前往福岛体验会津涂、手绘红牛与当地威士忌!沉浸于福岛传统工艺与特产的魅力之中

福岛县位于日本东北地区的南部,这里除了有为人熟知的丰富自然资源,还有日本自古以来仍存留的武士文化。此外,这里还有知名的红牛、会津漆器等传统工艺品与威士忌等当地特产。如果有机会造访福岛,可以体验制作属于自己的独一无二的原创工艺品,借此留下美好回忆。在这篇文章中,tsunagu Japan编辑部与福岛的当地导游一起参加了能体验传统工艺制作与特产的行程。未来如有机会前往福岛旅行,请多多参考本篇文章,别忘了参加当地的行程以获取宝贵的体验。

*This article was sponsored by the Fukushima Prefecture Tourism & Local Products Association.

认识福岛

提到福岛,在脑中可能会浮现的是2011年东日本大地震的记忆,而事件发生至今也已过了10年。经历震灾的福岛,现在已有大幅度的复苏,眼前所见的是丰饶自然与绝美景色,还有美味的食物与独特的传统文化等,拥有多种魅力。

福岛县位于东北地区南部,从东京往北距离约200公里。仅次于北海道、岩手县,是日本面积第三大的地区。福岛县有南北走向的山脉,因此这里又划分为“中通”、“会津”与“滨通”三个区域。三个区域除了地形不一样,气候、经济、文化、方言与风情等也截然不同。“中通”气候温暖,坐拥大自然的恩赐,盛产桃子、葡萄、苹果等好吃的水果;“会津”有许多知名景点,例如:猪苗代湖、磐梯高原、大内宿、鹤之城等地方;“滨通”则因位于沿海地区,最著名的就是能享用新鲜的海鲜料理。

这次的行程主要位于“中通”的二本松市和郡山市以及“会津”的会津若松市,共三个城市。各个区域都具有独特的历史背景与传统,进而影响产生出不同的传统工艺品。通过参加当地的传统工艺品制作体验,可以接触到福岛各城市的历史、地理及其他有趣的内容。

前往福岛的交通方式

海外出发:由于现在没有从海外到福岛机场的直航班机,要前往福岛,必须在仙台国际机场或成田国际机场搭乘电车、新干线或出租车。

东京出发:从东京到福岛站搭乘新干线约1小时30分钟,抵达后再前往各地区。或者从浅草站搭乘东武铁道“特急Revaty”到会津田岛站,路程约3小时10分钟,再从会津铁道转车即可抵达目的地。

●FUKUSHIMA TRAVEL官网

https://fukushima.travel/

●福岛其他旅游行程一览(英文)
https://fukushima.travel/tours/

在“二本松市和纸传承馆”体验纸灯笼制作

和纸于2014年成为联合国教科文组织(UNESCO)非物质文化遗产认定的日本传统工艺品。造纸术于7世纪从中国传入日本,但有别于中国以麻造纸,日本造纸主要使用的原料是楮。

福岛县的二本松市在约1000年前的平安时代中期开始盛行造纸,上川崎和纸也因此成为这个区域的传统工艺品。当时,上川崎和纸在贵族间非常受欢迎,据说作家为了写小说也会经常使用。这次为了体验学习和纸的制作工序,造访了生产与销售上川崎和纸的“二本松市和纸传承馆”。馆内除了展示和纸制造的现场样貌,还有用和纸制作的灯罩、绘画等作品,整体分为作品展示区与销售区两个区域。

上川崎和纸的特色在于以百分之百的楮,全程通过手工抄纸(手漉)的方法制成。在这里你可以学习到,原来为了去除杂质获取称作“纸浆”的原料,需先采取楮树树枝,再将其蒸软、剥皮、清除黑色表皮、泡水、煮等经过层层工序。然后再将“纸浆”放进水槽,加入水与纸药(为防止纸浆凝固,采取于植物“黄蜀葵”中的黏液)混合后,接着才能开始制作和纸。

实际参观和纸的制造过程后,接着是参加装饰纸灯笼的体验。现场已准备好直径11公分的球形灯笼,灯笼外层的材料是以和纸制成。和纸表面些许的粗糙质地,流露出独特的时尚感。由于制作灯笼需花费大量时间,因此灯笼已先为大家准备好,接着只需按个人喜好装饰设计即可。

在进行装饰前,也能先参考馆内展示的设计范本。范本上面装饰着用色纸剪出的红叶、樱花与菊花等图样。而大家的工作,就是将要用于装饰的花样剪下来贴在灯笼上,虽然难度不高,但图样摆放的位置也可以说是一大学问。

作品完成后,将光源放进灯笼中。从里面透出的光线,使灯笼更显光彩夺目。带回家后可将这个手工制的灯笼摆在房间装饰,也可当作一份精心制作的原创伴手礼,送给好友或亲戚。

在拥有300年历史的人形工房“凸屋敷大黑屋”中体验绘制狐狸面具

“凸屋敷”位于福岛县郡山市西田町,是一家专门制作手工木雕人偶的店家,也是三春驹、三春张子等三春民艺的发源地。承续约300年多的传统,这个区域成了为人熟知的制作“张子人形(人形玩偶以竹子或空心木制作成形,在外层涂抹粘合剂、上色装饰)”的专家聚集地。笔者很荣幸有这样的宝贵机会能造访凸屋敷大黑屋,欣赏这里展示的三春张子、面具、达摩、十二生肖等多种作品。

参加狐狸面具绘画体验前,导游与匠人为大家解说,狐狸面具对日本人的生活有何意义以及其历史渊源。狐狸面具经常使用在能乐与神乐等技艺中。此外,由于狐狸也能帮助击退老鼠保护农作物,自古以来更成为全日本稻荷神社所祭祀的农业神。特别是在以养蚕与绢织物出名的郡山地区,狐狸更是人们在农业与生产活动时的中心信仰。

张子人形的体验制作在有着114年悠久历史的古民家2楼举行。这里为每个人都准备了全白无装饰的狐狸面具、水彩用具、笔等工具。体验的内容就是在狐狸面具上彩绘出自我风格的图样。

在开始绘制之前,匠人桥本先生向大家展示了两个分别是公与母的狐狸面具作为范本参考。想以哪个作为仿效样本挑战都可以,但看来公狐狸的面具似乎较为复杂困难。当然,如果觉得要画得与范本相同实在有难度,也非常欢迎大家画上自己独特的原创风格。

绘制狐狸面具时,非常追求细节及脸部左右对称等讲求手指的灵巧度,因此绘制时可能会比想象中困难。不过,即使画错也可以使用白水彩涂掉修正,无须过度担心。请尽情地绘制创造出属于自己的狐狸面具吧。

完成狐狸面具后,还可以带着自己的成品到邻近神社拍照。在绿意盎然、静谧清幽的空间里,感受狐狸面具些许神秘与不可思议的力量。

前往“会津涂传承馆 铃善”体验会津涂莳绘

福岛县会津地区,是与金泽(石川县)、越前(福井县)、纪州(和歌山县)齐名的日本四大漆器产地之一。约16世纪时,在当时的会津藩主蒲生氏乡大力推广下,带动了这个地区的漆器产业发展。虽然有段时期受战乱影响,但会津的漆器产业很快又再次复苏,直至明治时代,会津更成为日本第一的漆器产地。会津的漆器广泛出口至其他地区与海外,对会津若松地区的经济发展有很大的贡献。

这趟行程来到了会津若松市的“会津涂传承馆 铃善”。在这里不仅能学习到会津漆器的历史,还能在经验丰富的匠人指导下,参与会津涂莳绘体验。馆中整体分为几个展区,例如:传授会津涂历史的“传承藏”、展示美术作品的“美术藏”及体验会津漆器莳绘的“体验藏”等。

听完有关会津漆器的历史与技术的介绍后,接着是实际参观匠人的莳绘技法(漆器工艺中代表性的加饰技法之一)、参加漆器加饰的体验活动。笔者在这次的体验中选了漆器盘。由于参加者全员都是初次体验,因此在绘制时有提供真实的红叶作为样本参考,帮大家省去需凭空想象绘图的烦恼,更能简单轻易地完成。

首先,选择喜欢的红叶大小,将漆料涂满红叶后放置于盘子上。接着通过纸张一手拿好叶柄部分,一手使劲按压叶片,将叶子上的树脂涂料均匀转印至盘子上。然后无论是要换另一片大小不同的红叶,还是继续使用同一片红叶都由大家自由发挥。但要特别注意的是,由于漆料会越来越淡,一定要用力按压才能完美地转印到漆器上。印上叶子的图样后,下一个步骤就是以莳绘粉上色。现场准备了大量的莳绘粉,尽情使用喜欢的颜色创作吧。上色完后,匠人会协助大家将多余的莳绘粉擦拭掉。如此一来,缤纷耀眼的红叶漆盘就大功告成。

此外,匠人也会教大家绘制樱花与蜻蜓等其他图案。看着匠人以锐利笔触绘制的姿态,令在场所有人惊叹不已。画上樱花后,整体感觉更加栩栩如生。用笔沾涂料绘制时却不小心涂错的话将难以修正,因此这是一个需熟练细腻技巧与细心谨慎的工作。

虽然对笔者来说这是一个有难度的挑战,但在匠人亲切细心的指导下,大家都顺利地完成了自己的作品。充满光泽的黑底盘子中,色彩缤纷的图案格外显眼,在灯光下更加闪耀动人。结束后每个人都能将自己的作品带回家,是一次非常宝贵的经验。

参观鹤之城与体验红牛绘画

纯白的鹤之城是造访福岛时不容错过的知名观光景点之一。这座城堡建立于1384年,象征着江户时代末期的会津藩。这趟游览行程中,会让大家边看城堡各时期的照片边认识它的历史渊源。鹤之城的特征就是它的红瓦屋顶,过去曾有段时期是黑色屋瓦,但在2011年为了对抗低温与大雪,决定将黑瓦换成红瓦。像会津这样会下大雪的地区,瓦片容易结冻破裂,因此在瓦片上会涂抹含有铁质成分的釉药以阻挡水分渗入,也因此,瓦片表面就会变成红色。如今,鹤之城是日本唯一一座的红瓦屋顶城堡。

这天早晨秋高气爽,天空碧蓝澄净,笔者一行人来到了鹤之城。蓝天之下耸立的城堡,眼前的景象既庄严又美丽。参观鹤之城时,当地导游出了几个有关城堡与武士的谜题。虽然不容易全部答对,但通过令人津津乐道的猜题,能帮助大家对于日本历史与文化有更深厚的了解。有了猜谜的乐趣,鹤之城的参观行程更具意义且有深刻的回忆。

鹤之城的参观行程结束后,接着前往邻近的“鹤之城会馆”体验红牛绘画。“赤べこ(Akabeko)”是福岛县的象征——红牛,前往福岛县时,可以经常在各场所中看见其踪影。之所以称作Akabeko,是因为在会津地区的方言中,家牛的读音就念作“beko”。而日文的“赤”代表红色,因此“Akabeko”就是红牛的意思。大约在1200年前,这个地区为了建立寺院,会利用牛群搬运木材。但行进过程中,大多数的牛都累倒不起,最终只靠强壮的红牛才得以完成。此后,人们开始相信红牛能带来幸运,有小朋友的家庭中也会用红牛的玩具庆祝生日。至今,红牛依然是会津地区的吉祥物,深受人民爱戴。

参加这项体验时,大家都会拿到一只全素、无图案的红牛、笔、绘图工具与湿纸巾。桌子上也有摆着供参考用的红牛成品。红牛的表面光滑,比起漆器绘制更加简单,即使画错了,也可以立即用纸巾轻松擦拭干净。画上独特的图案,来制作一个独一无二的红牛作品吧。

照片中是大家完成的红牛,是不是很可爱呢?每次看到它就会想起福岛旅行的回忆,是一个非常有意义的伴手礼。

参观笹之川酒造的安积蒸馏所,认识日本威士忌的酿造方式

大家是否知道日本是与美国、苏格兰、爱尔兰、加拿大并列世界五大威士忌的产地呢?这样说来,造访日本时没有走一趟威士忌蒸馏所就太可惜了。很幸运地,在这次的行程中,有机会访问以东北最古老的“地方威士忌蒸留所”著称的福岛“笹之川酒造”。创立于1765年的“笹之川酒造”,当时主要酿造的是日本酒,直到第二次世界大战结束前都未曾生产过威士忌。而这次造访的“安积蒸馏所”是2016年10月底设立的威士忌蒸馏所,继承了笹之川酒造的传统与历史。

首先参观的是蒸馏厂,里面摆放了谷物研磨机、两台大型的铜制蒸馏器以及蒸馏用的各种机器。听着导游一边说明制造过程,一边将所有器材功能全看过一轮。酿造威士忌需经过原料洗净、糖化、发酵、蒸馏、储藏等多道工序。

接着前往并列摆放着上百个木桶等待威士忌熟成的储藏库。“安积蒸馏所”为了酿造出各式各样的威士忌风味,使用了各种木桶。最基本的是橡木桶,其他还有红酒桶、白兰地桶与波特桶,以及日本独有的水楢桶。根据使用的木桶种类,威士忌的价格也会有所差异。

这趟行程中最让人期待的,就是能够试喝在笹之川酒造与安积蒸馏所酿造的酒。从日本酒到各种风味的威士忌都可以试饮。单一麦芽威士忌的酒精浓度约50%,其中最知名的高级品牌就是“山樱单一麦芽威士忌”。接着是“山樱 长期熟成梅酒 樽香梅”,这款带有梅子香气与些许酸味,缓和了威士忌的呛辣。因此,这款也很推荐给想品尝威士忌但酒量低的人。另外,在日本居酒屋中也可见大受欢迎的威士忌Highball“调和威士忌 山樱 黑标”。

虽然笔者不熟酒饮,但通过这次的行程,让笔者对于酒的种类与制作方式有了更多兴趣。回程前也买了威士忌当作伴手礼。在蒸馏所购买威士忌也是个珍贵的体验呢。有机会来到福岛,别忘了来一趟笹之川酒造。

结论

这次行程中各种有趣的体验,能帮助大家更深入了解福岛的文化、历史与人文。不仅能学习文化,通过自己双手制作原创的传统工艺品,还使这趟旅程更别具意义与深刻回忆。这些体验与每一个作品,今后都能让人忆起福岛的土地与热情的当地导游。通过这篇文章,如果你也因此感受到福岛的魅力,就别再犹豫,开始规划你的福岛之旅吧。

东北特集

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

欢迎关注 tsunagu Japan 开通做博账号啦!

作者简介

Nguyen
Nguyen Loan
  • Check out our writers’ top Japan travel ideas!

搜寻餐厅

Tour Fukushima's Traditional Crafts and Specialties - Decorate Aizu Lacquerware and Akabeko, and Try Local Whisky!

Fukushima Prefecture, located in the southern part of Japan's Tohoku region, is known for its rich natural environment and ancient samurai culture. It is also famous for traditional crafts such as “akabeko” figures and Aizu lacquerware, as well as specialties like whisky. To deepen our understanding of the region, we joined a guided Fukushima tour and tried our hand at making traditional crafts and seeing the magic behind local products. If you’re keen to uncover the real Fukushima through a local tour, read on!

Fukushima

Things to Do

*This article was written in collaboration with the Fukushima Prefecture Tourism & Local Products Association.

What Kind of Place Is Fukushima Prefecture?

The first thing that might pop into your mind when hearing "Fukushima" is the Great East Japan Earthquake of 2011. However, that was over 10 years ago, and the prefecture has now largely recovered and offers a variety of attractions, such as bountiful nature, beautiful landscapes, scrumptious cuisine, and unique traditions and culture.

Fukushima Prefecture is located in the south of the Tohoku region, around 200 kilometers north of Tokyo. It is the third largest prefecture after Hokkaido and Iwate, and is divided into three areas - Nakadori, Aizu, and Hamadori - by a mountain range running north to south. These three areas differ not only in topography, but also in numerous other features including climate, economy, culture, dialect, and scenery. The mild weather of Nakadori allows for a flourishing natural environment, perfect for growing fruits like peaches, grapes, and apples. Aizu, on the other hand, is home to many famous landmarks such as Lake Inawashiro, the Bandai Highlands, Ouchijuku, and Tsurugajo Castle. Finally, there's Hamadori, whose seaside location lends itself to fresh seafood cuisine.

The tour that we joined spanned three cities across Fukushima: Nihonmatsu and Koriyama in the Nakadori region, and Aizuwakamatsu in the Aizu region. Each has its own history and traditions, naturally influencing the local crafts, and through hands-on experiences with these crafts, we were exposed to the culture, geography, and other fascinating elements we likely would have missed!

How to Get to Fukushima

From Overseas: Currently, there are no direct international flights to Fukushima Airport, so we recommend taking the train, bullet train, or renting a car from Sendai International Airport or Narita International Airport to get to Fukushima.

From Tokyo: Take the shinkansen bullet train to Fukushima Station (1.5 hours), then transfer to whichever part of the prefecture you plan to visit. Alternatively, you can take Tobu Railway's Limited Express Revaty from Asakusa Station, which will take you to Aizu-Tajima Station in around 3 hours and 10 minutes. From there, take the Aizu Railway to your destination.

●FUKUSHIMA TRAVEL: https://fukushima.travel/

●FUKUSHIMA TRAVEL Tours: https://fukushima.travel/tours/

Making Lampshades at Nihonmatsu’s Washi Traditional Crafts Gallery

“Washi” paper is a traditional Japanese craft that was recognized by UNESCO as an Intangible Cultural Heritage in 2014. These papermaking methods were introduced from China in the 7th century, but unlike the Chinese, who use hemp, the Japanese use “kozo” (paper mulberry) as the main material.

Washi paper flourished in Nihonmatsu, Fukushima Prefecture, from the mid-Heian Period (approx. 1,000 years ago), eventually resulting in the creation of one of the region's traditional crafts, “Kamikawasaki” washi paper. At the time, this paper was very popular among nobility and was often the paper of choice for novels. In order to learn more about the washi-making process, we stepped into the Washi Traditional Crafts Gallery in Nihonmatsu, who produce and sell Kamikawasaki washi paper. In addition to the workshop, the gallery displays lampshades, artwork, and other items made from washi and more.

Here, Kamikawasaki washi is entirely handmade using genuine kozo. Tree trunks are collected and steamed, then the bark is peeled off and scraped to remove any black bits, after which it is soaked in water then boiled. This purifying process results in a kind of pulp called "shiryo," which is mixed with water and “neri” (a viscous liquid taken from the aibika plant that prevents the raw materials from hardening). Once these materials are prepared, artisans can begin shaping the washi paper.

After observing and trying our hand at the satisfyingly slimy washi-making process, we were given pre-made, “blank” washi lampshades to decorate. To save time, the craftspeople make these spherical lampshades in advance, which are 11 cm in diameter and have a slightly rough texture and stylish, sophisticated appearance.

Before decorating, take a look at the examples displayed in the gallery for inspiration, which include colored paper patterns like “momiji” maple leaves, “sakura” cherry blossoms, and “kiku” chrysanthemum. To decorate the lampshades, all we had to do was cut out the patterns we wished to use and paste them on. Though simple, the true test of skill lay in how the patterns were arranged!

Once we finished decorating, we put our lampshades in a special illuminated display box for a photo session! Afterwards, many of us used them to decorate our rooms, while others gave it to a friend as a one-of-a-kind souvenir.

Paint Fox Masks at the 300-Year-Old Doll Workshop “Dekoyashiki Daikokuya”

Dekoyashiki is a store in the Nishida district of Koriyama, Fukushima Prefecture, that specializes in handmade wooden dolls. It is also where local “Miharu folkcrafts,” such as “Miharu-goma” wooden horses and “Miharu hariko” papier-mâché dolls, were first made. The surrounding area was once an artisan village making papier-mâché dolls with bamboo or hollow wood, a craft that started around 300 years ago.

During our tour, we were welcomed into Dekoyashiki's gorgeous doll workshop, which had all kinds of intriguing crafts on display, such as Miharu hariko, traditional masks, daruma dolls, and even dolls based on the 12 Zodiac signs.

Our session focused on fox masks, which are often used in traditional Japanese performing arts like Noh and Kagura. Foxes have also been worshiped at Inari shrines throughout Japan as agricultural deities since ancient times, as they often kill rats and protect crops. For this, they are particularly revered in the Koriyama area, famous for its sericulture and silk weaving industries.

On the second floor of the 114-year-old traditional homestead, which is where the doll-making workshops are held, we were provided with a plain white papier-mâché fox mask, paint, and brushes. From here, we were given the freedom to paint the masks to our own tastes.

For inspiration, one of the artisans - Hashimoto - showed us two painted fox mask examples, one male and the other female. Each had their own unique motifs that we could freely copy, but we were warned that the male mask would be a tad more difficult. Of course, there's nothing stopping you from creating your own design!

Painting a fox mask is harder than you might think! You’ll need to be fairly dextrous to get all the little details right and make both sides of the mask even. But don't worry if you make a mistake, as you can simply erase it with white paint. Just sit back, relax, and enjoy the process of making your very own authentic, traditional fox mask!

Once we were done, we took our painted fox masks to a nearby shrine for a photoshoot. The silent, lush green space bristled with a mystical atmosphere, allowing us to feel the strange yet powerful spiritual force of the masks.

Aizu Lacquerware Painting at the Museum of Aizu Lacquerware Traditions “Suzuzen”

The Aizu region of Fukushima is one of Japan's top four lacquerware production areas, following Kanazawa (Ishikawa Prefecture), Echizen (Fukui Prefecture), and Kishu (Wakayama Prefecture). It all started in the 16th century thanks to the efforts of the feudal lord of Aizu, Ujisato Gamo. Though the industry was affected by warfare at one point, it made a speedy recovery and eventually became the top lacquerware area in the Meiji Period (1868-1912). Aizu lacquerware products are still widely distributed across Japan as well as exported overseas, contributing greatly to the development of the Aizuwakamatsu region.

On the tour, we visited the Museum of Aizu Lacquerware Traditions “Suzuzen,” where we learned about the history of Aizu lacquerware and experienced lacquerware painting under the guidance of a renowned craftsman. Suzuzen is a multipurpose complex with the “Lore Storehouse” telling the history of the craft, the “Art Storehouse” displaying works by master craftspeople, and the “Experience Storehouse,” where visitors can enjoy Aizu lacquerware painting for themselves.

After learning more about the craft’s history and how it's made, we were given a demonstration by one of the craftsmen before attempting it ourselves on a “maki-e” plate, which is one of the most common forms of lacquerware art. None of us had done anything quite like it before, so we used a real maple leaf rather than our own design, which was far easier.

First, we selected the maple leaf we wanted, then we applied a heavy coat of lacquer on one side and laid it down on the plate, placing a sheet of paper on top and pressing down to ensure an even print. Once the lacquer was firmly applied, we used maki-e powder (colored or metal powder) to dress it up from a wide selection of shimmering colors. The craftsman then helped us brush away the excess powder to reveal a sparkling maple leaf lacquerware plate underneath!

(If you want to add another pattern, all you have to do is pick a different-sized leaf or use the same leaf on another part of the plate. Keep in mind that doing the latter means the lacquer will get thinner, so you'll have to apply more force for it to properly adhere.)

The craftsman also taught us how to make other designs like cherry blossoms and dragonflies. His paintings were clean and sharp, with the cherry blossoms in particular coming alive when painted with color. As it is difficult to correct mistakes, lacquer painting requires a skilled and delicate hand with great care.

While far from easy, under the attentive care of the craftspeople, we managed to successfully paint our lacquerware plates. The vibrant maple leaves stood out starkly against the glossy black backgrounds, glittering elegantly under the light. It was a rewarding experience, and we couldn’t wait to take them home to show off!

Admire Tsurugajo Castle and Paint Your Own Akabeko

The pristine white Tsurugajo Castle is a must-see for any traveler visiting Fukushima Prefecture. It was originally built in 1384, and was the symbol of the Aizu Domain until the end of the Edo Period (1603-1868).

We learned a lot about the castle on the tour with the help of pictures depicting its appearance throughout history. For example, the most striking characteristic of the castle is its red tile roof. When the castle was rebuilt in 1965, the tiles were black, however, they were replaced in 2011 with the original red design to combat the region's low temperatures and heavy snowfall. Regular tiles are prone to freezing and cracking in such conditions, which is why the new tiles were glazed with iron to prevent moisture from seeping in, giving them their reddish hue. Tsurugajo Castle is the only castle in all of Japan with a red tile roof, making it stand out vividly amongst the rest.

We visited Tsurugajo Castle on a pleasant and clear autumn morning. The castle's visage painted a majestic scene, soaring high into the sky. While showing us around, our guide quizzed us on Japanese castles and samurai, helping us deepen our knowledge of local history and culture.

After touring the castle, we dropped into the nearby Tsurugajo Kaikan to join an “akabeko” painting workshop. These adorable red cattle figures are the symbol of Fukushima, and you’ll frequently spot them while traveling across the prefecture.

The name “akabeko” is derived from “aka,” meaning “red” in standard Japanese, and “beko,” meaning “cow” in the local Aizu dialect. Their origin starts about 1,200 years ago, when cattle were used to transport lumber for building temples. Many of them fell over in the process, but the red cattle stayed strong. Afterwards, people began associating red cattle with good luck, and today, local families still celebrate children's birthdays with akabeko toys.

At the workshop, we were given a blank akabeko with a brush, paint, and wet tissue. There was also a finished akabeko on the table for reference. The surface of the akabeko is smooth, making it far easier to paint than the previously introduced lacquerware, and even if a mistake was made, all we had to do was wipe it away with a wet tissue. It was a great opportunity to recreate a traditional craft with our own unique spin!

These were the final results. Aren't they adorable? There’s no doubt we’ll continue to treasure them as meaningful souvenirs reminding us of our time in Fukushima.

Learn How the Japanese Make Whisky at Sasanokawa Shuzo's Asaka Distillery

Did you know that Japan is one of the five largest whisky producing countries in the world, ranking together with the United States, Scotland, Ireland, and Canada? Needless to say, you shouldn't miss checking out a whisky distillery when you come to Japan!

During our tour, we stopped at Sasanokawa Shuzo, home to the oldest local-established whisky distillery in the Tohoku region. Founded in 1765, they initially made sake and didn't begin producing whisky until after WWII, and in 2016, they opened the Asaka Distillery to carry on their traditions into a new era of Fukushima whisky-making.

First up, we toured the distillery, which houses all sorts of fascinating equipment such as the grain mill and two large copper distillers. Listening to our guide's explanation, we quickly got a grasp of how everything worked, which ranged from the cleaning, processing, saccharifying, and fermenting of the raw ingredients, to the distillation and storage for aging.

Our next stop was the storage area, where hundreds of wooden casks filled with aging whisky were lined up. Asaka Distillery uses many different types of wooden casks to produce a variety of flavors. In addition to oak, the most common, they have wine casks, cognac casks, port wine casks, and even Japanese “mizunara” oak casks - a rarity that can only be found in Japan. The type of wooden cask it was aged in is a significant factor in determining the final price of the finished whisky, making it a vital part of the process.

While the distillery tour was endlessly fascinating, the highlight was getting to sample the brews! We kicked off with sake before diving into a selection of whiskies, including the premium Yamazakura Single Malt Whisky, which had an alcohol content of around 50%, and the Yamazakura Long Aged Plum Wine Bourbon Barrel, a splendid brew that carried the acidity and fragrance of plums to help tone down the whisky burn. The latter is perfect for those who aren't used to strong alcohol, but who want to make the most of the experience. Another notable addition was the Yamazakura Black Label, a blended whisky suited to highball cocktails popular at Japanese “izakaya” pubs.

Though some of us were new to whisky, we quickly found ourselves wanting to learn more about how it's made and the other varieties after the tour. We even went ahead and bought some whisky as souvenirs! There's nothing quite like buying whisky from an actual distillery, after all. If you have the chance to visit Fukushima, we’d definitely recommend making the journey to Sasanokawa Shuzo!

An Unforgettable Fukushima Tour

All the interesting and fun experiences on this Fukushima tour helped us deepen our understanding of the region's culture, history, and people. By engaging in authentic slices of the culture itself, such as traditional craft workshops and more, our trip became a lot more meaningful and memorable. The entire tour experience, including all the interactions with our fabulous guides, will doublessly grow into nostalgic memories that forever spark excitement. If you've fallen even a bit in love with the region after reading our article, why not plan a trip to Fukushima for yourself?

●FUKUSHIMA TRAVEL Blog: https://fukushima.travel/blogs/ 

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Tohoku Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Nguyen
Nguyen Loan
Klook.com

Restaurant Search