【日本文化】14 個真相!你所不知道的源氏物語

您知道日本最古老的故事是哪一部嗎?答案是:源氏物語。這部長篇寫實小說也被日本大部分高中學校指定為閱讀名單。但這究竟是一部什麼內容的故事呢?就請您透過以下文章的簡約介紹,讓我們一窺源氏物語的來龍去脈吧!

日本

深度日本

源氏物語,已被改編成各種媒體形式出版,從偶像劇、電影到動畫都有。但究竟這是什麼呢?以下就讓我為您解說源氏物語的 14 個真相,協助您深入認識這部曠世巨作吧! 

1. 是日本最古老的故事。

Genji1000nenki/Wikimedia Commons

據說是發表於平安時代中期的長篇寫實小說。第一版本約出現在 1008 年。因為後來出現的各個版本皆是手抄版本,因此很難確認哪一個才是最原始的版本。這些版本皆稱為「手抄本」(写本)。

2. 由 54 個卷軸畫卷組成。

Romanmi/Wikimedia Commons

這部小說是一個龐大的故事,分有數個卷軸來呈現整個故事大綱,但卷軸卻被分散散落在全日本;因此對於卷軸數量也出現了幾種不同的說法,但一般來說,源氏物語包括了 54 個卷軸內容,而每一個卷軸都是針對主角 - 光源氏在描寫整個故事情節。

3. 內文約有百萬字數。

雖然能夠計算出卷軸數量,但源氏物語真的是一部長篇的故事小說。故事中大約有超過 500 個人物角色。故事情節內容大約描述演繹了 70 年之久的劇情發展。然後出現了大約 800 篇的和歌(日本詩詞)。

4. 劇情主要描述了皇族光源氏充滿戲劇性、起落的一生。

Gryffindor/Wikimedia Commons

「光」 (Hikaru,ひかる),是光明燦爛的意思,而「源氏」(Genji,げんじ),則是故事的主角為天皇桐壺帝之子,因天皇不希望他捲入宮廷鬥爭,因此將他降為臣籍,賜姓源氏。據說光源氏給人光明燦爛之感,故美稱為光源氏。故事在描寫光源氏及其後代子孫的命運結局,及他們充滿戲劇性的愛情故事。

5. 光源氏的母親因為受到其他愛妃的罷凌,在他三歲時離世。

首先,先向您解說平安時代的皇室人物結構。居於最上位,而且最有權勢的就是天皇。天皇之下則有許多愛妃,這些愛妃又通常是服侍皇家的高官貴族家的女兒。藉由這些女兒與天皇結婚生子,那麼天皇就會擔保並保護女兒全家族的未來。

但是因為天皇桐壺帝非常迷戀光源氏的母親 - 桐壺更衣,幾乎不與其他愛妃互動。這也就意味著天皇對其他愛妃和她的家族有輕蔑不敬之意。事實上桐壺更衣的身份是比女御低一等的「更衣」,但即使她的地位並不高,卻因為美貌善良而得到桐壺帝的專寵,因此也受到其他愛妃一致反感,時常惡意欺負她。例如,在桐壺更衣在皇宮裡行走時,這些妃子便在她要經過的地方放置穢物,讓她經過時會弄髒衣擺...等。在種種的惡作劇之下,桐壺更衣終於抑鬱成疾,再加上身體嬌弱,於光源氏三歲時過世。

6. 光源氏戀上貌似生母的繼母。

Norio NAKAYAMA/Wikimedia Commons

您沒看錯!就是發生了這樣的事!在光源氏的生母桐壺更衣過世後,桐壺帝雖然非常難過,但聽聞先帝的第四皇女 - 藤壺中宮貌似桐壺更衣,便將她迎入宮中,作為光源氏的繼母。直到光源氏 18 歲,因為他與繼母只有 5 歲之差,光源氏終究戀上了貌似生母的藤壺中宮,並與她發生了不倫戀情,還使得藤壺中宮因此懷孕生子。

7. 光源氏發現一個貌似藤壺中宮的女孩,最後娶她為妻。

Dennis H./Wikimedia Commons

雖然不能確認光源氏究竟是在她幾歲的時候找到她,但有一說是大約在她 8 - 10 歲左右時。這個名叫紫君 (紫の君)的小孩因為是藤壺的姪女,所以理所當然有著與藤壺相似的面容;此女即後來的紫上(紫の上)。而光源氏就這樣戀上貌似藤壺面容的紫君,並娶她為妻。事實上,光源氏終身都在追求有如母親一般的理想女性。

8. 光源氏有 8 位主要愛戀對象。

かがみ~/Flickr

名字分別是:藤壺中宮、葵上(葵の上)、六條御息所(六条御息所)、 紫上(紫の上)、明石御方(明石の御方)、末摘花 、空蟬(空蝉),以及女三宮。 就如本項標題所寫,大部分的劇情都是圍繞在源氏和這些女性之間的戀愛故事。

9. 以下是源氏物語的人物相關關係圖,可以讓您對整個故事結構有個概略的概念。

白色格內為男姓名,粉紅色格為女性名,中間粗體字是主角光源氏。單線條,表示戀人關係;雙線條表示婚姻關係。跨越水平線上的線條,表示其後代子孫。

10. 名作源氏物語的作者為紫式部。

Gryffindor/Wikimedia Commons

雖然在這部作品中並沒有留下作者名,當然也可能有多位作者。不過大多理論都認為作者就是「紫式部」。

11. 紫式部是服侍天皇中宮的優秀貼身女官。

Yanajin33/Wikimedia Commons

紫式部,服侍一條天皇(一条天皇)的愛妃 - 藤原彰子。她從小博聞強識通曉漢文,廣泛涉獵中國古代文化典籍;只有比自己大 20 多歲的夫婿 - 藤原宣孝賞識她的才能。她同時擅長和歌。紫式部的另一部作品「紫式部日記」,記錄有宮廷日常活動、宮廷婦女的服裝、容貌、禮節及宮廷的各種禮儀活動等,因此具有很高的文學價值,還有很高的史料價值。

12. 源氏物語已被翻成多種語言出版。

雖然故事原文是古典日本語,但已由多位知名作者,例如與謝野晶子(与謝野晶子)以及谷崎潤一郎等人轉譯成現代日本語。接著也被轉譯成英文、法文、義大利文、德文、西班牙文、瑞典文、荷蘭文、俄文、芬蘭語、捷克語、中文以及韓文出版。

13. 源氏物語也有同人小說版本。

Ismoon/Wikimedia Commons

也許您並不熟悉「同人小說」這個名詞,但同人小說也是一種文學作品版本,指的是利用原有作品中的人物角色、故事情節或背景設定等元素進行的二次創作;例如續集,或是原故事的後續發展等。最早的同人小說可回溯到鎌倉時代。

14. 源氏物語已被改編成多種形式出版。

改編範圍擴及:漫畫、電影、電視劇、動畫、舞台劇、歌舞伎、能劇,以及傳統日本音樂劇等。最有名的改編漫畫就屬 Asaki Yumenishi(あさきゆめにし),如上圖。而且這部漫畫還被選為學校的推薦閱讀教材。

本文資訊均以公開時為準。

玩樂

住宿

購物

搜尋餐廳

This post is also available in: Chinese (Traditional)

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone

The Tale of Genji (源氏物語) has been adapted into many forms of media, from dramas to movies to anime. But what exactly is it? Here are 12 facts to enlighten you on the Tale of Genji!

1. It is the oldest story in Japan.

It is said that it was established during the middle of the Heian period. The first copy was found in 1008. Any kind of literature back then was copied by hand, so it’s hard to point out which is the original copy. These copies are called shahon (写本).

2. It consists of 54 scrolls.

This theory was made from deducing the scatters of scrolls and literature all around Japan. Some researchers say differently, but in general, it is said that the Tale of Genji consists of 54 scrolls. Each scroll tells a story based on the main character, Hikaru Genji (光源氏).

3. It consists of a million words.

As you can tell from the number of scrolls, The Tale of Genji is a long, long story. There are over 500 characters in the story. The story is told over the span of 70 years. And about 800 Waka (Japanese poems – 和歌) appear.

4. The story is about the rise and fall, and the very dramatic love life of a royal called Hikaru Genji (光源氏).

Hikaru (光) means light, and Genji (源氏) is one of the surnames of the royalty. It is said in the story that Hikaru Genji was so beautiful he looked like he was shining. The story follows his and his descendants’ fate and often, their very dramatic love lives.

5. Hikaru Genji’s mother died when he was 3 from being bullied by other lovers.

Now, there’s a need to explain how the palace worked back then in the Heian period. The most powerful person in the royal palace is the Tennou (天皇). The Tennou had several lovers who were often daughters of the aristocrats that worked at the palace. By having children with these daughters, the Tennou ensured the future of the daughter’s family. 

However, the Tennou, called Kiritsubo Tei (桐壷帝), fell in love too deeply with Hikaru Genji’s mother, Kiritsubono Koui (桐壷更衣). He didn’t show his face to his other lovers. This meant disrespect to both the daughters and their families. The fact that Kiritsubono Koui’s family wasn’t high in the social rank didn’t buy them sympathy either. The lovers bullied her hard. For example, they made their servants leave pieces of human feces in the corridors where she would be walking. 

6. Hikaru Genji had an affair with his step mother who looked like his birth mother.

You’re right to cringe at the sentence, but that’s what happened. After Kiritsubono Koui passed away, the Kiritsubo Tei was deeply depressed. However, he found a woman, Fujitsubo no Chuuguu (藤壺中宮), who looked just exactly like her, and makes her his lover. This happened when Hikaru Genji was 18. He and Fujitsubo no Chuuguu were 5 years apart. They had an affair, and she got pregnant and gave birth to a child. 

7. Hikaru Genji finds a child who looked like Fujitsubo no Chuuguu, and makes her his wife.

It is not certain how old she was when Hikaru Genji laid his eyes on her, but it is said she was around the age of 8 to 10 years old. This child is called Murasaki no Kimi (紫の君), and later on called Murasaki no Ue (紫の上). She was the niece to Fujitsubo, so no wonder they looked alike. So Hikaru Genji had an affair with a woman who looked like his mother, and eventually takes a child who looked like his mother to be his wife. The word mommy issues doesn’t cover up how wrong this situation is, but this is what happened!

8. Genji had 8 main love interests.

The names are: Fujitsubo no Chuuguu (藤壺中宮), Aoi no Ue (葵の上), Rokujyou no Miyasundokoro (六条御息所), Murasaki no Ue (紫の上), Akashi no Onkata (明石の御方), Suetsumu Hana (末摘花), Utsusemi (空蝉), and Onna Sannno Miya (女三宮). As you can see from the topics above, a lot of drama happens between these women and Genji.

9. To give you a glimpse of the drama, here’s a image of a correlation diagram among the characters.

The white are male, the pink female, and the bolded middle is Hikaru Genji. The single lines are affairs, and the double lines are marriages. The lines that part in the middle of the horizontal lines are their children.

10. The author of this masterpiece is Murasaki Shikibu (紫式部).

Since there was no author name written in the pieces, there are multiple theories who the author is. But the strongest theory so far is that the author is Murasaki Shikibu. 

11. Murasaki Shikibu was a very talented woman who served in the royal palace.

She served Fujiwara no Shoushi (藤原彰子), who was one of the lovers of the Tennou at the time, Ichijyou Tennou (一条天皇). She was fluent in classical Chinese writing, which was unthinkable back then, since only men learned it. She was also a talented Waka poet. Her other works are “Murasaki Shikibu Nikki” (紫式部日記), which is an evaluation of the people in the royal palace back then. 

12. The Tale of Genji is translated into many languages.

Since it is written in classical Japanese, it is translated in modern Japanese by many famous authors, such as Akiko Yosasno (与謝野晶子) and Jyunichirou Tanizaki (谷崎潤一郎). Then it was translated into English, French, Italian, Spanish, Dutch, Swedish, German, Russian, Finnish, Czech, Chinese and Korean.

13. The Tale of Genji has fanfiction.

For those who aren’t familiar with the term fanfiction: fanfiction is a form of literature where the fans of the original work write secondary tales of it, such as sequels, or what happened behind the scenes. The oldest fanfiction dates back to Kamakura era. 

14. The Tale of Genji is adapted into many media forms.

These adaptations span manga, movies, TV shows, anime, theater, Kabuki, Noh, and traditional Japanese music. A famous manga adaptation would be Asaki Yumenishi (あさきゆめにし), which is shown in the image above, and is actually recommended reading material whilst studying The Tale of Genji in school. (That’s what happened in my school). 

Share on FacebookTweet about this on TwitterShare on Google+Pin on PinterestShare on RedditEmail this to someone