【日本文化】8種體驗相撲樂趣的方法

相撲不僅是日本傳統運動,同時也是日本文化的一部分。這裏有些訣竅可以幫助你完整地享受相撲體驗!

日本

實用資訊

相撲是眾所皆知的日本傳統運動。你可以在電視上看到相撲比賽,但也許不是很了解它,甚至搞不懂相撲到底是怎麼比賽的。觀賞相撲比賽,會是了解與感受日本文化很重要的一部分。這裏有些訣竅讓你可以充分享受在日本的相撲體驗!

en.wikipedia.org

1.他們算是運動員嗎?

Kaiketsu/Wikimedia Commons

有些人以為相撲選手只是因為比較大隻又肥胖所以才從事相撲。但是當你看到這些選手在比賽中展現出來的力道時,會讓你非常驚訝。

他們的身體柔軟,而且大多數相撲選手原本是很優秀的運動員,例如柔道、籃球等選手。他們看起來似乎很肥胖,但他們的肌肉其實非常強壯而結實。有些相撲選手的BMI指數甚至只有10%,就像其他的職業選手一樣。

相撲選手每天都透過練習來鍛鍊他們的身體。他們的身體內部有強壯的肌肉,肌肉的外層則包覆著脂肪。事實上相撲選手們認為這些脂肪很重要,可以讓他們承受對手強力的拳擊與掌掴,保護他們不受傷害。

眼見為憑,只要注意看一下相撲比賽,你就會理解的!

2. 相撲部屋

在成為真正的相撲選手(力士)之前,所有的選手都必須要接受完整的體檢。一旦通過體檢,選手就可以加入他們的相撲部屋。目前全日本大約有40間相撲部屋。

相撲部屋是由親方,也就是教頭,所領導。同一個部屋的力士們都住在一起。他們一起練習、一起吃飯、一起學習。大部份的力士從很年輕的時候就開始他們的職業生涯。有些人在僅有15、16歲時就取得力士的資格。親方,和他的夫人,御上さん(0kami-san),負責照顧部屋裡的力士。對這些年輕人來說,他們就像是父母親一樣。

3.相撲力士的等級怎麼看

en.wikipedia.org

相撲力士的等級很多。因為等級太多,所以我想介紹比最高等級的部分,也就是所謂的幕內。

所有的相撲比賽都會把力士們分成「東」、「西」兩組。他們的身份頭銜之前都會冠上「東」、「西」,例如:東橫綱,西橫綱。「東」的地位比「西」要高,因此「東橫綱」事實上是等級最高的力士。 幕內力士的等級頭銜由上而下分別是:横綱、大関、関脇、小結、前頭筆頭至前頭十六枚目。

相撲力士的頭銜會跟著比賽的勝負變動。如果在比賽中贏得重要的場次,在下次比賽時就可以升級。當然如果在比賽中落敗,他的頭銜也會降級。

橫綱是唯一一位即使在重要比賽中落敗也不會被降級的。橫綱必須是整群力士中最強的一位。所以當橫綱知道他的力量開始衰退,也就是該在橫綱這個位置結束他的生涯了。

4. 哪邊可以看到比賽?

en.wikipedia.org

一年中總共有6次相撲比賽,每兩個月一次。其中有三次比賽是在東京的國技館舉行,剩下的分別是在愛知、大阪、福岡舉行。可以先買預售票,或者是比賽當天現場購票(如果還有空位的時候)。座位分成兩種(土俵前的座位跟館內的觀眾席),座位區域不同價錢也不一樣。如果你很想近距離觀賞力士們,你可以挑選接近土俵的座位。

5. 相撲案內所 

相撲案內所 (相撲情報中心) 也被稱為相撲茶屋。你可以在相撲案內所裡購買門票。除了門票,案內所也販賣食物和飲料,讓觀眾們可以盡情享受具有傳統特色的相撲比賽。

當你在相撲案內所購買入場券之後,你可以從特別入口進入會場。也有附帶紀念品和便當的套票可以選擇。套票當然會稍微貴一些,不過如果想要體驗一下相撲比賽的道地氣氛,買套票是蠻划得來的。

6. 如何欣賞相撲比賽

當你到了相撲會場,有很多方法可以享受相撲比賽。除了可以參觀比賽場館之外,在很近的距離看到相撲力士,甚至在比賽結束之後和力士合照(當然要先問過力士是否同意合照)。在這些近距離的互動中,可以了解到力士們的個性,甚至你會對穿著和服的他們感到印象深刻。

對相撲的愛好者來說,能夠在場館看到親方是很了不得的事情之一。這些大師們都曾經是橫綱或大関(兩個最高層級的力士)。因為比賽是由這些大師們負責安排的,所以很有機會在比賽現場看到他們。

當然欣賞相撲比賽時還是有一些規矩的。當相撲力士正集中精神走向土俵準備上場比賽的時候,其他人不可以跟他們說話以免打擾他們。如果你想要碰觸他們,你必須在賽後,並且徵得他們的同意。

請帶著敬意享受相撲比賽!

7. 如果比賽的時候你剛好不在日本呢?

如果你在日本的時候剛好錯過時機,還是有其他的方法可以看到相撲比賽。

很多相撲部屋在力士們練習的時候會開放參觀。如果真的很想見識一下相撲,可以到部屋去看看。也有拜訪相撲部屋的旅行團,可以預訂這樣的行程。有些部屋是直接開放的,如果早點去拜訪即使沒有預約也沒關係。不過要注意的是,在他們比賽的過程中,請保持靜肅,以便力士們可以集中精神。如果可以的話,請安靜的跪坐在旁邊觀賞。

8. 相撲火鍋

Naotake Murayama/Flickr

相撲火鍋是專門給相撲力士們吃的食物。火鍋裡有蔬菜、肉類、魚類、菇類、豆腐等等。相撲力士們每天都吃相撲火鍋,這樣的食物很健康,營養均衡。

據說固定吃相撲火鍋以及固定的練習是造就相撲力士的好方法。每一家相撲部屋都有他們自己的火鍋食譜,任何剛加入部屋的學員,第一件要學的事情就是料理相撲火鍋

因為相撲火鍋是營養均衡的健康料理,所以不僅相撲力士和相撲愛好者喜歡吃,一般的日本民眾也很愛。有些著名的相撲力士退休之後,甚至就開起自己的相撲火鍋餐廳呢。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

It is well known that sumo is a traditional Japanese sport. You may watch sumo wrestlers on TV, however you may not know that much about them and even how sumo works in general. Watching a sumo match might be a great experience for you to really see and feel a big part of traditional Japanese culture. Here are some tips so that you can fully enjoy your sumo experience in Japan!

1.Are they real athletes?

Some people might think sumo wrestlers are people who are just big and fat and thus decided to do sumo. However you might be surprised when you watch their power at sumo matches.

They have very flexible bodies, and most sumo wrestlers used to be good players of other sports like judo, basketball and so on. They seem to be very fat; however their muscles are very strong. Some sumo wrestlers’ BMI (Body Mass Indexis around 10% just like other professional athletes.

Sumo wrestlers practice everyday to make their body strong. They have strong muscles deep inside their body and those muscles are surrounded by fat. Actually sumo wrestlers value this fat in order to protect their body from strong punches and slaps from their opponents.

Seeing is believing. Just watch a sumo match and you’ll see!

2. Sumo Stables

All sumo wrestlers need to take a medical inspection before becoming a sumo wrestler.  Once they pass the inspection, they belong to a sumo stable.  There are over 40 sumo stables now. 

Sumo stables are managed by oyakata, or masters. At the sumo stable, all wrestlers  live in a same house. They all practice together, eat together and learn together. Most sumo wrestlers start their career when they are very young. Some of them become sumo wrestlers when they are just 15 or 16 years old.  The oyakata and his wife, the okamisan, support everything for the wrestlers. They are like the real father and mother to these young men.

3.How to see the ranking of sumo wrestlers

There are many ranks of sumo wrestlers. As there are so many ranks for sumo wrestlers, I would like to introduce some of the top ranks, the highest category of sumo match, Makuuchi.

At a sumo match, they divide all the wrestlers into 2 groups, East and West. All wrestler ranks have “East” and “West” in their titles, for example, East Yokozuna and West Yokozuna. East means higher level than West, so the East Yokozuna is actually the top sumo wrestler. The ranks in Makuuchi are as follows from top to bottom: Yokozuna, Ozeki, Sekiwake, Komusubi and Maegashira No.1 to No.16.

The ranks of sumo wrestlers change easily as their rank will be decided by the result of the tournaments. If they win the majority of the matches at the tournaments, they can go to a higher rank at the next tournament. However if they lose the majority of the matches, their rank will be lower.

Yokozuna is the only rank which stays even if the wrestler loses the majority of the matches. However the Yokozuna should be the strongest wrestler out of the entire group. That’s why, once a Yokozuna sees his strength waning, he will finish his career as a Yokozuna.

4. Where can you see the tournament?

There are 6 tournaments, once every 2 months throughout the year. Three of the tournaments will be held at the Kokugikan in Tokyo. The others will be in Aichi, Osaka and Fukuoka. You can get the tickets in advance, or even on the day of the match if there is availability. There are 2 types of seats (box seats and arena seats) and the price range may vary depending on which seat you choose. If you really want to see the wrestlers up close, you might be able to get a ringside ticket. 

5. Sumo Annaijo

Sumo Annaijo (sumo information offices) used to be called sumo-jaya. Sumo information offices are places where you can get sumo tournament tickets. Those offices offer tickets, food and drinks so that audience can fully enjoy the traditional sumo experience.

If you buy a ticket for a match from the sumo information offices, you can use a special entrance. You can choose tickets that come with souvenirs and bento boxes. Of course it is a bit pricey, however it would be worthwhile if you want a special sumo experience.

6. How to enjoy a sumo tournament

When you visit a sumo tournament, there are many ways to enjoy it. You can explore the sumo stadium, see the sumo wrestlers very close to you, and you can even take a picture with them after their match (of course you should ask them first). You might see their personalities and be impressed by their kimono when you’re this close to them.

I would say that it is one of the greatest things for a sumo fan to see the oyakata at the tournaments. Most of the masters were once famous Yokozuna and Ozeki (the top ranks of sumo wrestlers). You can see them at the tournaments as these tournaments are organized by stable masters.

Of course there are some rules that you should follow when you watch a sumo match. While sumo wrestlers are walking to the dohyou (sumo ring) before their match, you should not talk to them as they are concentrating on their match. Also if you want to touch them, you should ask them after their match.

Please enjoy your sumo experience with respect!

7. What if you aren’t around for the tournaments?

If you miss the timing to watch a sumo match in Japan, there is another way to watch sumo.

Many of sumo stables are open to the public to watch their practices. So if you really want to have a sumo experience, you can visit the stables. There are some tours of sumo practice watching, so you can make a reservation in advance. Some of the stables are just open to visit, so you might be able to visit the stables in the early morning without a reservation. However, please note that you have to be quiet while they are practicing so that the sumo wrestlers can concentrate on their practice. If possible, please sit seiza-style (with your legs folded under you).

8. Chanko

Chankonabe is the signature food of sumo wrestlers. Chanko is nabe (a stew-like soup) that contains vegitables, meat or fish, mushrooms, tofu and so on. Sumo wrestlers eat chankonabe everyday as it is very healthy, well-balanced food.

It is said that eating chankonabe and practicing regularly are good ways to become a good sumo wrestler. Every sumo stable has their own recipe of chankonabe and one of the first thing trainees who join the stable learn to do is cook the chankonabe.

As chankonabe is a very good balanced food, it is popular not only for sumo wrestlers and their fans, but also for ordinary Japanese people. After finishing their careers, some former sumo wrestlers have even opened their own chankonabe restaurants.

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone