【实用资讯】日本消费税从8%→10%!但部分商品不适用新税率?日本消费税调涨彻底解说!

2019年10月1日起,消费税将从现在的8%调涨至10%。日本政府着眼于国家未来发展,并为了确保社会保障财源而实施此项政策,此次的修正不仅只有增税,部分措施略为复杂,因“复杂难懂”而造成大众讨论。其原因之一为饮食类商品等部分项目不适用于10%新税率,而是属于“减轻税”。其中对于“外食”的定义详加分类,也使新制度的构造更加繁杂。那么,此项措施对于访日与在日外国人将带来什么影响呢?这次将以浅显易懂的方式解说增税的结构,以及不受到增税影响的项目等内容。

日本全国

旅行攻略

日本的消费税从8%调涨为10%

2019年10月1日凌晨0点开始,日本消费税将由现行的8%调涨至10%。回溯消费税的历史,1989年4月首次导入消费税制度,当时的消费税为3%,1997年4月调整为5%,2014年4月则提升至8%,此次为第三次增税。

日本因少子高龄化问题日趋严重,加上社会保险费用等因素,导致年轻族群的负担逐年增加。在此种情况下,如为了社会保障财源而提升所得税与法人税等赋税时,将使年轻世代的负担加重。为了不加重某特定族群的负担,包含高龄者等由全国人民共同负担的消费税很适合当作高龄化社会中社会保障的财源,这也是此次税率增加的缘由。

但这次的增税并非单纯增加税率,其构造复杂难懂。原因为与这次增税同时实行的“减轻税”有关。首先将解释其构造,再解说其与访日外国游客与居住于日本的外国人有何关联。

什么是减轻税?

减轻税是以“减轻日常生活中许多消费者常消费或利用的东西的消费税”此种想法为基础,特定项目由普通的10%税率调降为税率8%。特定项目是指“饮食类商品(酒类与外食除外)”与“报纸(定期订阅并每周发行二期次以上)”此两类商品,这些被列入减轻税对象之物的消费税将维持修正前的8%。后者报纸与访日外国游客关系不大,但前者饮食类商品则大有关联。其中除外食与酒类之外、属于减轻税对象的饮食类商品具体来说到底有哪些呢?

属饮食类商品的项目/不属于的项目

米、蔬菜、肉类、鱼类、乳制品、面包、零食与矿泉水等皆为饮食类商品,消费税维持8%不变。虽然酒类非减轻税对象,但无酒精啤酒与含酒精零食等物则适用。此外,医药品与药妆品不适用于减轻税,但非医药品的红牛能量饮料与怪兽能量饮料等部分能量饮料、健康食品与美容食品等皆为减轻税的适用对象。

到目前为止,只需分辨“属于饮食类商品”或“不属于饮食类商品”,便不会很难理解。但问题在于外食并不列入税率减轻对象,其划分相当细微。

不属于减轻税对象的外食的定义是什么?

减轻税中,“符合标准的外食”与“不符合标准的外食”其定义到底是什么呢?接下来将说明难以分辨其消费税为8%或10%、适不适用于减轻税对象之物。

举例来说,如在便利店购买便当并在便利店外享用时,这种情况就不属于外食,而是“转让饮食类商品”,所以属于减轻税对象(消费税8%)。但如果在便利店内用区用餐就属于外食,不属于减轻税对象(消费税10%)。目前还不知道在可内用的场所购买餐点时,店员会不会询问消费者关于内用的问题;常在电视新闻上看到政府有可能请店员在结帐时询问消费者“会不会在内用区用餐”的消息,但实际上这个规则也可能会被人利用,或许有些人会在结帐时说“不会内用”,但却在“内用区用餐”,如何判断怎样的情况可列入减轻税尚未有清楚的说明。

和便利店相同,如在吉野家、Suki家与松屋等牛丼店、麦当劳、肯德基等速食店,以及星巴克等咖啡厅外带时,也属于“转让饮食类商品”,符合减轻税的条件;但在店内享用时则视为外食,不适用于减轻税。如上述图片所示,10月起,星巴克店员在结帐时将会询问顾客“会在店内用餐还是外带?”消费税金额将有所差异。

但在主要并非供应与销售饮食类商品的营业场所购买食物时,情况就变得更加复杂。举例来说,摊贩与美食街等处没有桌椅时,购买餐点属于“转让饮食类商品”,符合减轻税的条件,但如有桌椅等设备且在当场享用时,则视为“外食”,不属于减轻税对象。此外,于卡拉OK用餐时因为有桌椅,所以也被视为外食,不属于减轻税对象。

接下来最麻烦的是电影院相关规定。相信每个人都有在电影院售票处购买过饮料或爆米花等餐饮,并在看电影时享用的经验吧?如果在观赏电影时饮食则为减轻税的适用对象,但在售票处旁的桌椅用餐则视为外食,不属于减轻税的范围。

主要非供应与销售饮食类商品的营业场所,大致上可想成如在有饮食设备(桌椅)之处用餐则为外食,不属于减轻税对象,消费税为调涨后的10%,非以上情形则不属于外食,适用于减轻税,消费税为调涨前的8%。

零食中附赠品的零食,有时也不属于减轻税的对象?

举例来说,日本人熟悉的零食 “圣魔大战巧克力(附角色贴纸)”与“固力果附赠品的牛奶糖”,还有红茶与茶杯一同销售的套组等物皆为很好的例子。上述商品如符合以下两个条件,即为减轻税的适用对象。

1. 商品未税价格为1万日元以下
※未税价格超过1万日元的商品当然不属于减轻税适用对象

2. 食品价格超过整体三分之二
※举例来说,4000日元的红茶与2000日元的茶杯合售6000日元时,因食品价格占整体三分之二以上,所以属于减轻税适用对象

 

总而言之,这次的减轻税仅限于“饮食类商品”,可说是以“非饮食类商品为主要商品时则不属于食品”此种思考模式为基础的制度。

以上述附赠贴纸的“圣魔大战巧克力”来说明,贴纸只是赠品,圣魔大战巧克力占商品整体(商品价格)三分之二以上,因此可列入减轻税的适用对象。另一方面,固力果附赠品的牛奶糖则以赠品为主,食品价格占不到整体三分之二,因此不属于减轻税适用对象。

消费者有时很难判断这类型的商品,建议事先在网络上查清楚,或者询问店家为佳。

此外,日本某些期间限定的活动常销售附赠品的瓶装饮料,此时的赠品为非卖品,即使无赠品售价也不会改变,所以赠品价格为0元,饮食类商品占整体价格三分之二以上,因此为减轻税适用对象。

其他还有什么改变呢?

这次伴随着消费税法修正,2019年10月1日至2020年6月的9个月期间,消费者于有登录的中小型店家以非现金方式付款,即可得到2~5%的积分回馈。

 

消费税调涨后的一定期间内有积分回馈,此措施是为了抑制因增税而导致消费停滞的现象。回馈方式有回馈各支付方式的积分、即时回馈(当场折抵)两种。对于旅客来说,后者即时回馈的方式较为有利。

接受即时回馈的主要支付方式与店家如下。

  • JCB、三井住友卡、SAISON CARD、UC卡、三菱UFJ NICOS(部分)的信用卡因着重于简洁明了,所以会直接折抵与积分相当的金额
  • 各大型便利店(7-11、全家、Lawson、MINISTOP)也采用即时回馈方式(直接折抵)

虽然网站只有日文,但以上资讯可参阅、搜索此链接中的网站

消费税什么时候开始呢?

接下来的话题主要和9月30日~10月1日滞留于日本的人有关。24小时营业的店家与凌晨也有载客的出租车等,实际上又是在10月1日的哪个时间点消费税制度改变呢?

24小时营业的店家,何时改变消费税?

坦白说,每家店改变的时间不一,以下列举出已从各家报导等处了解的确切资讯。

  • 7-11、全家与Lawson三家大型连锁便利店为“商品扫描入库的时间如为9月30日,则税率维持8%”
  • 经营Gusto、Bamiyan与Jonathan等大型家庭餐厅的云雀集团则为“日期改为10月1日时,会先请店内的顾客以8%税率结帐,之后更动为10%”
  • 24小时营业的杉药局为“9月30日晚上11点59分59秒前开始结帐者为8%,10月1日才开始结帐者为10%”
  • 卡拉OK铁人为“隔天早上开始营业时调整为10%”

出租车何时改变消费税?

这一点很可能各家出租车公司也不尽相同。大型出租车公司“帝都自动车交通”表示横跨9月30日与10月1日的乘车费用维持8%,“三和交通”也是10月1日早上出车的出租车才将消费税改成10%。另外,出租车业界最大型公司“日本交通”关于横跨9月30日与10月1日的乘车费用则表示“现在尚未决定”。

以上以浅显易懂的方式,说明了消费税法修正一事对于访日外国游客和在日外国人的影响,你是否更加了解了呢?请将此篇资讯分享给身边即将赴日的亲友们,未来参考此篇文章,享受聪明购物的乐趣吧!

本文提供信息均以公开时为准。

Weibo

搜寻餐厅

A Simple Guide to Japan's Tax Hike From 8% to 10%: What Was Affected and What Are the Exceptions?

On October 1st, 2019, the consumption tax rate in Japan increased from 8% to 10%. The Japanese government undertook this measure to help fund social security for the future; however, opinions were raised about the complicated details of the tax hike. Part of the confusion arose from the introduction of “reduced tax rates”, which are now applied to certain products. This has meant that not all items have been affected by the new tax rate. The food service industry in particular now has especially detailed categorizations to determine exactly what is affected. So, what does this all mean for tourists in Japan? This article will outline the details of the tax hike and explain how it has affected (or not affected) goods and services.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

Japan's Tax Hike from 8% to 10%

The consumption tax rate in Japan increased from 8% to 10% starting at midnight on October 1st, 2019. Consumption tax was first introduced in Japan in April 1989 at 3% and was increased to 5% then 8% in April 1997 and April 2014, respectively. That makes this the third time that the consumption tax has increased.

With Japan’s aging population and low birth rate, the burden placed on the working population of Japan has continued to increase in order to maintain and support things such as social security. Under these circumstances, if corporation tax or income taxes were raised to source capital for social security, the working population would bear the most burden. That is why the consumption tax raise was considered the best option, so that the entire population would bear the burden as equally as possible.

Unlike previous times, however, this tax hike was quite complicated to understand and remember. The issue lay with the "reduced tax rate" - a policy wherein certain goods and services were not subjected to the increase in tax - which was introduced alongside the increase in consumption tax. Here is a look at how this has impacted tourists in Japan.

What Are Reduced Tax Rates?

Reduced tax rates refer to the reduction of the regular 10% tax rate to 8% for specified products in order to “lessen the burden that falls on widely consumed daily necessities”. The specified products include food/drink products (excluding alcohol and food eaten outside of homes) and newspapers (regular subscriptions to newspapers published at least twice a week). Since food/drink products are consumed more, let's focus on how this tax hike impacted them.

Impacts on Food and Drink Products

The reduced tax rate of 8% is chiefly applicable to rice, vegetables, processed meats, snacks, and mineral water. Alcohol-related products are not eligible in general, with the exception of non-alcoholic beer and alcoholic sweets. Medicinal products and quasi-pharmaceutical products are also not eligible for the reduced tax rate, but certain non-medicinal products (Energy/Vitamin Drinks, Health/Beauty Foods) such as Red Bull and Monster Energy are.

Up until this point, the distinction was basically between whether something is a food/drink product or not, so it wasn't too difficult to follow. The complicated part is when foods consumed outside of homes are not eligible for the reduced tax rate. The specifics regarding this are quite elaborate.

What Are the Rules for Food Eaten Outside of Homes?

What exactly determines whether the food consumed outside of homes are eligible for the reduced tax rate or not? We will explain here the distinctions that can make it difficult to determine whether something is taxed at 8% or 10%.

For example, if a bento box is purchased in a convenience store and eaten outside of it, it is considered a “simple transfer of food/drink products”, so it is eligible for the reduced tax rate (8% tax). If the food is consumed in the eat-in area of the convenience store, however, it is considered “dine-in” and is not eligible for the reduced tax rate (i.e. 10% tax).

Similarly, when food/drinks are purchased as take-out in gyu-don (beef rice bowl) shops like Yoshinoya, Sukiya, and Matsuya, fast food restaurants like McDonald’s and KFC, or cafes like Starbucks, it is treated as a “simple transfer of food/drink products” and eligible for the reduced tax rate. Conversely, the reduced tax rate is not applied for products consumed in the restaurant. As pictured above in Japanese, Starbucks is inquiring about eat-in or take-out at the time of purchase.

When it comes to establishments where the sale of food/drink products is not their main function, it becomes more complicated. For example, if seating is not provided by street vendors or food courts, the products are sold with the reduced tax rate as the “simple transfer of food/drink products”. If seating is available and used, it is considered “dine-in”, so the products are not eligible for the reduced tax rate. Regarding consumption of food/drinks at karaoke, seating is provided, meaning the food/drinks consumed are be eligible for the reduced tax rate.

Movie theaters are even more complicated. You probably have experience going to a movie theater and buying some drinks or popcorn to enjoy during the movie. If the foods/drinks bought at the concession stands are consumed inside the theater while you watch a movie, the purchase is considered “simple transfer of food/drink products” and is sold with the reduced tax rate. If the food/drinks are consumed in a seating area near the concession stand, however, it will be considered “dine-in” and sold with the regular 10% tax.

For establishments where the sale of food/drink products is not their main function, the general rule of thumb is that using the provided seating area determines your purchase as “dine-in” (10% tax) and not using a provided seating area determines your purchase as “take-out” (8% tax).

Snacks That Come with Toys May Not Be Eligible for the Reduced Tax Rate

Take for example the popular Japanese snacks "Bikkuriman Chocolate" (with character stickers) and "Glico Caramel" (with a toy) or sets of tea and teacups. These are eligible for the reduced tax rate as long as the following requirements are met:

1) The price of the product (pre-tax) is under 10,000 yen. 
* Products over 10,000 yen are sold with the regular tax rate with no exceptions.

2) The price of the food/drink product, if sold in a set, must be at least two thirds of the total price.
* For example, if a tea and teacup set is sold for 6,000 yen where the tea costs 4,000 yen and the teacup costs 2,000 yen, the tea is two thirds of the total price, so the set is eligible for the reduced tax rate.

Essentially, the reduced tax rate is only applicable for food/drink products, and if a product’s main component is not the food or drink, it is not counted as a food/drink product.

In the case of the aforementioned snacks, the stickers that come with the Bikkuriman Chocolate are merely extras, and the value of the chocolate exceeds two thirds of the total value, so they are sold with the reduced tax rate. For the Glico Caramel on the other hand, the toy is the main part of the product and since the caramel is less than two thirds of the total value, they are sold with the regular tax rate. Determining these distinctions can be difficult, so you may want to do some research online or ask someone at the store.

In Japan, special campaigns are periodically held where bottled drinks come with an extra item. In these cases, the items are not for sale, and because the bottled drinks with the items are sold for the same price, the value of the extra item is considered as free. Consequently, the value of the food/drink product exceeds two thirds of the total value, so it is sold with the reduced tax rate.

What Else Has Changed?

Cashless payments at registered small/regular businesses between October 1st, 2019 and July 1st, 2020 were eligible for a 2-5% reward-point rebate.

The aim of this rebate system was to soften the impact of the tax hike for a certain period of time after it is implemented. There are two methods to the system: point reward systems for individual services or a discount on the spot equivalent to the point value. For visitors in Japan, the latter has greater merit.

The following are the types of purchases and stores where immediate discounts could be applied:

  • Credit card payments including JCB, Sumitomo Mitsui Card, SAISON CARD, UC Card, and Mitsui UFJ NICOS (partial) had a simple process of directly discounting the equivalent point value from the purchase.
  • Large convenience store companies (Seven Eleven, Family Mart, Lawson, Ministop) provided a direct discount on the spot equivalent to the point value from the purchase.

Bonus: When Exactly Was the Tax Hike Put in Place?

For services that run 24 hours including taxis, when exactly was the new tax rate put into effect on October 1st?

What About 24-Hour Stores?

Frankly speaking, the exact time of implementation varies by the service or store. The following is some information that was officially announced prior to the change.

  • For the three largest convenience store franchises (Seven Eleven, Family Mart, and Lawson): “8% tax [was] applied if the first product is scanned during the 30th of September." As an example, even if midnight struck while the cashier was scanning your items, as long as the first product was scanned during the 30th of September, your entire purchase was taxed at 8%.
  • For family restaurants run by the Skylark Group, including Gusto, Bamiyan, and Jonathan’s, customers were given a bill with 8% tax applied at midnight of October 1st. After that, the new 10% tax was applied.
  • The 24-hour Sugi Drug Pharmacy had the same policy as the convenience stores: “If the first product is scanned by 11:59:59 pm of the 30th of September, the 8% tax rate [was] applied. Purchases started after midnight [were] subject to the new 10% tax.”
  • The karaoke chain Karaoke no Tetsujin “[applied] the new 10% tax starting with the opening of the stores on October 1st”.

What About Taxis?

Like other services, the details of implementation varied by the taxi company. Teito Motor Transportation, a large taxi company, announced that taxi rides that started before midnight and ended afterwards would still be charged with the 8% tax. Likewise, Sanwa Kotsu Taxi stated that the 10% tax was only applied from the morning shift taxis on October 1st.

This was a simple summary of the consumption tax rate revision to explain some of the complicated details for foreign visitors in Japan. This information will hopefully come in useful when you're shopping and sightseeing around Japan!


If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Restaurant Search