【日本購物】全世界都愛!淺談KitKat巧克力受歡迎的理由及限定口味哪裡買

在2020年的春天,受到全世界喜愛的KitKat巧克力也推出了櫻花季的櫻花麻糬及櫻花日本酒限定口味!除了限定口味的介紹之外,這篇文章也將帶您一起來進一步了解KitKat巧克力為什麼在日本如此受歡迎?並告訴您哪裡才能買到最齊全的口味、高級版KitKat專賣店以及究竟還有哪些不可錯過的人氣隱藏版口味!

日本

購物

KitKat巧克力為何在日本大受歡迎?

說到「日本料理」,相信很多人想到的不外乎是擺盤精緻的生魚片、賣相極佳的壽司或是一碗熱騰騰的拉麵,這些都是極具代表性的日本美食。

不過,若是提到日本的甜品零食,無論您是否曾實際去過日本,讓人最先想到的可能是口味多變的KitKat巧克力!如果您以為KitKat巧克力只是一款裹著牛奶巧克力的普通威化餅乾,那可就大錯特錯了!在日本,KitKat巧克力的口味可是超過上百種,從經典口味到平時少見的風味,甚至還有些是令人難以想像的奇特口味。

KitKat巧克力自1970年代首度進軍日本後,近50年來一直是日本甜品零食界中的主要角色之一。不過,其實這款零食是在千禧年(2000年)後才真正開始在甜品零食業上佔有較高的地位。經典的草莓口味KitKat約在20年前上市,是當時第一次推出創新且具實驗性的新口味。之後陸續推出的口味累計超過400種,至今KitKat已成為日本「食」文化中一個無可或缺的部分。

除了在日本雀巢公司致力開發新口味、讓KitKat巧克力成功吸引到更多目光外,使這款一口大小的零食能紅透半遍天的原因其實跟日本文化也密切相連。其一是日本人通常習慣將KitKat唸作「Kitto-Katto」,此發音正好與日文中的「絕對必勝(Kitto-Katsu)」發音相近,此一諧音雙關語因此讓KitKat巧克力演變為帶有好運的祝褔象徵,特別是在考生們間更是相當熱門的應援禮物。

其二則是與日本的送禮傳統文化相關。大家往往會在旅行後贈送伴手禮(Omiyage)給親朋好友或同事們。因此地區限定口味的KitKat巧克力,像是靜岡芥末、北海道哈密瓜、信州蘋果等口味,就成為好入手且富有特色的伴手禮選擇。無論在國內外的旅客間,都相當有人氣!

2020 KitKat巧克力新口味!

日本雀巢公司2020年以全新的「櫻餅(櫻花麻糬)」口味和好評再回歸的「櫻花日本酒」口味為KitKat春季揭開序幕。

櫻花及櫻花樹都是代表春季的重要象徵。而櫻餅則是一種以粉色的糯米團包入醃漬過的櫻花和紅豆沙的和菓子,是日本人在春季時愛吃的日式甜食。這兩款春季限定口味的KitKat都已在3月推出。

除此之外,在2020年出推出的還有融合了日式抹茶和橙果類香氣的柚子抹茶口味以及草莓大福口味。

而在復活節期間則推出香蕉口味,雖然香蕉口味以前就曾出現過,但這次日本雀巢公司的目標是在推廣KitKat最新的環保紙包裝。包裝視覺以白色復活節為主題,紙包裝可在吃完後拿來塗色繪畫,再添趣味!不僅對環境友善,作為伴手禮時也更加有玩心,可說是一舉多得!

註:櫻花日本酒口味KitKat含0.7%酒精成分

KitKat巧克力上哪買?

如果您想購買KitKat巧克力,好消息是在日本各地的許多地方都能買到,從便利超商、超市、量販店、藥妝店,甚至是有時候在郵局也可能找到!但美中不足的是因為口味非常多樣,若想找到某些新款或熱門的特定口味,有時可能較困難,或是價錢也可能較高。

不過若您的購買需求是實惠省荷包系,口味選擇少一點也沒關係,那麼超市就相當適合您。又或是可到折扣商店唐吉軻德走走,在這裡能同時購入KitKat巧克力及其他便宜的零食。

大多數的超市,像是西友超市(SEIYU)或其他批發型業務超市,通常只會販售基本款的巧克力、抹茶、草莓等口味。不過有時也會出現季節限定口味。寫這篇文章的時候,西友超市的架上就同時有前面所提的三種基本款和新款的柚子抹茶口味,每包裡有9塊,售價約在200到300日幣之間!

超商則通常會販賣新推出的口味,每盒有3小塊,約120日幣。小尺寸的紙盒包裝不會佔用太多行李空間,在旅行中當零食或是作為輕巧好攜帶的伴手禮選擇都非常合適!櫻餅和櫻花日本酒口味目前在日本全國的超市和超商皆有販售。

提醒您,在日本,KitKat巧克力限量口味的推出速度可是非常快。這也就代表著上市期間很短暫,即便是新口味,也有可能在您有機會前往日本時早已完售,換到下一波也不一定,因此沒買到也不要太灰心,相信絕對會有更新的口味等著您!

若您希望能找到最新、最受歡迎的口味,那麼推薦您到車站或大型巴士轉運站附近的紀念品商店或是機場免稅店。這些商店幾乎都會同時提供新上市、地域限定款或聯名款口味,售價則每盒約在500到1,000日幣之間。

特殊的KitKat巧克力包含東京芭娜娜聯名款、橫濱地區的草莓起士蛋糕口味、京阪地區的多種茶類口味、以及沖繩當地特產的紅薯口味等。

除了上述所提的地點,若是想完整體驗到最高級、最美味的KitKat巧克力,那麼絕對不能錯過KitKat Chocolatory!KitKat Chocolatory是專門提供高品質的KitKat巧克力、使用頂級原料做成的特殊口味和禮盒的專賣店,在東京和大阪都有分店。這裡的產品在價格上雖然可能會打破您對KitKat的想像,不過在品質和獨特性上,絕對也能讓您留下深刻印象!

伴手禮選KitKat巧克力就對了!

無論您計畫何時前往日本旅遊,春天賞櫻、秋季賞楓或是冬季滑雪等等,您都能在不同的時間點找到KitKat巧克力隨季節推出的最新口味!不妨帶上一些特別口味的日本Kitkat巧克力回國當伴手禮,相信絕對能大獲朋友或家人的好評!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

New Sakura-Themed Kit Kat Flavors in 2020: Cherry Blossom Mochi, Sakura Sake, and More!

With spring right around the corner, sakura-flavored Kit Kat treats are making their way onto store shelves across the country. In this article, we’ll tell you all about why Kit Kats are so popular in Japan, where to buy them, and what other wild Japanese Kit Kat flavors you should try!

Nationwide

Shopping

Why Are Kit Kats Popular in Japan?

What comes to mind when you think of Japanese food? Maybe it’s a beautiful slice of sashimi, colorful sushi, or a piping hot bowl of ramen. Those are undeniably the country’s most representative dishes, after all.

But what about Japanese sweet treats? Whether you’ve been to Japan or not, there’s a good chance Kit Kats and their wide variety of flavors might come to mind. Japan’s favorite chocolate snack is far more than a simple piece of wafer coated in milk chocolate: there are hundreds of varieties of Kit Kats in Japan, some classic, others rare, and still more downright strange.

Kit Kats have been a mainstay among Japanese sweets for nearly fifty years after first coming to the country in the 1970s. It wasn’t until the turn of the millennium, however, that this little snack took on a larger-than-life role in the sweets industry. The first new and experimental (but now standard) flavor, strawberry, was released around 20 years ago. Nearly 400 flavors later, Kit Kats today are an iconic part of Japanese food culture.

Nestlé Japan’s willingness to tinker with new flavors has earned this snack a lot of attention, but there are other uniquely Japanese reasons for this bite-sized snack’s big popularity. First is in the pronunciation: Japanese folks tend to pronounce Kit Kat as "kitto katto", which coincidentally sounds similar to the Japanese phrase "kitto katsu", meaning something close to “assured victory”. This pun has made Kit Kats a popular gift for those seeking a bit of extra luck, particularly for students taking exams.

The second reason is the Japanese tradition of giving souvenirs, or "omiyage", to family, friends, and co-workers after traveling. Regional Kit Kat flavors like Shizuoka wasabi, Hokkaido melon, and Shinshu (Nagano) apple make for cheap and fun souvenirs that are easy to share. This popularity has contributed to the snack’s popularity among travelers both domestic and from abroad.

What’s New in 2020?

While the year has only just begun, Nestlé Japan is kicking off the spring season with a returning favorite in Sakura Japanese Sake and a newcomer, Sakura Mochi.

Sakura, or cherry blossom trees are emblematic of the spring season. Sakura mochi is a treat typically enjoyed this time of year. and is made of pink mochi rice cake wrapped in a pickled cherry blossom leaf and filled with red bean paste. Both of these Kit Kat flavors were released March 2nd, 2020.

Other newer flavors released this year include Yuzu Matcha, a blend of green tea and citrusy flavors, and Ichigo (Strawberry) Daifuku, a traditional Japanese rice-based sweet with strawberry and red bean paste flavors.

Also recently released was an Easter Banana flavor. While banana is not a new flavor for Kit Kats, the brand is aiming to highlight their new, eco-friendly paper packaging by including a white, Easter-themed image on the front that can be colored in for fun. A bag of those would definitely make for a great souvenir!

Note: Please be aware that the Sakura Japanese Sake Kit Kat contains 0.7% alcohol.

Where Can I Buy All Those Kit Kats!?

The good news is that Kit Kats can be purchased in all sorts of places throughout Japan: convenience stores, supermarkets, wholesale locations, drug stores, and even at the post office! The bad news is that finding new or popular flavors, can be a bit daunting and perhaps even a bit expensive.

If you’re looking for a budget-friendly option with less variety, convenience stores and supermarkets will be your best bet. The massive general store Don Quijote can also meet your Kit Kat and other snacking needs on the cheap.

While most supermarkets such as SEIYU or wholesale retailers like Gyomu Super carry the basic rotation of Chocolate, Green Tea, and Strawberry flavors, they usually also carry a seasonal flavor. At the time of writing this article, the aforementioned three flavors along with the newer Yuzu Matcha flavor can be found in bags of 9 at SEIYU supermarkets for between 200 and 300 yen. Not too shabby!

Convenience stores tend to carry the newest flavors in boxes of 3 for around 120 yen per box. These smaller size options are perfect as a snack during your travels, and won’t take up much space in your luggage if you're looking for a small, packable souvenir. Currently, the Sakura Mochi and Sakura Japanese Sake flavors are available at Family Mart and other convenience stores throughout the country.

Keep in mind that the turnaround of limited edition flavors can be surprisingly fast in Japan, which means that the newest flavors could very well be sold out when you visit! Unfortunately for this author, the sakura-themed flavors were indeed sold out when he visited his local Family Mart. However, he did find another seasonal flavor: Raspberry!

If you want to ensure you can find the newest and most popular flavors, then souvenir and duty-free shops in and around airports, train stations, and major bus terminals are the way to go. Such shops will almost certainly be carrying both newer flavors and their regional flavors, and tend to cost between 500 and 1,000 yen a box.

Some examples include Tokyo Banana in Tokyo, Strawberry Cheesecake in the Yokohama area, a variety of fancy tea flavors in the Kyoto and Osaka areas, and the popular beni-imo (purple sweet potato) flavor in Okinawa.

For the truly premium and even gourmet Kit Kat experience, look no further than the Kit Kat Chocolatory locations. They can be found in in Tokyo and Osaka, and specialize in high-quality Kit Kat bars, flavors, and gift sets. While these ranges cost more than you might expect from the Kit Kat brand, their quality and uniqueness is sure to impress!

Japanese Kit Kats: The Perfect Souvenir

Whether you have plans to come to Japan for the cherry blossoms, the fall leaves, or to shred some slopes in winter, you'll doubtless find a brand new seasonal Kit Kat flavor each time you visit.

You’ll surely win some kudos from your friends and family by coming home with some unique Japanese Kit Kats for them as a souvenir!

 


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search