饱览富士山绝景,享受当地美食!骑自行车畅游神奈川・小田原悠闲半日旅

以小田原城而闻名的小田原市,作为东海道的交通要冲,在日本战国时代已是一座繁荣的城市。这次tsunagu Japan系日本编辑部实际参与了小田原自行车之旅,在当地导游的带领下,不但在短时间内更加深入地认识了小田原的历史与文化,还走进私房景点欣赏富士山美景,午餐大啖当地鲜味超群的海鲜料理!快一起来看看这趟丰富的神奈川小田原旅程吧!

神奈川县

体验

※本文与关东运输局,地方自治体,铁道公司合作撰写。

关于小田原

神奈川西南部历史悠久的小田原市,从东京搭乘新干线只需要约35分钟,或者从新宿搭乘湘南新宿线、小田急浪漫特快车约60分钟就能抵达,交通十分便捷,再加上离箱根不远,长久以来是关东近郊观光的热门景点。除了拥有远近驰名的小田原城,邻海的地理位置也让小田原的鱼板、海鲜丼(盖饭)成为当地必吃的美食,是一座怀有复古风情的城市。

集合:JR小田原站东口的派出所前

从JR小田原车站的检票口出来后,向右方前进,就会来到车站东口(集合场所的所在地)。如果是搭乘小田急线前来,则从小田急线的检票口出来后向左前进,即抵达东口。

从小田原车站东口出来,搭乘手扶电梯到一楼。集合地点为小田原东口派出所前,从车站徒步前往约3分钟。

抵达时已看到导游拿着牌子迎接我们。

会合之后导游会先询问参加者的体温,并且提供酒精消毒双手。

简单介绍完今天的行程概要之后,前往从车站步行约2分钟可达的小田原交流中心UMECO(おだわら市民交流センター UMECO),租借这次旅行中最重要的交通工具:自行车。

租借自行车时需要留下姓名、居住地与年龄等简单的基本资料。填完资料后,工作人员会再次量额温以及提供酒精消毒。

租借的自行车分为两种:普通自行车与电动自行车,由于自行车的租金已包含在行程里,因此不需额外付费,而导游也全程为我们处理租借事宜。这次大家全选择电动自行车。由于行程途中会遇到上坡的情况,电动自行车骑起来相对更为轻松舒适。

需要注意的是,安全起见租借自行车的身高限制为150cm以上,建议当日避免穿裙子、高跟鞋等不方便行动的衣着。

领到自行车之后,也会用消毒纸巾先进行消毒。

导游会跟参加者进行简单的自行车交通规则说明,所以不用担心在日本骑自行车会搞不清楚该走人行道还是车道?该骑左边还是右边?只要跟着导游一直线的骑车就可以安心上路。

准备好之后,就可以出发啦!

运气好的话还能眺望富士山!悠闲欣赏酒匂川美景

穿越小田原市区,骑车大约15分钟抵达今日的第一个景点“酒匂川”。酒勾川是神奈川县继相模川之后第二重要的主要河川,源头来自富士山东麓,流经静冈县的御殿场市、神奈川县以丹沢湖闻名的山北町,最后从小田原市注入相模湾,总长约46公里。

运气好的话,沿着河岸边骑车还能欣赏美丽的富士山,是绝佳的摄影景点。

根据导游的说明,江户时期的酒匂川尚未建设桥梁,当时的人民只能用双脚直接涉水而过,甚至还因此有了专门帮人抬轿渡河的职业。

私房景点 小田原海滩(御幸之浜海水浴场)

在导游的带领下,来到一处鲜有人知的清幽海滩。由于这一带附近没有停车场,因此很少会有观光客前来。在这里可以眺望波光粼粼的相模湾,伴随海浪声享受远离城市喧嚣的宁静。

难攻不落之城的小田原城

接着来到小田原市最知名的观光景点“小田原城”,此为日本国家指定遗迹之一,不仅是距离东京最近,拥有天守阁的城堡,还是战国时代关东规模最大的城池,其天守阁在日本城中排名第7高,是历史迷们朝圣必访的景点之一。

小田原城原为战国名将北条氏的居城,是为了防御上杉谦信、武田信玄、丰臣秀吉等将领的侵略所建,成为日本最大的中世纪城郭。虽然最后在1590年与丰臣秀吉一战的小田原合战中败北,北条氏灭亡,但也因此开启日本首次全国统一的历史。其后,小田原城在经过多次易主与改建,最后于1870年遭受废城的命运,1923年的关东大地震,更是造成小田原城郭倾毁殆尽。

现今将本丸遗址作为公园重新整顿,并重建复原天守阁、常盘木门和铜门,同时增设历史博物馆、迷你游乐园及动物园等游乐场所,周末甚至还提供忍者表演,使小田原城址公园成为知名的观光景点。除此之外,春天时的小田原城更荣获“樱花名所百选”,是不容错过的赏樱圣地。

在本丸广场上饲养的可爱日本猕猴!

进入天守阁之前需要量体温和消毒。

四处都有提醒保持社交距离的告示牌。

天守阁内展示许多甲胄、刀剑、古文书、武家历史和小田原城历史等丰富资料。

 

由于小田原市的建筑高度有着严格的限制,因此登上天守阁顶处,就可以眺望整个小田原市。

远方云层下的正是伊豆半岛,听说天气好时还可以看到千叶房总半岛。

国家有形文化遗产达摩食堂(だるま食堂)

骑了一上午,这时肚子也差不多饿了!午餐来到富有历史风味、在当地享誉盛名的达摩食堂。达摩食堂创立于1893年(明治26年),以使用相模湾新鲜的鱼类,提供美味的炸天妇罗、寿司等海鲜料理而闻名。外观仿佛神社寺庙般的博风板式建筑,加上建材使用桧木、松木、榉木等国产高级木材,而被指定为国家有形文化遗产,是小田原市内的名店之一。

这天品尝的是美味的“鲔三昧丼”,以海苔丝与白饭铺底,上头奢侈地摆上鲔鱼生鱼片、生鲔鱼块、生鲔鱼泥和鲑鱼卵。用料十分新鲜,切片相当厚实,细密的油花浓厚甘甜入口即化,再搭配清爽的醋饭,如此澎湃的海鲜盖饭想必让爱吃海鲜的饕客垂涎三尺了吧!

不敢吃生食的人也可更换成天盖饭等其他餐点,当天的天盖饭里有炸虾、炸鱼和炸茄子等新鲜蔬菜,另外附赠一碗日式清汤及渍菜。午餐的金额同样也包含在行程里了!

镇守小田原的松原神社

最后一站来到当地渔民们祈求渔业丰收和航海平安的松原神社。创建时间不明,曾经被称为“鹤之森明神”、“松原大明神”,直到1869年(明治2年)才被改称为“松原神社”。主祭神为日本武尊,每年的5月3日~5日会举办松原神社例大祭,是小田原市的盛事之一。

松原神社一隅供奉着“吉兆的大龟(吉兆の大亀)”,据说供奉多少钱,寿命就会延长多少天,例如供奉100日元,寿命就会延长100天。想要长命百岁的人,务必亲自来祈个愿吧!

参拜的时的赛钱要投多少呢?根据导游的解释,日本基本上都是投5日元(5円)铜板,因为日文的“5円”跟“ご縁”发音相同,表示有缘的意思。

如果手边刚好没有5日元也没有关系,只要避免投10日元(10円)铜板即可,因为日文的“10(とお/ to)円(えん/ en)”和“遠(とお/ to)縁(えん/ en)”谐音相近,有离缘分越来越远的意思,除此之外投多少金额都没有问题。当然如果真的身无铜板也可以跟神社人员换钱哦!

行程尾声

旅行的尾声回到交流中心归还自行车后,带着愉快满足的回忆和导游道再见。小田原市的环境非常清幽,加上这次的自行车之旅为户外行程,以及彻底执行的防疫措施,在这特别的时刻仍能安心出游,无论是对喜欢深入日本市井的旅日游客,或者居住在日本的外国人来说,都是非常适合值得体验的行程。

小田原之旅结束后

除了上述的户外行程,小田原地区还有不少体验教室,大约30~90分钟的时间就可以透过趣味的方式,进一步了解小田原的产业及制造业。

(1)小田原灯笼制作体验,可以动手制作充满宿场町(即日本古代驿站)风格的纪念品。

※目前因肺炎疫情,制作体验暂时中止。出发前请务必先行确认。

想要了解更多信息 请点击此链接

(2)香袋与房间香氛包制作体验,可以依造自己的喜好,亲手调和自古流传下来的6种天然香料。

・Sororito小田原(そろりと小田原)(日文)
 https://www.sororito.com/

稍微远离小田原地区

从小田原搭乘电车约15分钟的车程,即可抵达在日本全国享负盛名的人气观光温泉地「箱根」!何不泡个热呼呼的温泉消除一下旅行的疲劳呢?

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

Enjoy Views of Mt. Fuji and Local Cuisine on an Easy Half-Day Bike Ride Through Odawara in Kanagawa Prefecture

Odawara City, famous for Odawara Castle, is a city that was already flourishing during the Sengoku Period (approx. 1467 - 1568) and was a key point on the Tokaido (the eastern sea route of the Edo Period). The editing team from tsunagu Japan recently had the opportunity to participate in a bicycle tour of Odawara. In addition to getting a deep understanding of Odawara’s history and culture with the local guide, we went to some little-known spots, enjoyed fantastic views of Mt. Fuji, and even had super fresh local seafood for lunch! Read on to see what this wonderful tour was like!

Kanagawa

Things to Do

*This article was written in collaboration with the Kanto District Transport Bureau, local governments, and local railway companies.

Odawara: A City by the Sea

The historic city of Odawara in southwestern Kanagawa Prefecture is just 35 minutes from Tokyo Station on a bullet train and about 60 minutes from Shinjuku Station by the Shonan-Shinjuku Line or Odakyu Romancecar. It has great transport links and is not far from the famous onsen (hot spring) district of Hakone. Long a popular tourist destination in the Kanto area, it is particularly famous for Odawara Castle. Sashimi and kaisen-don (rice bowl dish with seafood) are popular dishes in Odawara, thanks to its close proximity to the ocean. The city has a retro atmosphere and is perfect for both walking and cycling.

Meeting Point: In Front of the Police Box at the East Exit of JR Odawara Station

After exiting through the ticket gate at JR Odawara Station, turn right and proceed to the East Exit, which is the meeting point. If arriving via the Odakyu Line, take a left after exiting the ticket gate and proceed to the East Exit. 

Exit from the East Exit of Odawara Station and take the escalator to the first floor. The meeting point is in front of the police box at the East Exit of Odawara Station, which is approximately a 3-minute walk from the station.

When we arrived, we could see the tour guide waiting for us with a sign.

When we all had convened, the guide first took each of our temperatures and had everyone sanitize their hands with the alcohol sanitizer that was provided.

After a quick rundown of the schedule, we walked about two minutes to the Odawara UMECO Civic Center to rent the bicycles that would be the key mode of transportation on this trip.

Basic information such as name, address, and age are required to rent the bicycles. Once the information was filled in, a staff person reconfirmed each participant’s temperature and we sanitized our hands with alcohol once more.

Both regular and electric bicycles are available to rent. For our tour, the bicycle rental fees were included in the tour fee, and the tour guide made all of the arrangements so that we could just enjoy ourselves. This time, we all chose electric bicycles. There are some hills on the tour, so electric bicycles may be easier.

Participants must be at least 150cm tall to rent a bicycle. Also, remember to dress suitably, and avoid skirts and high heels.

The bicycles are sanitized using wipes before riding.

The guide gives an explanation of road rules for bicyclists, so there is no need to worry about which side of the road to ride on, or whether to ride on the road or sidewalk. Just ride single file behind the guide.

All ready? Time to head out!

With Luck, Take in the Beauty of Mt. Fuji From the Banks of the Sakawa River!

After riding about 15 minutes from the center of Odawara, we reached our first scenic spot of the day, the Sakawa River. The river starts at Mt. Fuji and runs for a length of 46 kilometers, through Odawara City and all the way to Sagami Bay. The beauty of the river was even captured by a famous ukiyo-e painter named Hiroshige Utagawa during the Edo Period (1608-1868) in a painting that depicts people strolling along and crossing over the river.

If you’re lucky, you can enjoy beautiful views of Mt. Fuji while cycling along the river. What a wonderful spot to take pictures!

According to the guide, there were no bridges across the Sakawa River during the Edo Period, so people had to cross on their own two legs, and there were even professionals that specialized in helping people cross the river.

Cycling in Odawara was far less stressful than in North American cities: the tour stuck to streets with wide enough sidewalks or side streets that were empty enough that we had little risk of running into cars. This took away the risk normally associated with riding in the street and made it fun even for beginners who aren’t used to cycling. Along the way we got a glimpse into everyday Japanese life as we passed locals taking their dogs for walks and going about their daily business. What a nice way it was to spend the morning, as the clear sky, fresh air, and sunshine filled us with energy. 

A Hidden Gem - Odawara Beach (Miyukinohama Beach)

The guide has brought us to a quiet, little-known beach. There are no parking lots in the area, so hardly any tourists come, but this is a great place to see the shimmering Sagami Bay and enjoy the sound of the waves and the quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the city.

The Impenetrable Castle - Odawara Castle

Next, we came to the most iconic sightseeing spot in Odawara—Odawara Castle. It is not only one of Japan's designated Historic Sites but is also the closest castle to Tokyo that features a full castle tower (and the 7th-highest one in Japan, at that). It was also one of the largest castles in all of Kanto during the Sengoku Period.

Any building with a half-millennium of history is a novel experience for a North American, but this castle's appearance is particularly majestic and undeniably Japanese. You should definitely swing by and take in the sight, even if you're not a history buff!

Odawara Castle was originally the residence of the powerful Hojo clan during the Sengoku Period. It was built to defend against attacks by warlords and shogun such as Uesugi Kenshin, Takeda Shingen, and Toyotomi Hideyoshi, and became Japan’s largest castle during the Middle Ages. The Hojo clan was ruined when it lost to Toyotomi Hideyoshi at the Battle of Odawara in 1590, a battle that marked the beginning of the unification of the country. Since then, Odawara Castle passed through many hands and underwent reconstruction several times until it was finally abandoned in 1870. Even the stone walls were destroyed during the Great Kanto Earthquake of 1923.

When you learn about the history and stories behind ancient buildings like this, it really changes the way you view them. Since we were together with a tour guide who explained all of this to us in English, we were really able to ask questions about the info given to us instead of just reading or listening to it, so all the info was easy to absorb and we were really able to take it in and see just what made Odawara Castle such an amazing place.

Today, the site of the castle has been made into a park with the castle tower, Tokiwa Kimon Gate, and Copper Gate having been rebuilt and renovated. The park is now a famous tourist destination with a history museum, mini amusement park, and a zoo. There are also ninja shows that are held during the weekend. Odawara Castle has been chosen as one of the top 100 spots for cherry blossoms and is a place not to be missed during the spring cherry blossom season.

There are adorable domesticated Japanese macaques in the plaza!

Temperatures are taken and hands are sanitized before entering the castle tower.

There are many signs promoting social distancing.

Armor, swords, historic documents, and a variety of other material related to the history of samurai warriors and of Odawara Castle are on display in the castle tower. English-language panels are also available, so it’s possible to learn as much about the history as you would like!

There are strict height restrictions for buildings in Odawara City, so there is an unobstructed view of the city from the top of the castle tower.

Below the far-away clouds lies the Izu Peninsula. There are views as far as the Chiba Boso Peninsula on a clear day.

Daruma Restaurant - A Tangible Cultural Property

Everyone was famished after cycling all morning! Lunch was at Daruma Restaurant (Daruma Shokudo), a restaurant full of historical charm that is popular among the locals. Daruma Restaurant was opened in 1893 and is famous for its tasty seafood dishes, such as tempura and sushi, made with fresh seafood from Sagami Bay. The building has a gabled roof with bow-shaped eaves, reminiscent of a Shinto shrine or Buddhist temple, and is made with domestic, high-grade wood such as Hinoki cypress, pine, and Japanese zelkova. It is designated as a Tangible Cultural Property of Japan and is one of Odawara City’s most famous restaurants.

On this special day, everyone enjoyed the lovely Maguro Zanmai-don (three-tuna rice bowl). The rice was covered with small pieces of nori seaweed and topped with generous servings of three different cuts of tuna sashimi and salted salmon roe. The ingredients were super fresh and cut thickly so that the delicate fat melted in the mouth, giving off a rich, sweet flavor. The high-quality sashimi and refreshing vinegared rice made for an exciting seafood bowl that whetted the appetite.

Perhaps one of your aims when visiting Japan is to try authentic Japanese food such as sushi, ramen, and tempura. If that’s the case, then there's no better place to enjoy fresh, high-quality Japanese fish at reasonable prices!

Other than fresh fish, the “tendon” (rice bowl topped with pieces of tempura dipped in a sweet and salty sauce) is also outstanding, so we recommend that those taking the tour with family or friends order a variety of dishes to be able to sample each one!

Matsubara Jinja - A Shrine That Watches Over the City of Odawara

The last stop was Matsubara Jinja, a Shinto shrine where local fishermen pray for good hauls and safety for the boats. It is unclear when it was established, and it was once called "Tsuruno Mori Myojin," and even later "Matsubara Dai Myojin," but was renamed "Matsubara Jinja" in 1869 (the second year of the Meiji period). It enshrines the legendary prince of the Yamato dynasty, Yamato Takeru. The grand festival that is held at the shrine from May 3rd to 5th every year is a major event in Odawara City.

There is a large turtle called Kitcho No Ogame (great turtle of luck) that is enshrined in a part of Matsubara Jinja, and it is said that one’s life is extended by the same number of days as yen given in an offering. So if you offer 100 yen, your life is extended by 100 days. Give it a try if you are hoping for a long life!

What is the appropriate amount to put in the offering box at a shrine? The guide explained that it is standard in Japan to put a five yen coin in the offering box. Five yen in Japanese is pronounced “go-en,” which has the same pronunciation as an expression meaning a fated relationship or opportunity. You can use another coin if you don’t have a five yen coin on hand, but avoid using ten yen coins. “To-en,” which is one way of saying ten yen in Japanese, sounds like a phrase that can mean that a relationship or opportunity is far and fading. If you don’t have any coins, you can ask someone at the shrine office to break a bill.

At the End of the Tour

At the end of the tour, we returned to Odawara UMECO Civic Center, where we returned our bicycles and said goodbye to the guide with lovely memories in our hearts. Odawara was a peaceful city with lots to see. The tour felt safe thanks to the thorough measures taken to prevent coronavirus infections and because it was mainly outdoors. This is a tour we highly recommend for tourists who want to see and experience a Japanese city, as well as foreign residents in Japan.

After Enjoying the Cycling Tour

There are a number of 30 to 90-minute experiences available in the Odawara area that allow visitors to get a deeper first-hand understanding of the local traditional crafts and industry.

1)Make Odawara Paper Lanterns, a perfect souvenir from a traditional post town like Odawara.

*Currently, due to the spread of the coronavirus, this craft experience has been temporarily stopped. Please check the following link before visiting.
http://www.city.odawara.kanagawa.jp.e.aez.hp.transer.com/kanko/experience/ 

Odawara Tourism Information
http://www.city.odawara.kanagawa.jp.e.aez.hp.transer.com/kanko/

Places to Stay in Odawara
http://www.city.odawara.kanagawa.jp.e.aez.hp.transer.com/kanko/stay/
 

2)We also recommend the fragrance-making activity, which lets you mix and match 6 ancient, natural perfumes to create your own original fragrance pouch or air freshener.

Sororito Odawara: https://www.sororito.com/

Explore a Bit Further From the Odawara Area

The famous onsen town of Hakone, just a 15-minute train ride from Odawara, is also recommended. How about a soak in the hot springs there to soothe your muscles after the bike ride? 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search