偽出國!從中華街、韓國街到法國街,精選日本8條讓人誤以為在海外的異國街道

日本是全世界經濟發展程度最高的國家之一,從早前直到今日,有許多外國人因留學或工作而移居日本。來到日本的外國人大部分都會聚集在同一個區域生活,即使身處異鄉,為持續保有自我國家的獨特性而組織外國人交流活動。本文整理了8個坐落日本但外國文化濃厚的街道,舉凡中華街、巴西街、韓國街、法國街,究竟有什麼不同與特別之處呢?一起繼續看下去吧!

日本

美食

1. 巴西街 - 大泉 Brazilian Town(群馬)

大泉是個眾多大型製造工廠聚集的工業區,自1990年代起,由於勞動人口不足的問題,日本入國管理局改變政策,開放日裔巴西人與尼泊爾人能在日本自由地工作,進而促使此地區的企業能更積極地雇用日裔巴西人到工廠工作。因此,居住在大泉的巴西人明顯增加很多,其人口大約佔大泉總人口數的10﹪(截至2020年1月調查),大泉也因而成為日本規模最大的「巴西街」。在巴西街,不僅有販售巴西的生鮮食品、麵包、調味料、紅茶及果汁等各式各樣食品店,也有多間專賣黑豆飯(Feijoada)與巴西窯烤(Churrasco)等巴西料理的餐廳。

如果您想要享受在巴西文化的氛圍之中,那就千萬別錯過在大泉舉行的大泉祭典「International Stage」等活動。此地區的日本居民與巴西人在祭典中舉辦各式熱鬧有趣的交流活動,可說是氣氛最熱烈且最大的祭典盛事之一。

從西小泉站下車即可抵達巴西街,交通相當簡單方便。寫著西小泉站的看板顏色,使用巴西具代表性的綠色與黃色,一看就讓人彷彿有瞬間來到巴西的感受。從西小泉站再稍走幾步,就能看到與日式傳統家屋完全兩樣風情、具有獨特建造與色彩的住宅,這裡正是巴西餐廳與商品專賣店的集中地。

2. 韓國街 - 生野 Korea Town(大阪)

如果您是韓國迷,來大阪時一定要順道走一趟生野區的「韓國街」。自1600年代起,這裡就是日本商人聚集的商店街。由於大阪急速都市化發展,對於當時貧困的朝鮮半島人民是個相當有魅力的發展據點,吸引了很多朝鮮人來這裡找工作並移居於此。因此隨著朝鮮人的增加,對朝鮮的商品需求也漸增,為因應此需求,日本商人便開始經營零售商店。然而因為戰爭的關係,此商店街的日本商人必須離開避難,因此就將商店便宜地賣出或租給朝鮮人。之後於1955年至1975年間,這條商店街逐漸成長擴大,除了有韓國人與北朝鮮人會聚集於此,連大阪甚至近畿地區的商人都對這裡有興趣。雖然商店街也有景氣不好的時候,但利用朝鮮傳統色突顯特色差異,讓韓國街再次恢復生氣,吸引大量觀光客朝聖成為人氣觀光景點。

生野的韓國街有三個商店街,分別是御幸通中央商店街、御幸通東商店街與御幸通商店街。從食品、服飾、化妝品到伴手禮等約有120間各式各樣的店家。若想品嘗正統韓國料理,這裡絕對是您的美食天堂。

另外再介紹一條稱作鶴橋的韓國街。這條街位在JR近鐵鶴橋站旁邊,交通相當便利,從這裡也能直接走路到生野的韓國街。鶴橋的韓國街有許多特色燒肉屋與可愛咖啡廳,其特點與魅力也絲毫不遜色。

3. 中國街 - 橫濱中華街(神奈川)

橫濱中華街、神戶南京街、長崎新地中華街,稱為日本三大中華街。這裡最早是外國人進行貿易而開拓的街道,隨著時間推進,中華料理店日漸增多,慢慢擴大形成具有中國文化特色的街道,成為如今中國人聚集的中華街樣貌。現今在橫濱中華街所位在的橫濱市中區,全部的外國人中據估計約有64.6﹪是中國人。

1859年橫濱港開港後,從中國移居至日本的人口不斷增加。此後中國商人開始建設學校或中國語交流中心,中華街也因此漸漸孕育而生。但根據當時的日本法律,外國人只能住在某些指定區域,受到許多限制。1899年日本頒布新法令後,才開始准許中國人有更寬鬆的移動範圍。1937年日中戰爭爆發,中國街也受到嚴重影響。直至戰後,中華街建造牌樓才正式獲得認定,而成為今日所看到的中華街。經過時間的流逝,日本與中國的關係漸漸有所改善,日本人與海外旅客也對中華街有了更多的興趣。

橫濱中華街匯集了相當多餐廳、中華食品行與伴手禮店。此外,還有很多販售饅頭與奶茶等美食的街頭小吃店。在這櫻花國度中,如果突然想來點中國味的話,走趟橫濱中華街絕不讓您失望。

4. 美國村 - 美濱美國村(沖繩)

美濱美國村位於沖繩中部地區,是造訪沖繩這座美麗島嶼時,不容錯過的著名觀光景點。美國村所位於的度假區,最早是第二次世界大戰結束後所建設的美軍住宅區。隸屬駐日美軍福斯特營、且位在沿海的亨比機場,於1981年歸還給日本之後,政府開始著手將機場遺跡北側的海岸一帶海域進行人工填海,並在此區建立美國村與北谷公園,而美國村工程在2004年正式完工。

這裡的環境氛圍,讓每位旅客擁有瞬間來到美國西海岸般的感受。美國村結合了餐廳、購物商場與遊樂園,能同時利用多種休閒娛樂設施。特別在夜晚時,乘坐在大型摩天輪中飽覽美國村景色,對於喜歡浪漫氣氛的人,想必會是個既特別又別具意義的禮物吧。

5. 印度街 - 西葛西(東京)

西葛西位於東京江戶川區,是全日本最多印度人聚集生活與工作的地區之一。自1970年代,日本開始販售印度紅茶後,印度人便開始移居至此地區居住且進行商業買賣。但實際上真正引起「爆發性移居」是在世界走入全新年代之際、也就是2000年之後才發生的事。

進入21世紀,電腦資訊系統特別是處理時間相關資料時,產生了極大的問題。為解決這個危機,日本必然需要極大的IT人才。而印度是擁有IT領域頂尖人才的國家之一,因此有許多印度人被派遣到日本工作。他們的工作場所主要在政府機關、銀行及大企業辦公大樓,居住地也進而選擇在東西線上交通就近方便的西葛西,於是此區域便逐漸成為印度人的活動據點。

西葛西有許多的餐廳是由印度人擔任店長經營,因此可以品嘗到最道地且多樣的印度料理。此外,還有伴手禮店可購買印度產品當作為禮物。另外,這裡每年還會舉辦「東京Diwali Festival西葛西」等文化交流活動,未來如果有機會來到西葛西,別忘了在東京都心體驗一下「印度風」吧!

6. 法國街 - 神樂坂(東京)

如果您很喜歡法國的話,非常推薦到神樂坂逛逛!由於神樂坂整體結合了法國文化與日本傳統風格,來到這裡就彷彿走在歐洲某條街道上。1952年,東京日法學院(2012年改名為Institut français du Japon Tokyo)建校於神樂坂,因此越來越多法國人開始聚集於此地區。學校除了有法文課程,還有各式交流活動及法國文化相關體驗。若想更深入了解這個浪漫國家,就千萬別錯過走訪神樂坂的機會喔!

神樂坂聚集了各式各樣的餐廳,從高級餐廳到平價餐館應有盡有。每間餐廳各個特色鮮明,這裡的「正統法式料理」必能滿足您挑剔的味蕾。

7. 緬甸街 - 高田馬場(東京)

高田馬場被稱作是日本的緬甸街,在新宿區大約有1800位緬甸人,大部分都聚集且居住於高田馬場附近,也因此這裡有許多緬甸餐廳、食品店、服飾店與髮廊。此外,日本緬甸文化中心辦事處也設立在高田馬場。來到這裡,除了可以品嘗緬甸美食,還能藉由緬甸的語言與傳統舞蹈、樂器,更深度了解緬甸文化。

這裡最具代表性的建築就是「Tak11高田馬場(タックイレブン高田馬場)」。這棟大樓中有許多商店,也是很多緬甸人日常生活常去的地方。從門口進去,就能看到寫著緬甸語的指南表示貼在牆壁各處。各式各樣的店家中,有販售緬甸零食與調味料的食品店、販賣緬甸傳統布匹與服飾的雜貨店、還有旅行社可購買機票,以及餐廳可品嘗緬甸道地料理。

如果您熱愛美食,這裡還有一個小情報要告訴您,就是這裡還有一間日本電視節目曾造訪過的知名緬甸料理餐廳 Nong Inlay,有機會造訪高田馬場時千萬別忘了來品嘗一番。這間餐廳不僅有緬甸的傳統料理魚湯麵與茶葉拌豆,還可品嘗到竹蟲與蟋蟀等特殊蟲蟲料理。

8. 越南街 - 銀杏住宅區(神奈川)

提到在日本越南人最多的地方,多數人首先想到的或許是人多熱鬧的新大久保吧。但其實還有個叫銀杏住宅的地方,大家是否有聽過呢?銀杏住宅區有條境川穿越其中,其佔地橫跨橫濱市與大和市,但如果想找販售越南商品的店家,需渡過綠橋往橫濱市方向走才能找到。此住宅區於1971年建立,原先就有許多外國人居住在此,其中以越南人的比例最多。從小田急小田原線的高座澀谷站走一段路後即可抵達銀杏住宅區。

身處在這寧靜的住宅社區中,當地的越南食品店與越南料理餐廳,深受來自各地客人的熱烈支持與喜愛;在這裡還能輕鬆買到越南風味的調味料、蔬菜與水果。另外像是越南火腿、烤肉丸或自己在家難以製作的越南傳統料理等美食,都可以外帶回家享用。由越南人經營的越南餐廳,提供最道地的越南料理好吃絕不在話下,例如國際知名的越南河粉、順化牛肉檬粉與炸春捲等豐富料理菜色,以及越南各區域特色美食應有盡有。另外,如果您喜歡越式三明治,請務必光臨這邊的越式三明治專賣店,品嘗看看這個號稱「世界最棒的街頭小吃」!

隨著全球化的發展,每年移居到日本的海外人口日益增多。無論過去或現在,到日本學習與工作的外國人,為持續保有自我國家的獨特性而產生交流,帶給日本更多樣的文化色彩。希望透過本文,讓每位讀者能對異國文化有更多的興趣,也能發現原來在日本也有如此多變的樣貌等著您去探索喔!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

See the World Without Leaving Japan by Visiting These 8 Ethnic Enclaves

Japan, being one of the most economically developed countries in the world, has long been the destination of many foreigners looking to study or work there. Many of them have tended to concentrate in one specific place, creating their own cultural islands and forming communities that preserved their identities and ways of life. In this article, we’ll take a look at such foreigner enclaves around Japan and see what makes each one special!

Nationwide

Food & Drinks

1. Brazilian Enclave: Oizumi’s Brazil Town (Gunma)

Oizumi is an industrial area where the plants of some of Japan’s biggest manufacturers are located. During the 1990s, Oizumi was struggling with a workforce shortage, prompting the Immigration Bureau to revise its policies and allow Nepalese or Brazilians of Japanese descent to work in Japan without any restrictions. It’s why many Japanese-Brazilians are now working in Oizumi plants, and why the Brazilian population has risen so much, currently making up 10% of all the people in the area (as of January 2020). This makes Oizumi the biggest Brazilian enclave in all of Japan and explains why it’s full of Brazilian grocery stores, bakeries, shops selling Brazilian spices, tea, juices etc., or restaurants serving Brazilian specialties like feijoada or churrasco.

If you want to immerse yourself in Brazilian culture, then you have to visit one of Oizumi’s many exciting events like the “International Stage,” a huge festival that brings Japanese and Brazilian people together.

You can easily access Brazil Town from Nishi-Koizumi Station. You won’t be able to miss it, because the station signs are in Brazil’s iconic green and yellow, which will make you feel like you’ve actually traveled to another country. The enclave is located just a little way away from the station and full of distinctive, colorful houses that stand out from the surrounding Japanese structures. You’ll be able to find many Brazilian restaurants and Brazilian specialty shops here.

2. Korean Enclave: Ikuno’s Korea Town (Osaka)

If you’re obsessed with Korea, you simply cannot miss Osaka’s Ikuno Koreatown. This is a commercial street with about 120 stores that extends 500m on either side of the Miyuki-no-Mori Shrine, which has a 1600-year history. During the Taisho Period (1912-1926), when Osaka underwent rapid growth, the Tsuruhashi Market was established in the area, and many small businesses flourished nearby. This proved to be an ideal location for Koreans who were struggling in their home country to move and earn a living, and so more and more Koreans settled here. As the number of Koreans in the area grew, so did the demand for Korean goods, so many of these new arrivals to Japan opened up their own small shops. During the war, many Japanese merchants fled Ikuno, so many of them rented or sold their businesses to Koreans at very low prices.

Between 1955 and 1975, Ikuno continued to grow and soon started to attract the attention of not just South and North Koreans but also all other merchants from the surrounding Kinki region. Ikuno has experienced lean years as well, but by setting itself apart thanks to its Korean roots, the area has managed to bounce back as one of Japan’s most famous Koreatowns, and today it is a popular tourist destination.

Ikuno’s Koreatown is made up of three shopping arcades: the Miyuki Street (Miyuki-dori) Arcade, the Miyuki Street Central Arcade, and the Miyuki Street East Arcade. You’ll find close to 120 shops here selling everything from groceries to clothing, beauty products, and souvenirs. For those looking for a taste of Korea, there is no better place than Ikuno.

There’s also the Tsuruhashi Koreatown nearby. It’s located right next to Tsuruhashi Station on the JR and Kintetsu lines, so it’s very easy to get to, and it’s actually within walking distance of Ikuno. The Tsuruhashi enclave is full of charming yakiniku (grilled meat) restaurants and cute cafes, so it’s definitely worth a visit.

3. Chinese Enclave: Yokohama’s Chinatown (Kanagawa)

Alongside Kobe’s Nankin-machi and the Nagasaki Shinchi Chinatown, Yokohama’s Chinatown is one of the largest Chinese enclaves in all of Japan. Originally, it was a place for foreigners hoping to do some international trading, but as time went on, more and more Chinese restaurants opened in the area, bringing with them plenty of Chinese culture. Soon, the area became a place for Chinese people to congregate, and today, Yokohama’s Naka Ward, where the city’s Chinatown is located, has a foreign population that’s 64.6% Chinese.

In 1859, the Port of Yokohama was opened, and Chinese immigrants soon began arriving in Japan. These foreign merchants quickly established their own schools and community centers, laying the foundation for the Chinatown that was to come. However, they came across plenty of roadblocks, like being legally confined to a few specific areas. An 1899 law gave them some freedom to move around more freely, but the start of the Second Sino-Japanese War in 1937 was felt severely throughout Yokohama’s Chinatown. However, once the war was over, the area’s now famous gates were erected, and Yokohama’s Chinatown was officially recognized. Over the years, relations between China and Japan have gradually improved, and Chinatown continues to host both Japanese people and visitors to the country.

There are many Chinese restaurants, Chinese grocery stores, and souvenir shops here, as well as places selling popular street food like manju (steamed buns) and milk tea. Visit Yokohama’s Chinatown to get a glimpse of China right here in the Land of the Rising Sun.

4. American Enclave: Mihama’s American Village (Okinawa)

No trip to Okinawa would be complete without checking out Mihama’s American Village. Located in central Okinawa, Mihama is one of the most popular tourist spots on the island chain. Currently a resort area, it used to house American troops after World War II. The American Village, together with nearby Chatan Park, was constructed on reclaimed land off the north side of what used to be Hamby Airfield, a coastal structure that was part of the United States Marine Corps’ Camp Foster, but which was returned to Japan in 1981. The construction of the American Village officially concluded in 2004.

The American Village is meant to feel like the US West Coast. It’s home to restaurants, shops, and an amusement park, so there is something to do here for everyone. The night view of the American Village from atop the giant Ferris Wheel is especially romantic and an unforgettable experience for couples.

5. Indian Enclave: Nishi-Kasai (Tokyo)

Nishi-Kasai is located in Edogawa-ku (Tokyo) and houses one of the largest populations of Indian people in Japan. It got its start thanks to the Indian tea boom of the 1970s, which brought merchants from the Indian subcontinent to Japan’s capital. However, the flow of immigrants was relatively slow until the new millennium, when it exploded around the year 2000. At the time, Japan was dreading the Millennium Bug, and was desperately looking for IT experts on computer data systems, especially calendar data. Naturally, Japan turned to India, one of the top nations when it comes to IT, and requested their computer experts. They mainly worked in government institutions, banks, and offices of major corporations, so most of them were housed in Nishi-Kasai due to its proximity to the Tokyo Metro Tozai Line. That was the origin of the Indian community in Tokyo.

At Nishi-Kasai, you’ll be able to get a real taste of India, thanks to the area’s many Indian restaurants managed by actual Indians. You can also find plenty of souvenir stores full of original Indian goods. Every year, the area hosts the “Tokyo Diwali Festival Nishi-Kasai,” so if you ever get the chance, visit Nishi-Kasai and experience the soul of India in the heart of Japan’s capital.

6. French Enclave: Kagurazaka (Tokyo)

Francophiles should head on straight to Kagurazaka where French culture and the Japan of days past come together! When you’re in Kagurazaka, you feel like you’ve taken a wrong step somewhere and ended up on a European street. The area started attracting French people in 1952, when the Institut franco-japonais de Tokyo (the Tokyo French-Japanese Institute) was established here. In 2012, the institute changed its name to the Institut français du Japon. Besides French-language courses, the area also hosts cultural exchange activities and other events related to French culture. Visit it if you want to learn more about this romantic European country!

You will find many French restaurants in Kagurazaka, from high-class ones to more affordable options. Each one offers something different but all of them will give you a taste of genuine French cuisine.

7. Burmese Enclave: Takadanobaba (Tokyo)

Takadanobaba is known as Japan’s Myanmar enclave. There are about 1,800 Burmese people in Shinjuku, and most of them are in the Takadanobaba area, which is full of Burmese restaurants, grocery stores, clothing and beauty shops etc. Even the Japan Myanmar Culture Center has an office here. If you want to learn about Burmese culture through its food, language, traditional dances or music, then Takadanobaba is just the place for it.

One of the symbols of the area is the Tack Eleven Takadanobaba building, where many Burmese people live and work. Once you enter the building, you’ll find loads of signs written in Burmese, as well as plenty of different stores from Burmese sweets and spices shops to general stores selling traditional Burmese cloth and clothes, travel agents, restaurants, and more. If you’re more interested in the food, then you have to visit the famous Nong Inlay restaurant, which has been featured on Japanese TV. They not only serve Myanmar’s traditional dishes like mohinga or lahpet, they also have insect dishes on the menu, including bamboo moths and crickets.

8. Vietnamese Enclave: Icho Danchi (Kanagawa)

When people think about a place in Japan with the most Vietnamese people in it, their minds turn to the lively and busy streets of Shin Okubo, but how many of them have heard about the Icho Danchi housing complex? Located on the Yokohama side of the Sakai River, which marks the border with Yamato City, Icho Danchi is accessible through the Midoribashi bridge. Once you cross it, you will find yourself surrounded by Vietnamese shops. Dating back to 1971, this area has long been an enclave for all kinds of foreigners, but primarily for Vietnamese people. Icho Danchi is located just a short walk from Koza-Shibuya Station on the Odakyu Odawara Line.

The area is rather calm and quiet, but local businesses are thriving thanks to visitors looking for Vietnamese grocers and restaurants. You can easily find Vietnamese spices, vegetables, and fruit here, as well as traditional Vietnamese dishes that you could never make at home, like ham and whole-roasted meats. If you want a taste of genuine Vietnamese cuisine prepared in Vietnamese restaurants managed by Vietnamese people, then this is the place for you. Besides well-known dishes like pho, bun bo hue, and deep-fried spring rolls, you will find many regional specialties here as well. Fans of banh mi sandwiches, voted the most amazing street food in the world, will be satisfied here as well!

With the ongoing march of globalization, more and more people continue to immigrate to Japan every year. Whether it’s to study or to work, all of them eventually create communities to preserve their unique cultural identities, which help make Japan more diverse. We hope that this article has helped you understand some of those cultures better, and will inspire you to go out there and experience them firsthand.


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search