS here, they also offer a duty-free service. Tokyu Hands sells creative products that inspire customers to enrich their lives, including daily necessities, cosmetics, stationery, kitchen supplies, DIY goods, and travel goods.

The first thing we will introduce from Tokyu Hands is the LOJEL suitcase. LOJEL is an iconic Japanese luggage brand, and this suitcase was developed to meet the real-world needs of travelers. This brand has an interesting background: it originated in Japan, and was re-imported here after its popularity exploded on the international market.

This particular suitcase is worthy of special mention for its front-opening style. Whether you're packing at home or just need to get into your luggage at the airport, the front-opening pocket lets you access your luggage without having to fold open the whole bag. Its innovative and practical design and amazing storage capacity has attracted plenty of fans. Whether you have a lot to bring with you or just aren't great at packing, this suitcase is easy for everyone to use.

Created by Japanese brand ATEX, the Lourdes cushion is a popular and portable A4 (30cm x 21cm x 16cm) sized body massager that does a great job of working out all your muscle knots and kinks. With over 900,000 pieces sold in total, this massager helps provide some relief for the modern day ailment of stiffness that comes from sitting in the same position all day.

This estaa umbrella comes from Moonbat, an umbrella company that throughout its 100 year history has managed to combine tradition with modern innovation. This folding umbrella can be used either in rainy weather or as a sun shade, and is especially popular with international tourists thanks to its sturdy design and wide color range. The practical and stylish umbrella has fans of all ages and genders.

Stainless steel bottles are very much in style in Japan at the moment. One particularly popular type is the nao sudou Petit Bottle. These pocket-sized bottles have a 190ml capacity (16cm height x 4cm diameter), and come in either classic monotones or a range of cute pastel designs that have earned them a lot of young fans. These high-quality bottles that combine a portable and lightweight build, cutting-edge Japanese technology, and cute designs are perfect as souvenirs or as a little gift for yourself!

Tokyu Hands Purchase Amount: 38,660 yen / Points Earned: 386 d POINTs

Matsumoto Kiyoshi

Matsumoto Kiyoshi is the most popular drugstore chain in Japan. Its biggest selling point is the vast range of products and low prices. These stores are well set up for international customers, with Chinese-speaking staff and duty-free counters available. And best of all, you can earn d POINTS here.

Matsumoto Kiyoshi not only stocks pharmaceutical and cosmetic brands commonly sold at drugstores, they also offer their own brand of products. matsukiyo brand products have a reputation for their high efficacy and have gained attention from both Japanese people and tourists. 

One example is Dipashio EX, which was jointly developed with Okuda Pharmaceutical, a company with a history of 120 years. These small and easy-to-swallow tablets help relieve many symptoms such as toothache, sore throat, headache, menstrual pain, muscle pain, joint pain, stiff shoulders, and back pain. This is a popular and effective product that has earned plenty of repeat buyers. They are ideal to keep on hand while you're traveling, or to take home to keep in your medicine cabinet for a range of aches and pains.

Wakoalis FX Cool are eye drops that soothe eye strain by promoting regeneration with vitamin B6. These drops reduce redness and moisturize the eyes. They're effective for eye strain, conjunctival congestion, prevention of eye diseases, ophthalmitis and blepharitis caused by UV damage, discomfort when wearing hard contact lenses, and itching and blurry eyes.

For colds, we recommend matsukiyo Pelack Multi-Symptom Cold Relief Powder. This powder can provide effective relief from various cold symptoms, including sore throat, cough, phlegm, runny nose, blocked nose, sneezing, fever, chills, headache, and joint and muscle pain. It comes in individual sachets, so it's easy to keep on hand.

Matsumoto Kiyoshi Purchase Amount: 2,524 yen / Points Earned: 25 d POINTS

Review so far: 
Tokyu Hands:
386 d POINTS
Matsumoto Kiyoshi: 25 d POINTS
PLAZA: 113 d POINTs

Total from purchases: 524 d POINTS

Large Supermarket Chain "Life": Use d POINTS to Buy Bargain Souvenirs for Friends and Family

Life is a large-scale supermarket chain that developed in the Kanto and Kansai regions of Japan. These bright and clean supermarkets sell fresh foods as well as groceries, bento (packed meals), drinks, snacks, and instant products. Life supermarkets are popular among locals and international visitors alike thanks to their convenience and range of delicious products that make shopping fun.

All Life stores accept credit cards, and there are also self check-out registers in multiple languages at some stores, so there's no need to worry about not being able to communicate with the Japanese clerks. The stores at Central Square Oshiage near Tokyo Sky Tree, Asakusa near the tourist attraction Senso-ji Temple, and Central Square Namba in downtown Osaka have a duty-free service, so you can even take a break from sightseeing to go shopping for some souvenirs here.

Inexpensive and delicious, sweets are the best way to get many souvenirs to share in one pack. Classic souvenirs include Meiji Almond Chocolate, made with almonds coated in smooth milk chocolate, or good-old Kit Kats. The Matcha flavor, made with matcha tea from the famous Uji region, and the double-strength Rich Matcha are two extremely popular Japanese flavors of Kit Kat we're sure you'll want to pick up if you see them in a supermarket here!

Next, some drinks! The Zeitaku Shibori Peach Chuhai contains 31% fruit juice and plenty of peach flavor. It's just the right amount of sweet and tastes just like real fruit juice! The Lemon-do Sour sold by Coca Cola Japan is an alcoholic drink made with shochu cut with lemon soda. Four different flavors are available: lemon, salty lemon, honey lemon, and oni lemon (“oni” refers to an ogre-like creature in Japanese folklore; this is a strong lemon sour). The alcohol content of these drinks ranges from 3% to 9%. These are a very popular type of drink that you should definitely try when you're in Japan!

Our shoppers finished up their shopping at Life with Ryukakusan, which are throat lozenges that are very popular throughout Asia; Chiitara, a perfect beer snack; and hojicha (roasted green tea) and matcha teas.

Life Purchase Amount: 3,388 yen (524 yen paid in d POINTS, 2,864 yen paid in cash)
d POINTS Earned: 14 (1 point per 200 yen spent at Life)

*The indicated price of each product is accurate at the time of writing.
*Availability of products may differ depending on each store.

Take the d POINT CLUB App with You on Your Japan Trip for Infinite Perks!

We hope this test has illustrated to you just what a big difference going shopping with the d POINT CLUB App makes! The benefits don't stop at earning points at the shopping register, too. We've outlined four more advantages to becoming a d POINT member below!

4 Fantastic d POINT CLUB Member Benefits

  1. You can download the app and register to become a d POINT CLUB member even before your trip starts. (Available in South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, the Philippines, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, and Thailand).
  2. Get access to coupons exclusively for d POINT CLUB members. Examples: 15% off JAL ABC, an airport delivery service that connects airports and accommodation facilities; 10% cashback on reservations made the Booking.com; and discount coupons at participating d POINT stores (up to 50% off).
  3. Free access to DOCOMO’s Wi-Fi network, with a service area that includes airports, train stations, restaurants, convenience stores, and more.
  4. Free novelty item featuring the popular DOCOMO mascots, the POiNCO Brothers (either a mobile phone strap, tri-color pen, picnic blanket, or A5 size notebook) *Gift may change without notice

Conclusion

Why not take the advice from this article and use the d POINT CLUB App to shop smart during your next trip to Japan?

*Available to users in South Korea, Taiwan, Hong Kong, Macao, the Philippines, Singapore, Australia, Malaysia, and Thailand


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search