骑马、钓鱼、划桨、农业体验!推荐福岛4项观光行程,尽享山海恩惠

福岛县位于日本东北地区,从东京搭乘东北新干线最快1个半小时就能抵达福岛县内,是一个依山傍海、自然资源丰富的地区。这次我们参加数个活动,通过SUP(立式划桨)、骑马、钓鱼、采收蔬菜等深度旅游体验活动,进一步认识了福岛这块福气宝地。

福岛县

体验

※本文与公益财团法人福岛县观光物产交流协会联合撰写。

福岛是怎样的地方?

特征

福岛县位于日本东北地区最南端,面积为日本第三大,南北走向的山脉将县内分为中通、会津、滨通三个地区。此三地区除了地形迥异之外,气候、经济、文化、方言及风土等方面也截然不同。知名观光景点有猪苗代湖、磐梯高原、大内宿、鹤城所在的会津等等。福岛县年均温度根据地区而有所不同,从-4℃到35℃不等,温差很大。如果要享受雪上活动,推荐在1、2月时造访会津地区。

福岛的美食也非常多元,山珍海味应有尽有。其中最推荐水蜜桃,以福岛县的代表品种“AKATSUKI”为首,从初夏到晚夏都能品尝香甜多汁的水蜜桃,其产量也仅次于山梨县,位居全日本第2。

群山环绕的丰饶的土地与清甜的水源也带动白米和日本酒的发展,与札幌、博多并列日本三大拉面之一的喜多方拉面,清爽的酱油汤头与富有嚼劲的粗卷面条深受大众喜爱。

前往福岛的交通方式

航空路线

中国目前没有直飞福岛的航班,如果要搭飞机可先飞抵“东京成田国际机场”或“东京羽田国际机场”,再转搭电车、新干线或者租车自驾进入福岛县。如果从东京搭机则可利用国内线飞抵“福岛机场”,再利用巴士等交通工具前往目的地。

陆路

从东京出发,最快的交通方法是搭乘东北新干线前往。由东京车站搭乘新干线约1个半小时可抵达福岛的中心“郡山站”,再换乘盘越西线、盘越东线等地方铁道前往目的地。另外也可从浅草搭乘东铁道的Revaty前往“会津田岛”(约3个半小时),再换乘会津铁道前往目的地。

人与马共存的城镇,骑马漫步街头

福岛县的相马地区自古以来就是日本重要的养马地区,与马的渊源非常深厚。每年夏季举办的“相马野马追”拥有千年历史,400位身穿甲胄的骑马武者会进行非常刺激的甲胄赛马或神旗争夺战,能见到如历史名画般魄力十足的场面,现已成为日本的“重要非物质文化遗产”之一。以下将介绍在历史深厚的南相马市及相马市能体验的两项活动。

首先来到南相马市的小高站,Horse Value提供的“小高骑马散步”体验活动与一般骑马体验最大的不同之处在于,体验地点不是在牧场而是小高的大马路上!这是为了让退休的赛马能有安稳的第二马生,并让人们更加了解马这种动物,同时积极打造人与马共同生活环境的发展而构思出来的体验活动。

与我们一同散步的两匹马分别是个性成熟稳重的黑马Angelo(13岁),以及有些淘气爱撒娇的白马Watarin(8岁),它们都是从赛马场上退休的马匹,既高大又帅气。

小高站附近道路宽广但人车都稀少,我们骑在马背上,而马则由训练师牵着,即使没有骑马经验也不用担心。由于附近的小高神社是“相马野马追”庆典的主要举办地点之一,居民们对马儿都非常亲切,实际饲养马匹的人也不少。走过小高街道时,周围的店家及居民都很热情地打招呼,看起来非常疼爱这两匹马呢!

除了往返小高神社的“小高骑马散步”体验活动外,还有能在海边或森林中骑马的选项。如果有机会,欢迎来此感受马儿与此地区的温暖羁绊!

亲手削竹做钓竿,体验传统渔业活动

相马是福岛县滨通地区的沿太平洋海港城市,以渔业为主。此体验活动与松川浦周围旅馆合作,需与住宿方案一起订购。参加者将挑战亲手用竹子制作钓竿,然后绑上钓鱼线与鱼钩,前往海港钓鱼。

首先每个人需挑选一根喜欢的竹子,这种紫竹(日文称黑竹)茎较细,适合握在手中,向来是制作钓竿时的最佳选择。我们拿起锯刀将竹叶通通割下,割的时候还得留心下刀时的角度及位置,才能漂亮平整地割下枝叶,要是留有残枝,握住钓竿时就会刺痛手。而砍下的竹叶也别丢,之后还会派上用场。

竹竿绑上钓鱼线及鱼钩即算完成,接着就来到港口钓鱼,大家都是钓鱼新手,但甩出钓竿后没多久就有鱼儿陆续上钩,让初次体验钓鱼的我们非常有成就感。这边能钓到鰕虎,幸运的话还会有螃蟹上钩呢!

钓完鱼后我们前往放置竹叶浸渔的地方,根据当地导游的解说,我们得知一项先人智慧的结晶。就是将制作钓竿时砍下的竹叶捆起并放入海水中2个月,竹叶的味道将自然消散,颜色也会从鲜绿色转为棕色,而小虾与小螃蟹就将其视为藏身之处,因此捞起竹叶后抖一抖,就能自然捕捞到小虾蟹。这天很幸运地捞到了极为珍贵的野生海马,据说海马只会挑选水质干净的地方栖息,可见松川浦的水质之优良。

Moon road Starlight Cafe 沐浴在月光与满天星空之下

晚餐过后我们再次出发前往位于太平洋与松川浦之间的大洲海岸,这一带不但没有交通号志,也没有路灯,虽然一片漆黑,却凸显了满天星空之美!我们静静地品尝着咖啡,坐在震灾后重新盖起的防波堤上,等待月亮缓缓升起。首次看见如此大而皎洁的月亮,刚升起的月亮为橘红色,月光映在海面上,点缀着天空繁星点点,绝对是令人永生难忘的美景。虽然不是真正的咖啡厅,但也理解了为何此体验活动被称为“Moon road Starlight Cafe”。

划过绝美景色,女沼SUP体验

源自夏威夷的SUP(立式划桨)现在已是风靡全球的水上活动之一,日本也有无数能体验SUP的地点。这次我们来到位于福岛市西侧磐梯朝日国立公园内、土汤温泉区的“女沼”,风小无浪的湖沼非常适合SUP初学者。

女沼和附近的男沼是因火山作用加泥石流而形成,这次前往的女沼位于海拔532米高之处,水深最深8.7米,周围环境清幽,景色优美,本次前往体验时适逢秋季,由绿转红的山林美得令人惊叹。

在女沼进行SUP活动并不需要特殊的服装,便服即可。而平静的湖面不会起浪,只要遵守教练的指导,跌进湖中的几率也很低。在岸边看过教练示范如何划桨及控制冲浪板的方向后,套上救生背心即可开始体验。

首先以跪或坐姿划桨,待习惯后就能试着站在冲浪板上,导游及教练带着我们环绕女沼一周,湖水较浅的地方清澈见底,还能看见鱼儿在水中悠游。而岸边垂枝构成极浪漫的黄橙帘幕,乘着冲浪板穿梭其中的景象美如画,令人不禁想多按几下快门。

如果对冲浪板仍有不安,这边也有独木舟供选择,可独自划行,也可双人共乘,安心享受女沼的自然风光。

采收有机蔬菜,感受喜多方农家生活

喜多方位于会津地区的北部,是一个群山环绕的盆地,以日本三大拉面之一“喜多方拉面”出名。而喜多方也是日本第一个推出“绿色旅游”的城市,观光客可以通过农游等方式了解当地生活及文化。

这次参加的农游活动由温泉旅馆富士屋协办,首先前往富士屋的自家农园采收根茎类蔬菜,除了白萝卜外,这边还种有淡紫色、紫红色的萝卜,以及红色芜菁等市面上很少见到的品种,令人啧啧称奇。如果你住在日本,还能将采收下来的蔬菜带回家细细品尝,但即使不住在日本,也还是能在晚餐时段尝到这些有机蔬菜。

抵达富士屋后,我们进入了旅馆的厨房,在年轻老板娘的指导下调理新鲜采收的蔬菜,紫红色的萝卜切片后即可生吃,清脆鲜甜又带着微辣的尾韵,让人忍不住想多偷尝几片。我们用萝卜和芜菁拌成了沙拉,成为晚餐的一道菜肴;个人小火锅的汤中也会放入切片萝卜及现采有机菠菜增加鲜甜。

要说富士屋与一般温泉旅馆的不同之处,就在于其餐食跳脱传统框架,以有机、健康、创新为重点,不拘小节的摆盘虽然少了精致,却多了几分家庭般的温暖。

以上介绍的旅游行程平均体验时间约2~3小时,如果你有兴趣参加,也可以在旅游行程中任意穿插安排,为你的福岛之行增添不一样的色彩!

东北特集

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

作者简介

Ying
Ying Lu

搜寻餐厅

4 Unique Outdoor Travel Experiences in Fukushima: Horseback Riding, Fishing, SUP, and Farming!

Fukushima Prefecture is a diverse, nature-rich area surrounded by abundant sea and mountains. It is located in the Tohoku region, just 1.5 hrs from Tokyo on the Tohoku Shinkansen. In this article, we uncover the gems of Fukushima through exciting SUP, horseback riding, fishing, and vegetable harvesting experiences. If you’re seeking an extra addition to your Fukushima itinerary, read on below!

Fukushima

Experiences

Shop for made-in-Japan treasures - click to get 10% off your first order on our partner site BECOS

*This article is written in collaboration with the Fukushima Prefecture Tourism & Local Products Association.

About Fukushima Prefecture

The Characteristics of Fukushima Prefecture

Fukushima is the southernmost prefecture of the Tohoku region of Japan and the country's third largest prefecture by size. It is divided into three areas - Nakadori, Aizu, and Hamadori - by a mountain range running north to south. These three areas differ not only in topography, but also in a wealth of other features including climate, economy, culture, dialect, and scenery.

The Aizu area, which includes Lake Inawashiro, the Bandai Highlands, Ouchi-juku, and Tsurugajo, is one of the prefecture’s most famous tourist destinations. Fukushima is also characterized by large seasonal temperature differences varying from about -4°C to 35°C depending on the location. Between January to February, the Aizu area is particularly renowned for winter sports and gorgeous snowy landscapes.

Fukushima Prefecture is likewise blessed with fantastic food sourced from both its bountiful land and the sea. Fukushima peaches, particularly the “Akatsuki” variety, are extraordinarily delicious and a must-try! In fact, Fukushima is second only to Yamanashi in the quantity of peaches it produces all throughout the summer.

Fukushima is also known for the quality of its rice and sake thanks to its pristine waters. It is also the birthplace of Kitakata ramen, one of the three great ramen noodle dishes of Japan alongside Sapporo and Hakata. This ramen is loved for its light, soy-based soup and chewy, medium-thick curly noodles.

How to Get to Fukushima Prefecture

By Air

International flights to Fukushima Airport are limited, so visitors should either fly to Sendai International Airport or Ibaraki Airport and continue by train, shinkansen (bullet train), or car. You can also take a domestic flight from Tokyo to Fukushima Airport and travel by bus or some other form of transportation from there.

By Land

The easiest way to travel from Tokyo is on the Tohoku Shinkansen, which takes about 1.5 hrs to Koriyama, the center of Fukushima Prefecture. From Koriyama, there are local trains such as the JR Ban-Etsusai Line and Ban-Etsuto Line connecting various destinations within Fukushima.

Tobu Railway also offers the Limited Express Revaty service taking roughly 3.5 hrs from Asakusa Station to Aizu-Tajima Station. Once at Aizu-Tajima Station, there are services on the Aizu Railway to get to your destination.

A Horseback Tour in a Town Where People and Horses Coexist

Minamisoma in Fukushima Prefecture has been deeply connected to horses since ancient times.

At the annual Soma Nomaoi festival, visitors can witness heroic scenes straight out of historical picture scrolls as approximately 400 horsemen clad in samurai-style armor compete in horse races and battles to capture flags. A traditional event with over 1,000 years of history, Soma Nomaoi is designated as an Important Intangible Folk-Cultural Property of Japan.

For this article, we visited the organization Horse Value near Odaka Station in Minamisoma. Unlike most horseback riding experiences, which are often limited to farm areas, the "Odaka Horse Walk” took us on a horseback tour around the streets and roads of Odaka. This tour gives retired race horses a second life while promoting interaction between people and horses to deepen our understanding of these magnificent animals.

Our two companions were Angelo (age 13), a gentle black horse, and Watarin (age 8), a charming white horse. Both were handsome retired racing horses.

The roads around Odaka Station are wide with hardly any cars or people. The trainer will lead the horses, so riding experience is unnecessary! On the way is Odaka Shrine, which plays a central role in the Soma Nomaoi festival. Many locals own horses themselves and treat them kindly and with respect. We received numerous warm greetings from shopkeepers and locals - Angelo and Watarin seem to be local favorites!

Along with a trip to and from Odaka Shrine, the Odaka Horse Walk can also include an excursion to the beach or forest!

If you’re curious about trying a beginner-friendly horseback riding experience, we definitely recommend the Odaka Horse Walk! You’ll surely be moved by the heartwarming relationship between the town's residents and horses!

Make Your Own Bamboo Fishing Rods and Fish the Traditional Japanese Way

Being in the Hamadori area of Fukushima Prefecture and facing the Pacific Ocean, the main industry of Soma is naturally fishing! This Soma fishing experience is offered as a package with overnight accommodation at local ryokan inns around Matsukawaura Bay. Participants will get to make their own bamboo fishing rods and try their hand at traditional fishing!

First, we selected the bamboo. With a thin stem that’s easy to hold, black bamboo is the ideal material for a great fishing rod! We then carefully sawed off the bamboo leaves while paying attention to the angle and placement to get clean, flat cuts. Any burrs left will dig into your hands and hurt when holding the rod, so do be careful! The leaves that are sawed off are kept aside to be used later on.

After tying fishing lines and hooks to the rods, we set off to the port to try our hand at fishing. While everyone was a beginner, the fish enthusiastically bit from the moment we dropped our lines, making us feel proud of our work! The main catch here is “haze” fish (goby), but if you're lucky, you may catch crabs as well!

After fishing, we moved location to see traditional “sasabitashi” fishing in action. According to local guides, this fishing method was born from the wisdom of their ancestors. When the sawed off bamboo leaves are left in sea water for two months, they naturally lose their scent and change color from bright green to brown. Shrimp and small crabs soon make their homes in them, allowing them to be easily caught by scooping up the leaves and shaking them out. We were lucky enough to also spot sea horses among the catch! Sea horses can only survive in clean water, providing a true testament to the quality of Matsukawaura Bay's waters!

Moon Road Starlight Cafe: Relax Under Moonlight and Starry Skies

After dinner, we took a walk to the Osu Coast, which sits between the bay of Matsukawaura and the Pacific Ocean. There are no traffic or street lights in the area, making it pitch black and yielding an incredible night sky filled with stars. We sat on a breakwater built after the Great East Japan Earthquake and listened to the local guide's stories about the area's history while sipping coffee and watching the moon rise. This was the first time we had seen such a large and vivid moon, making it immediately clear why this experience was called the “Moon Road Starlight Cafe,” even if it is not actually a cafe. The moonlight reflected on the ocean and the sky brimming with twinkling stars is a sight we’ll never forget.

Menuma Lake SUP Experience: Paddle Amongst Stunning Scenery

Standup paddle boarding (SUP) is a marine sport originating in Hawaii that has become popular around the world. Naturally, there are many places in Japan to give it a try, including Menuma Lake in Tsuchiyu Onsen within the Bandai-Asahi National Park to the west of Fukushima City. The calm waters of this gorgeous lake are perfect for SUP beginners!

Menuma and the nearby Onuma were created through volcanic activity and landslides. Menuma lies 532 m above sea level and boasts a depth of up to 8.7 m deep while being surrounded by beautiful, lush nature. We visited in the fall and the colors of the encompassing trees changing from green to red were utterly breathtaking.

There is no particular attire required for SUP in Menuma - just casual, comfortable clothing. The lake is still and there are hardly any waves, so there is no danger of falling into the water as long as you listen to the instructor. After watching a demonstration on shore on how to control the board, we donned our life jackets and set out into the lake!

First we practiced paddling sitting down. Once we were used to it, we tried standing up and paddling around the lake with our guide and instructor. The fish swimming in the shallows and surrounding branches of rich yellow and orange foliage wove together an enchanting view we couldn’t stop photographing!

If SUP isn’t your thing, you can opt for kayaking instead. The tour offers both single and double kayaks, allowing a comfortable ride to fully relish the beauty of Menuma.

Harvest Organic Vegetables and Experience Farm Life at a Kitakata Farm

Kitakata is a basin north of the Aizu area surrounded by mountains. It is famous for Kitakata ramen, one of Japan's three great ramen dishes. Kitakata was also the first city in Japan to promote "green travel," allowing visitors to experience the local lifestyle and culture through farming experiences and tours.

The farming experience we participated in was held by the onsen ryokan inn Fujiya. The first part of the tour saw us visit a farm run by the inn to dig up root vegetables. We were surprised to find not only regular white daikon radishes, but also exotic varieties rarely seen in supermarkets like purple and red daikon and red turnips. If you live in Japan, you can take the harvested vegetables home. If not, you can enjoy them for dinner at the inn!

Once back at Fujiya, we were led to the inn's kitchen where we cooked the freshly harvested vegetables under the instruction of the young proprietress. The reddish purple daikon can be eaten raw after cutting and boasts a delightfully crisp and sweet taste with a slight sharpness. The white daikon and turnips were made into a salad while the organic vegetables were served in individual hot pots and enjoyed with minced daikon for added sweetness.

Through its organic, healthy, and creative food, Fujiya truly stands out from other onsen ryokan inns. While the unconventional arrangement and simple cooking may not be the most lavish, it more than makes up for it through the nourishing warmth of home cooking.

The average duration of the experiences introduced here is between 2-3 hours. If any have piqued your interest, feel free to incorporate them into your travel plans and add some unique fun and excitement to your next Fukushima adventure!

 

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

Tohoku Feature

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

About the author

Ying
Ying Lu

Restaurant Search