【實用資訊】2020年何時黃金週?2020年日本國定假日行事曆

2020年包含去年新皇即位和令和時代的開始,以及即將到來的2020年東京奧運等重大盛事,日本的國定假日將有所改變。無論您目前居住在日本或是計畫赴日旅遊,最好事先了解2020年行事曆的變更!請往下閱讀以掌握2020年日本的國定假日。

日本

實用資訊

日本新天皇登基將對國定假日造成什麼影響?

2019年4月30日明仁天皇正式讓位給德仁皇太子。這對日本人民來說無疑是重大的歷史事件,同時也象徵平成時代的結束,以及2019年5月1號開始的新時代——令和。

新皇即位自然有重大意義,但也會影響日本國定假日行事曆。由於日本天皇的生日是國定假日,因此在新皇即位後,日期也隨之改變。以往平成年間,這個國定假日是在12月23日慶祝前天皇生日。2019年(令和1年)沒有慶祝前天皇的生日。2020年(令和2年)開始,這個國定假日將會改至2月23日慶祝現任德仁天皇的生日。

2020年東京奧運將會改變假日行事曆

伴隨2020年東京奧運的到來,日本政府決定變更部分假日,讓所有人都能參與這項國際盛事。

國定假日海洋日在每年7月的第二個週一。今年的海洋日則改在2020年東京奧運開幕典禮前一天的7月23日(週四)。

2020年起,原本在10月第二個週一的體育之日將會改名。體育之日原本以日文的體育寫作「Taiiku no Hi」(体育の日),然而自2020年開始,這個國定假日將以英文假名寫作「Supo-tsu no Hi」 (スポーツの日)。

除此之外,2020年的體育之日將會移至東京奧運開幕典禮的7月24日。換句話說,日本7月會有奧運開賽前後、週四到週日的4天連續假期。

另一個夏季的國定假日山之日原本在8月11日。2020年特別將這天改至奧運閉幕典禮的8月10日(週一),讓日本所有人都能慶祝這項國際盛事的成果。

2020年黃金週有多長?

黃金週是指5月初的連續國定假日,而這段期間也是一年當中最多的連續假日。

2019年由於新皇即位,日本黃金週擁有長達10天的連續國定假日。2020年黃金週的連續假期只有5天,從5月2日週六到5月6日週三。

如果您想在黃金週安排較長的假期,不妨請4月最後一週的週四和週五,因為昭和之日將在4月29日週三。

2020年日本國定假日行事曆

填滿橘色的日期為2020年日本的國定假日。

結論

即使您沒有在日本居住或工作,當計畫赴日旅遊時,多留意國定假日準沒錯!國定假日會影響您的購物和用餐行程,也會左右大眾運輸工具的選擇,尤其是在市中心外。在忙碌的盂蘭盆節或黃金週期間,您會發現經常難以訂到首選的住宿和交通工具,因為眾多日本人也在這段期間出遊。我們由衷地希望這篇關於日本2020年國定假日的分析介紹,會讓您的赴日旅遊計畫更順利!

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

搜尋餐廳

When Is the Best Time to Travel to Japan? Japan Public Holiday Calendar 2020

In 2020, a number of significant events, including last year's enthronement of the new Emperor, the start of the Reiwa Era, and the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games, have impacted the dates of public holidays in Japan. Whether you live in Japan or are planning a trip, there are quite a few changes to the 2020 calendar that it's best to know about! Read on for all the details about Japanese public holidays in 2020.

Nationwide

Travel Tips

How Does the Enthronement of the New Emperor Affect Japan's Public Holidays?

On April 30th, 2019, Japanese Emperor Akihito formally abdicated and ceded the throne to Prince Naruhito. This important event had a great historical significance to the Japanese people, and also marked the end of the Heisei era and the beginning of a new period in the Japanese calendar, Reiwa, from May 1st, 2019.

Naturally, a new Emperor taking the throne is a significant event in and of itself, but it also has an impact on the public holiday schedule in Japan. The Emperor's birthday is a public holiday in Japan, so as a result of the above events, the date of this holiday has changed. During the previous Heisei era, this holiday was celebrated on the previous Emperor's birthday, December 23rd. In 2019 (Reiwa 1 in the Japanese calendar), there was no public holiday held for the previous Emperor's birthday. However, from 2020 (Reiwa 2), the national holiday will be moved to February 23rd to reflect the birthday of the current Emperor Naruhito.

The Olympic Games Will Bring Changes to the 2020 Holiday Calendar

With the Olympics taking place in Tokyo in 2020, the Government of Japan has decided to adjust some holidays this year so that everyone can join in celebrating this great event.

Marine Day is a public holiday in Japan that falls on the second Monday of July every year. This year, Marine Day will be on July 23rd (Thursday), the day before the opening ceremony of the Tokyo 2020 Olympic Games.

From 2020, Health and Sports Day, which is usually celebrated on the 2nd Monday of October, will be renamed. Originally, Health and Sports Day was written as "Taiiku no Hi"  (体育の日), using the Japanese word for athletics or physical education. From 2020, the name will change to use the English-derived word for sports, "Supo-tsu no Hi" (スポーツの日).

Furthermore, in 2020, Health and Sports Day will also be moved to July 24th to coincide with the opening ceremony of the Olympic Games. In other words, in July, Japan will have four consecutive holidays lasting from Thursday to Sunday in the lead-up to the opening of the Olympic Games.

Another summer public holiday, Mountain Day, typically falls on August 11th. However, in 2020, this day will be rescheduled to August 10th (Monday) to coincide with the Games' closing ceremony, so that everyone in Japan can celebrate their efforts in hosting the world's largest sporting event.

** In response to the growing coronavirus crisis, the Japanese government announced in late March that the Olympic and Paralympic Games would be postponed to 2021. Please note that although the Games have been postponed, the public holiday changes for 2020 will remain.

How Long Is Golden Week in 2020?

Golden Week is the popular nickname for a series of public holidays that fall in early May, as this is the period with the most consecutive holidays in the year.

In 2019, Japan had 10 consecutive public holidays during Golden Week due to the enthronement of the new Emperor. In 2020, Golden Week will only last for 5 days, from Saturday, May 2nd to Wednesday, May 6th.

If you want to take advantage of this period to go on a long trip, taking the Thursday and Friday at the end of April off might be a smart choice, as Showa Day will also fall on Wednesday, April 29th.

Japanese Public Holiday Calendar 2020

The dates marked in orange are public holidays in Japan in 2020.

Conclusion

Even if you don't live and work in Japan, it's a good idea to keep an eye on when public holidays fall when planning a trip here. Public holidays can impact your shopping, dining, and public transport options, particularly outside the city center. During busy periods like Obon and Golden Week, too, you may find it harder to book your first choice of accommodation and transport, as this is a period when many Japanese people will also be traveling. We hope this breakdown of the Japanese public holidays in 2020 helps you plan ahead for a smooth trip to Japan!

If you want to give feedback on any of our articles, you have an idea that you'd really like to see come to life, or you just have a question on Japan, hit us up on our FacebookTwitter, or Instagram!

The information in this article is accurate at the time of publication.

Things to Do

Hotels & Ryokan

Shopping

Restaurant Search