【川越美食】穿越回到江户时代 川越必吃超人气铜板美食8选

品尝刚烤好仍热气腾腾的鲣鱼烤饭团,漫步于能感受到岁月流逝的怀旧巷弄里,与身穿和服的美丽女子擦肩而过......倘若想为旅途增添一点历史气息,并在此趟穿越时空之旅中大啖美食、享受边走边吃的乐趣,邻近东京的川越小镇绝对能满足你。

埼玉县

美食

关于川越

位于东京北侧埼玉县的川越曾为商业重镇,自古与江户在经济和文化上有相当密切的往来。直至二次大战后因商业发展移转至埼玉市,逐渐失去以往的繁荣。

然而另一方面,川越却也因此未受到过度都市开发,得以保留许多自江户时代流传下来原汁原味的传统仓库式建筑(藏造建筑),获得“小江户”之美称。

 

如今川越已摇身一变成为日本人也趋之若鹜的东京近郊人气景点。浓缩江户时代精华的藏造老街、历经400年岁月的珍贵钟楼、大正浪漫梦通老街上和洋融合的街道风情,正在造就川越独树一帜的风景。

而当你穿梭于复古巷弄的同时,怎能错过一系列既展现当地饮食特色,又能满足口腹之欲的美食与甜品?这回将介绍8道铜板就能买到的川越人气美味小吃。

1. 小江户烧本铺

历经400年岁月仍悠然伫立于藏造街道上的钟楼,为川越最具代表性的地标。而以钟楼为造型的川越限定小江户烧,高人气自然不在话下。内馅除了基本配备款的红豆馅、卡士达,另有炖牛肉、苹果派,以及黑芝麻、栗子等期间限定口味。

 

2. 大学芋川越大学いわた 拔丝地瓜

川越的名产之一为番薯,走在街道上能看见各式各样以番薯制作的种类繁多令人眼花撩乱的美味甜点。

1930年于东京台东区创办的拔丝地瓜专门销售店Iwata,2010年,第三代老板决定将店铺迁至妻子的故乡川越,并在4年后新增时之钟分店。

自祖父时代传承下来的美味拔丝地瓜,先以芥花油油炸,再裹上糖衣,撒上黑芝麻的拔丝地瓜,一咬下便能感受到外层脆口里头香甜绵密的好滋味。

 

守护传统之余,老板同时还研发了极具话题的手作水果冰棒。夏季限定的手作冰棒选用当令水果制作,共有15至20种口味。不仅吃得到水果实体,缤纷可爱的外观也相当上相,还在Instagram上引发打卡热潮。

 

3. 中市本店 现烤柴鱼片饭团

在江户末期以鲜鱼店铺起家的中市本店,战后改销售以鲣鱼(柴鱼)为主的干货。店里除柴鱼鱼干、海带、小鱼干等海产干货,老板还在门口摆起简易的现烤饭团摊位,主打加入店内引以为豪的柴鱼片和沙丁鱼片。虽饭团仅有两种口味能选择,仍吸引许多游客大排长龙。

一粒粒三角饭团经炭火慢烤后,表面的米粒烤得微焦酥脆。看着老板熟练地刷上一层薄薄的酱油,撒上一大把鲣鱼或沙丁鱼制成的干鱼片,朴实单纯的香气,令许多约会中的日本情侣也顾不得形象在路边张口大嗑起来。

 

4. 豆屋川越店

在老街入口处有一家洋溢复古风情的古民家,销售花豆、黄豆、碗豆、蚕豆、红豆等豆类零食,口味则有抹茶、白胡椒、黑胡椒等等,选购前还能先试吃喔。

 

5. 小江户おさつ庵 炸薯片

将整个番薯切成长薄片,油炸后简单撒上些许盐调味,不仅金黄色的外观超吸睛,番薯本身的甜度更是好吃到让人停不下口。另可加40日元,选择店家自制的酱汁沾来吃,品尝不同风味。

 

6. 藏造本铺 藏造最中福蔵

1945年开业至今已有73年历史的糕点店福藏,店里人气高居不下的商品,莫过一年销售350万个的藏造最中。最中饼是一种糯米制成的饼壳,里头添加馅料(通常是红豆馅)的日式甜点。

轻轻咬下,饼壳随即在嘴里化开,100%使用北海道十胜平野所产制成的红豆馅甜腻润口,而里头一块佐贺县糯米制成的麻糬块则增加了口感,令人回味无穷。

 

7. 川越布丁 草莓果酱布丁

除了日式传统小吃外,西式甜点同样不落人后。店名为川越布丁的甜点店,布丁由严选日本国产牛奶,鸡蛋与天然的香草籽制成,入口香嫩滑顺。有季节限定的草莓果酱、底部混入甘甜黑豆的抹茶、川越番薯、柚子等口味。

酸甜清爽的草莓果酱中有切成小块仍保有口感的草莓丁,搭配下层布丁的香草香气,一口接一口,汤匙很快地就挖到见底。

 

另有销售原味布丁冰淇淋、番薯蒙布朗冰淇淋和巧克力蒙布朗冰淇淋。

 

8. 串烧林林屋 串烧鳗鱼

川越不仅番薯点心出名,鳗鱼饭也同样名闻遐迩,这里有许多名店吸引游客大排长龙只为一饱口福。如果你想品尝美味的鳗鱼但不想耗时排队,不妨可以买串迷你蒲烧尝鲜喔!人气名店“林屋”在2018年4月新增了姊妹店“串烧 林林屋”,炭火直烤的鳗鱼、烤鳗鱼肝都能以平易近人的价格尝到。另有盐烤香鱼和烤团子唷。

 

从池袋或新宿搭电车出发不到一小时即能抵达的川越,不妨留个一天为自己安排一趟穿越时空之旅,边品尝美味实惠的人气小吃,边饱览不同风情的日本面貌,让味觉与视觉获得双重享受。

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

体验日本

住宿

购物

搜寻餐厅

8 Must-Try Kawagoe Street Snacks: Take A Culinary Journey Back in Time to Old Edo

Imagine yourself taking a bite of a freshly grilled bonito onigiri (rice ball) as you stroll through the quaint alleys and feel the passing of time as beautiful women in kimono walk by. If you are looking for a place with not just delicious on-to-go treats but also nice historical vibes, a little town named Kawagoe in Saitama Prefecture near Tokyo is the perfect destination for you!

Saitama

Food & Drinks

What is Kawagoe?

Located in Saitama Prefecture to the north of Tokyo, Kawagoe was once a commercial town with close economic and cultural links to the old capital of Edo (modern-day Tokyo) since ancient times. After the end of World War II, however, commercial development was refocused on the city of Saitama, and Kawagoe gradually lost its former prosperity. 

However, since Kawagoe was not subjected to overurbanization, it was able to retain many of its traditional warehouse-style (kurazukuri) structures that have been passed down from the Edo period (1603 - 1868), earning the area the title of "Koedo" or "Little Edo."  

Nowadays, Kawagoe is a famous tourist attraction, even among the Japanese, that is not too far from the Tokyo suburbs. From the Kurazukuri Street lined with Edo period structures to the iconic 400-year-old bell tower and Taisho Roman Dori Street lined with charming buildings showing off both Japanese and Western influences, everything in this place speaks of its wonderful uniqueness.

While you are taking a leisurely stroll through the alleyways, why not fill up on some popular, yummy local delicacies? Now, let’s check out the top eight street foods to eat when you visit Kawagoe! 

1. Koedo-Yaki Honpo

With more than 400 years of history, the Toki no Kane (Bell Tower) on Kurazukuri Street is the most iconic landmark in Kawagoe, so it is only natural that Koedo-Yaki Honpo’s Kawagoe-exclusive, tower-shaped Koedo-yaki (pancake with fillings) is also wildly popular. Fillings range from basics like red bean and custard to specials like stewed beef and apple pie, as well as limited flavors such as black sesame and chestnut. 

2. Daigakuimo Kawagoe Iwata – Glazed Sweet Potatoes

One of the most famous Kawagoe specialties is sweet potato, which is why while walking along the street you can easily find all kinds of delicious treats made from the produce.

Iwata is a glazed sweet potato specialty shop that first opened in Taito, Tokyo in 1930. In 2020, the third-generation owner decided to move the shop to Kawagoe, his wife’s hometown. The Toki no Kane branch was opened four years after that.

Having inherited the shop that was established by his grandfather, the current owner still follows his roots and serves tasty glazed sweet potato that is deep-fried with canola oil, glazed with sugar, and then sprinkled with black sesame. Take a bite and you will fall in love with its crispy surface and soft, sweet inside!

3. Nakaichi Honten – Freshly Grilled Bonito Flake Onigiri

Nakaichi Honten started as a fresh fish store at the end of the Edo period, but after the war, dried goods such as bonito have become its main merchandise. Apart from dried seafood like dried bonito bars, kelp, and small dried fish, they also chargrill onigiri with bonito or sardine flakes at the storefront, always attracting tons of tourists to queue up for a taste.

The owner grills the triangular onigiri over charcoal until its exterior is crispy and lightly browned, then skillfully applies a thin layer of soy sauce on top and sprinkles it with a handful of bonito or sardine flakes. The simple yet rich aroma alone is enough to attract many Japanese couples to stop by for a bite on the side of the road.

4. Mameya Kawagoeten

At the entrance of Kurazukuri Street, there is a retro-style shop selling bean snacks like runner beans, soybeans, peas, broad beans, and red beans. They come in various flavors including matcha, white pepper, black pepper, and so on. You may taste-test them before buying.  

5. Koedo Osatsuan – Fried Potato Chips

Koedo Osatsuan’s long potato slices seasoned with a pinch of salt don’t just have an enticing golden look, their natural potato sweetness will also leave you craving more! For an additional 40 yen, the shop will provide you with their hand-made soy sauce for an even more unique flavor. 

6. Kurazukuri Honpo Kurazukuri Monaka Fukugura

Opened in 1945, Fukugura is a pastry shop with a history that goes back 73 years. Their specialty is Kurazukuri monaka, a Japanese confectionery with a glutinous rice crust and delicious fillings (usually red bean paste). As many as 3.5 million pieces of the wildly popular dessert are sold every year! 

Take a bite and the crust will instantly melt in your mouth. The azuki paste made with azuki red beans from Tokachi in Hokkaido is sweet and smooth, while the hidden mochi, made of glutinous rice from Saga, adds another texture to the treat, leaving you wanting more! 

7. Kawagoe Purin – Strawberry Jam Pudding

Aside from traditional Japanese confectionery, western desserts in Kawagoe are just as appealing. Kawagoe Purin serves smooth and rich puddings made from local milk, eggs, and natural vanilla seeds. They come in different flavors - seasonal strawberry jam, matcha with sweet black beans at the bottom, Kawagoe sweet potatoes, yuzu, and more.

There are even pieces of diced strawberries in the strawberry jam. Its refreshingly sweet-and-sour flavor matches perfectly with the pudding itself and the vanilla layer below, and will leave you craving for more after the first bite!

What’s more, they offer ice cream in their original pudding flavor, sweet potato Mont Blanc flavor, and chocolate Mont Blanc flavor.  

8. Kushiyaki Rinrinya – Eel Skewer

Kawagoe is not only famous for sweet potato snacks but also eel rice, and many tourists have come all the way to the town to give it a try, despite the long queues in front of the restaurants. If you want to taste delicious eel but don't want to wait in line, get yourself an eel skewer on the go! The famous restaurant Hayashiya opened a sister shop called Kushiyaki Rinrinya in April 2018, offering chargrilled eel skewers and eel liver skewers at affordable prices. They even have salt-grilled sweetfish and grilled dumplings! 

Travel Back in Time at Kawagoe

Kawagoe, only less than an hour of train ride away from both Ikebukuro and Shinjuku, is the ideal way to get to experience a traditional Japanese townscape without venturing too far from Tokyo proper. If you want to try out addictive street foods while soaking in fascinating Japanese culture, this is definitely the place for you!

For more information about visiting Saitama, check out the official Saitama Facebook page! https://www.facebook.com/saitamajapan.en


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search